Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COMP-102, -102H/HONR-101 Composition II/Artistic Expression, Course Research Guide

A course library research research guide to supplement the LIBBI. Provides suggested resources, search strategies, and research tips to support the course assignments and student research needs.

What is a Periodical?

Periodical is the generic name for a "periodic" publication, such as newspaper, journal, or magazine published at a regular interval, which may be daily, weekly, monthly, or even annually. Journals, magazines, and newspapers are all examples of periodicals.

How to Find a Periodical Title?

The ORU library subscribes to more than 32,000 periodicals in a variety of publication media, with most titles available full text online. Online full text titles include links to the full text with options to browse a single issue or search all issues to find an article.

To find a periodical title, search the ORU Journal Finder+. 
Some titles are available in multiple formats and/or multiple databases. For online full text, the database(s) with full text will be listed. When a title is available "in-house" in paper format, there will be a link to "Oral Roberts University Library Holdings." Follow the links to what you need.

Publication Finder [which the ORU Library calls Journal Finder+]
Overview Tutorial from EBSCO on Vimeo . [2:27 mins.]