Selected Books & Ebooks
Barna Trends 2018
by We live in a complex and changing world. Even with an overwhelming barrage of daily information, articles, and op-ed pieces of every aspect of life, it can be difficult to cut through the hype and understand the facts. Yet, anyone in a position of leadership or influence cannot afford to be ignorant of the trends that shape us. For thirty years, Barna Group has been a trusted guide to sorting out those facts. Presenting a year's worth of major research findings, Barna Trends 2018 puts essential information at our fingertips by consolidating and interpreting the raw data behind cultural, religious, and political shifts. Writers, speakers, pastors, and leaders will find this collection of infographics, analysis, and expert commentary indispensable as they prepare to engage audiences, whether on paper, in person, or with pixels.Call Number: BR526 .B385 2018 LRC-RISBN: 9780801018640Publication Date: 2017-12-19
"Barna Trends is an annual guide to the latest cultural, religious, and political trends designed to help you navigate a complex and ever changing world."
Legal Marijuana
by The legalization of marijuana has spread rapidly throughout the United States, from just a handful of states ten years ago to now more than half, as well as the nation's capital. In Canada, it is legal to use and distribute nationally. Thousands of cities and towns are following suit. Legalization seems to be a win-win--people who use cannabis for health and recreation are served, business is brisk, and many governments welcome the much-needed boost in tax revenue. But not everyone thinks so. The rapid pace of legalization has spurred debate among citizens, cities, states and the federal government. This collection of essays explains the benefits and concerns, the policies and actions, and the future of this controversial issue.ISBN: 9781476673097Publication Date: 2018-11-26
Major Sociocultural Trends Shaping the Contemporary World
by The current volume offers a concise and analytical portrait of the contemporary world. The author encompasses concepts and theories from multiple disciplines notably sociology, anthropology, international relations, and economics to examine the major sociocultural transformations of the modern world, their underlying causes, and their consequences. The volume is organized in 10 chapters dealing with a variety of topics including global demographic trends, globalization, culture, foreign affairs, emerging markets, environmental degradation, global security, global health, large corporations, and economic inequality. Each chapter is divided into separate sections examining the accompanying themes. This book is a valuable reference for managers and business leaders, students, policy makers, and all those who are interested in acquiring a better understanding of the sociocultural trends that are shaping our world.ISBN: 9781631577871Publication Date: 2017-06-01
Search for Books
- Catalog This link opens in a new windowAll materials in the library, including books, audio-visual materials, DVDs, and reserve items, can be found using the ORU library catalog. Additionally, all ebook titles, with links to the full text, are included in the library catalog. Access the library catalog on the main library page.
When looking for books or ebooks, use broad keywords and subjects that identify your topic(s). Try a subject search for your topic then select from the subjects to view a list of book titles. See: opens new windowHow to Find Books and Ebooks
Search for Ebooks
Ebook titles are included in the library catalog with links to the ebook, but you may prefer to search an ebook database instead of using the library catalog. Two key academic ebook databases are listed below.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowCreate a user bookshelf to store and annotate your selected books. See: opens new windowProQuest Ebook Central Bookshelf video (YouTube, 2:28 mins.) | opens new windowProQuest Ebook Central Reader video. (YouTube, 3:34 mins.)
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowFull-text ebooks in all disciplines. Free downloads. Restricts some full text viewing to 1-5 simultaneous readers.
- Citing EBSCO eBooks
- How to Print, E-mail or Save EBSCO eBooks Pages as a PDF
- Reading an eBook on EBSCO Interfaces
- Searching for EBSCO eBooks
Special Collections
Main Collection
- Theology Collection - mostly shelved in the BL-BX section on the first floor of the library
Course Reserves
- Located at the Library Services Desk
- May be checked out for a limited number of hours or days as specified by the instructor
- May be limited to in-library use only
Audiovisual Collection
- Audiobooks & DVDs - on the second floor on the last row of shelves.
Reference Collection
- Mostly dictionaries, encyclopedias, Bible commentaries, handbooks, and directories
- Located on the first floor of the J.D. McKean Library beginning near the printers.
Special Theological Collections
- Holy Spirit Resource Center, 3rd floor
Other Special Collections
- Curriculum Media Center - LRC-5 - primarily for use by Education majors
- Music Listening Room - Timko-Barton Hall
- McKissack Reading Room - Education Department (GC-5)