Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COMP-102, -102H/HONR-101 Composition II/Artistic Expression, Course Research Guide

A course library research research guide to supplement the LIBBI. Provides suggested resources, search strategies, and research tips to support the course assignments and student research needs.

About Reference Resources

This course library research research guide supplements the LIBBI session and provides suggested resources, search strategies, and research tips to support the course assignments and student research needs.

Library Reference Resources provide authoritative and concise information. Selected resources on this page include contemporary and controversial issues to help you start the research assignment.

For example, the CQ Researcher provides comprehensive information on a topic while Points of View Reference supports both sides of a controversial issue with multiple types of formats. Use the reference resources and database to:

  • Get ideas on a research topic
  • Get background information
  • Explore related concepts
  • Discover topic pros and cons

For LIBBI information see: opens new windowLIBBIs: COMP 102

Reference Databases

 Examples:
• opens new windowPop Culture Topic page
opens new windowProCon pages.
opens new windowDNA Replication video (0:34mins.)


opens new windowBritannica® Online Academic Edition
Summaries and in-depth articles on every branch of human knowledge. Includes biographies, maps, photos, drawings, flags, audio and video clips, and Web sites.

Selected Websites

opens new windowProCon.org
Pros and cons of controversial issues. Resources include primary source documents, statistical evidence, government research and documents, and more. See: opens new windowDebate Topics! | opens new windowHow to Cite ProCon.org in Bibliographies


opens new window RAND
Objective analysis and effective solutions. RAND is a nonprofit and nonpartisan "research organization that develops solutions to public policy challenges...." Browse categories and topics, or opens new windowSearch a key term.
Example: opens new windowMining the Moon for Rocket Fuel to Get Us to Mars (Blog post)
Sample MLA citation:

Li, Gary, et al. "Mining the Moon for Rocket Fuel to Get Us to Mars." Commentary from The Conversation, 16 Mary 2017. The RAND Blog, www.rand.org/blog/2017/05/mining-the-moon-for-rocket-fuel-to-get-us-to-mars.html.


For numbers, facts and trends shaping the world:

opens new windowUnited States Census Bureau: Index A-Z
Examples: "opens new windowPayday, Poverty, and Women"

opens new windowBLS Reports (Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Dept. of Labor)
"BLS Reports provide analytical information related to the labor force, consumer spending, earnings, and work injuries and illnesses. Typically, reports contain a few pages of written analysis followed by statistical tables...."

opens new windowSpotlight on Statistics (Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Dept. of Labor)
"Each edition of Spotlight on Statistics features graphics, maps, and brief written analysis to illustrate BLS data that examine the U.S. labor market and economy."

opens new windowPew Research Center
A "nonprofit, nonpartisan and nonadvocacy organization." Includes "public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research." Categories include "U.S. politics and policy; journalism and media; internet, science and technology; religion and public life; Hispanic trends; global attitudes and trends; and U.S. social and demographic trends."

opens new windowBarna Trends: Research
Barna is a private, non-partisan, for-profit organization conducting and analyzing primary research to understand cultural trends related to values, beliefs, attitudes and behaviors since 1984.


International Labor Organization (ILO)
UN Agency for the world of work. Topics include child labour, gender equality, economic and global development, future of work, poverty, and more.

Internet Archive
Search the history of over 562 billion web pages.

Selected Reference Books & Ebooks

Reference books provide background information, facts and information or an overview of a subject. Use the table of contents to locate a topic and view related or narrower topics.

To find reference books, search the library catalog and filter results to Reference Collection or browse the book titles in reference databases opens new windowGale Ebooks and opens new windowCredo Reference

Sample Titles:


Book Series - Click a book series title below, then click a book title or the book cover image to view book notes, table of contents and more. Record the call number to find the book on the shelves. Use the catalog "sort" option to put newest titles at the top of the list.

Contemporary World Issuesopens new window Contemporary World Issues

 

Opposing Viewpointsopens new windowOpposing Viewpoints and
opens new windowOpposing Viewpoints Unnumbered

130+ titles combined. Includes bibliographies and organizations.

Taking Sidesopens new windowTaking Sides (17 titles)
Clashing views on controversial issues.

Selected Journals to Browse

opens new window Journal of Future Studies: The journal mission is to "develop high-quality, futures-oriented research and thinking, based on the evolving knowledge base of Futures Studies / Foresight. Topics include foresight, forecasting, long-range planning, visioning and other related areas."

opens new windowJournal of Religion & Popular Culture: Academic journal covering topics in religion and popular culture.

Academic Videos

opens new windowAVON: Academic Videos Online
A comprehensive collection of academic videos curated across many disciplines such as business, theater, counseling, health, history, music and many more. Offers transcripts and citation tool.


Be patient watching the first 1:40 mins. of the video.

Why do we associate certain colors with certain things? And do we really see every color of the rainbow or is our world just a 'pigment' of our imagination? "This is a show about your brain and colors. We're gonna mess with your mind as we put you through a series of games and experiments that will change everything you thought you knew about color."