Library Guides: COM-499 Research &amp; Sr. Paper/Project: Books/ Ebooks

Ebook titles are in the library catalog, along with links to the full text. So, to find ebooks search the library catalog, or search individual ebook databases. Two core academic ebook databases are listed below: Ebook Central and Ebook Collections.

Books

opens new window Library Catalog

Search the catalog to find books in the library and ebook records that link to the ebook full text. Try a library catalog subject subject search for your topic. From the list that comes up, click a subject to view the list of book titles, or use the "related subjects" link and drill down through other subjects.

Examples :
• opens new windowCommunication Subjects
• opens new window interpersonal Communication
• opens new windowMass Media

Ebook Databases

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Authoritative ebooks in a wide range of subject areas.
TIP: The Bookshelf feature allows you to store ebooks, create notes, highlight text, add Web links, and more. To access or create your personalized bookshelf, click the Bookshelf link in Ebook Central and sign in using your ORU Single Sign-On (SSO). To delete ebook titles, highlights and notes in your bookshelf, use the delete trash icon at the right in your folder.
View Ebook Central how-to videos

More than 200,000 academic ebooks from scholarly and professional publishers, including 70+ university presses. Unlimited, multi-user access. To access or create a bookshelf click Bookshelf or Sign In then enter your network login. (ProQuest)

Examples of Titles by Subject:

• opens new windowCommunication (general)
• opens new windowCommunication and Culture
• opens new windowMass Media

TIPS:
♦ For the most recently published ebooks to appear at the top of the list change Sort By from Relevance to Publication date.
♦To view the 20 most relevant chapters from your list of ebooks, click the Chapter Results tab.
♦ To browse ebook titles in a specific call number section, use Advanced Search, scroll the page to LC Call Number, and then enter a call number or call number range. See the opens new windowLC Outline to identify call numbers.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
To narrow your results, use the Category and Subject limiters in the left menu.
A multidisciplinary collection of eBooks including titles in the Christian Librarians collections.
Video tutorial: Downloading EBSCO eBooks
Information from EBSCO concerning Accessibility use of ebooks.
Direct link into the Religion Collection

Reference Ebook Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Ebook reference titles emphasizing all key disciplines; includes images, encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and handbooks.
How to run a Basic search on Credo
How to use the Mind Map on Credo
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Various subject encyclopedias covering multiple disciplines.
Video tutorial: "Searching for information in Gale eBooks"
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth coverage of current issues related to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
More database information from CQPress.
Video tutorial: CQ Researcher Tour.

View opens new windowAll Reference Databases

Google Books

opens new windowGoogle Books
Includes some book previews and complete books. Connects to books with the opens new window Library Project and Partner Program. If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given permission, Google Books provides a preview of the book. If the book is in public domain, you can freely download a PDF copy. In a book record, use "Find in Library" to link to the item record in WorldCat.org. See opens new windowHow to Use Google Books.