Library Guides: CHE-449 Chemistry Research: Article Databases

Core Databases

ACS Publications
opens new windowView ORU faculty articles.
more...less...
"ACS Publications stands alongside Chemical Abstracts Services in supporting the American Chemical Society's goal to be the most authoritative, comprehensive, and indispensable provider of chemistry-related information ...."

Physical Sciences Journal Collection (ScienceDirect) This link opens in a new window
Includes publications on Analytical Chemistry, Chemistry (General), Electrochemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Physical and Theoretical Chemistry, and Spectroscopy.
opens new windowView ORU faculty articles.
• To request a ScienceDirect article from interlibrary loan, use the opens new windowILL form or email the citation information to libill@oru.edu.• To move a ScienceDirect article into your EBSCO folder, go to EagleSearch, which is an EBSCO interface, then key in and search for the article title. Sign in to your EBSCO folder and add the article.
Provides the full-text of journals related to the physical sciences including engineering, chemistry, physics, earth science, mathematics, and computer science.
Make the most of your access to ScienceDirect.
Tips for the Advanced Search in ScienceDirect.
Tutorials on using the ScienceDirect database.
PLOS - Public Library of Science This link opens in a new window
From website: "PLOS publishes a suite of influential Open Access journals across all areas of science and medicine" -- Biology, Computational Biology, Genetics, Medicine, Neglected Tropical Diseases, Pathogens. Covers original research from all disciplines within science and medicine. Indexed in opens new windowAcademic Search Complete, opens new windowPubMed Central and several other databases, so it can be searched in a database or independently. Articles undergo opens new windoweditorial and peer review led by one of approximately 6,000 PLoS ONE Academic Editors. opens new windowLearn more. Includes article downloads, views and cited references.
PLOS ONE is multi-disciplinary and "facilitates connections within and between disciplines."

opens new windowSCIRP (Scientific Research Publishing): Chemistry & Material Science (Open Access)
An academic publisher providing more than 200 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals. View opens new windowChemistry & Material Science journals.

Related Databases

EagleSearch This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's discovery service (EDS) is called EagleSearch at ORU. This interface provides access to the majority of ORU resources through a single entry point.
Quick overview of EBSCO's Discovery Service (EDS)
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly multi-disciplinary full-text database with book reviews, images, and some books with full-text. Areas covered include biology, chemistry, mathematics, multicultural studies, sciences, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies and more.
More database information from EBSCO.
Basic Searching Tutorial on EBSCOhost.
Advanced Searching Tutorial on EBSCOhost.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to free, full-text, quality-controlled, peer-reviewed, research and scholarly journals; many languages and countries represented.
More database information by DOAJ
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles and eBooks will link to full-text if ORU has access to that resource.
Instructions on how to set up ORU Library on Google Scholar is found on the
Technical Helps LibGuide or in "How to add ORU Library to setting in Google Scholar" pdf.
GPO-U.S.Government Publications This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for U.S. government documents covering all topics; includes Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments.
More database information from OCLC.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts of scholarly, governmental and general-interest titles, which deal with the environmental effects of individuals, corporations, and governments; has some open access.
More database information from EBSCO.

opens new windowHSDB: Hazardous Substances Data Bank (NIH, U.S. National Library of Medicine)- "Peer-reviewed toxicology data for over 5,000 hazardous chemicals."
opens new windowNature (Some open access) - Original research articles, latest research articles,review articles, news of science in universities, industry & government, correspondence and opinion pieces.
opens new window TOXNET Information Access (NIH, U.S, National Library of Medicine) - "As part of a broader NLM reorganization, most of NLM's toxicology information services have been integrated into other NLM products and services."

Dissertations/ Theses

opens new windowProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global-Full-text available for immediate free download and many available for purchase in print.

- In Advanced Search, key in su(chemistry) for a subject search on chemistry.
- Or, click Browse. Click C on the Browse by Subject tab. Scroll to chemistry subjects. (shown right) Click the + symbol to view chemistry subheadings.

Medical/Health Databases

BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Open Access.
Full-text journal articles are free with registration which is required to use advanced search features, save searches, and set up alerts.
Access to free registration at BioMed Central. (Log-in credentials will also work with SpringerOpen.)
More database information from BioMed Central.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full-text and citations of journal articles, evidence-based care sheets, book chapters, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, and more; uses MeSH
More database information from EBSCO.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text content with a health reference focus; source types include journals, books, images, videos as well as reference books and encyclopedias.
More database information from EBSCO, including title lists specific to this database.
Flash Tutoral: Consumer Health Complete Tutorial (EBSCO).
Consumer Health Complete eBook Collection is a collection of reference books and encyclopedias that provide answers to health-related questions and offer in-depth information on conditions, procedures, and treatments. They cover a wide range of topics for all ages.
Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection (ScienceDirect) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles and indexing of journals and reference works related to the health & life science.
Make the most of your access to ScienceDirect.
Tips for the Advanced Search in ScienceDirect.
Tutorials on using the ScienceDirect database.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text database providing consumer health information on AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition, children's health, women's health; includes health-related journal articles, pamphlets, reference books, and reports.
More database information from EBSCO.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, abstracts, and indexing of health and medical related scholarly journals; subjects include pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law, etc.
More database information from EBSCO.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text from biomedical and health journals; utilizes MeSH.
Advanced Searching with MEDLINE Medical Subjects Headings (MESH).
Video tutorial from EBSCO: Using CINAHL - MeSH Headings (Medline uses the CINAHL-MeSH headings.)
Ovid Core Nursing Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text of selected nursing journals as well as access to tables of contents, bibliographic citations, abstracts, and references of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals.

More database information from OVID.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) National Library of Medicine free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
More database information from US National Library of Medicine.
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals covering a broad scope of disciplines. Offering scholarly and professional research in partnership with over 400 key societies.

opens new windowPLOS Medicine - Open access, peer-reviewed research database.
opens new windowPLOS Neglected Tropical Diseases
opens new windowPLOS Pathogens

opens new windowFDA: opens new windowScience & Research (U.S. Food and Drug Administation)