Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CHE-449 Chemistry Research, Course Research Guide: Article Databases

Core Databases

Related Databases

opens new windowEagleSearch - Access the majority of ORU resources through a single entry point. Searches multiple databases across formats and media. Use advanced search to select disciplines.

  • opens new windowAcademic Search Complete- A scholarly multi-disciplinary full-text database with book reviews, images, and some books with full-text. To view subjects for your topic, click Subject Terms in the top menu bar. Key in your subject in the Browsing text box. Click a display option (Term Begins With, Term Contains, or Relevancy Ranked). Click Browse.
  • opens new windowDirectory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)- Provides access to free, full-text, quality-controlled, peer-reviewed, research and scholarly journals; many languages and countries represented.
  • opens new windowGoogle Scholar - Click the menu icon then Settings. Click Library links in the left menu, and key in Oral Roberts University. When you are logged in to Off Campus Access, the results in Google Scholar will provide a link to the article, if it is available full-text in the library. To set up an alert: Perform a search. In the left menu, click Create alert, enter your email, select number of results, and then click Create Alert.
  • opens new windowGPO - U.S. Government Publications- Provides indexing for U.S. government documents covering all topics; includes Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments.
  • opens new windowGreenFILE- ​Indexes and abstracts of scholarly, governmental and general-interest titles, which deal with the environmental effects of individuals, corporations, and governments; has some open access. Browse and select subject terms (shown below) in your search.
    GreenFILE subject terms
  • opens new windowHSDB: Hazardous Substances Data Bank (NIH, U.S. National Library of Medicine)- "Peer-reviewed toxicology data for over 5,000 hazardous chemicals."
  • opens new windowNature: Latest Research , opens new windowChemistry (Some open access) - Original research articles,latest research articles,review articles, news of science in universities, industry & government, correspondence and opinion pieces.
  • opens new window Tox Town (NIH, U.S. National Library of Medicine) - Search or browse "Locations," "Neighborhoods" (available in text or graphic versions), "Chemicals" and more.
  • opens new window TOXMAP®: EnvironmentalHealth Maps (U.S. Department of Health & Human Services) - Explore toxic chemicals in communities. opens new window TOXNET Fact Sheet, opens new windowAbout
  • opens new window TOXNET: Toxicology Data Network (NIH, U.S, National Library of Medicine) - Provides links to nearly 20 open access databases.

Medical/Health Databases

Dissertations/ Theses

Chemistry subjects - ProQuest Dissertations opens new windowProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global-Full-text available for immediate free download and many available for purchase in print.

- In Advanced Search, key in su(chemistry) for a subject search on chemistry.
- Or, click Browse. Click C on the Browse by Subject tab. Scroll to chemistry subjects. (shown right) Click the + symbol to view chemistry subheadings.