Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BIO-372/ EVR-390 Intro. to Biological Research/ Environmental Research

Combine keyword and subject searches

Use keywords that describe your topic or descriptive terms from your thesis statement. For primary source documents, such as a study or report, include those terms in the search. Examples:

Combine previous searches with another search or new terms. In EBSCO databases use the Search History show/hide link to view a list of your previous searches.

To find an article using citation information

When you find an article in a bibliography or reference list, search the article title in opens new windowEagleSearch.

If you have some citation information:
go to the opens new windowJournal Finder+opens new window, search the journal title then follow the links to the issue and date you need
⇒try a keyword search for the journal name, article title, subjects, author(s) and/or other information you know in opens new windowEagleSearch

If you have a topic and journal name:
⇒go to opens new windowJournal Finder+opens new window, search the journal title, then "search all issues" of the journal with key terms. opens new windowmore...

Search with Boolean Operators

A Boolean Operator is a word that communicates search functions. AND, OR, and NOT are the Boolean operators used in searching databases to combine terms and search more efficiently.

          AND = Results contain BOTH terms.
          OR = Results contain EITHER term.
          NOT = Results have the first term(s), but not the term following NOT.

Boolean operator

Search Strategies

Search Strategies

Use database limiters

Database Limiters:

  • Use the database limiters listed on the Advanced Search page to refine your search.
  • Eliminate issues with variant spelling using truncation (*).

What are your paper requirements? Set relevant limits, such as Date, Scholarly Peer-Reviewed articles, and other limiters to refine your search.

Remember to use subject headings or the thesaurus terms in your searching.

Thesaurus or Subject Headings

Use the Thesaurus or subject headings to refine and target results.

GreenFILE subject terms

In EBSCO databases, click the link in the top menu bar. Key in your term in the Browsing text box, choose a display (Term Begins With,, Term contains, or Relevancy Ranked), and then click Browse.

Click a subject to view the scope and related terms. Mark the term and click Add to search it.