The Innovation Station and Virtual Reality
The Innovation Station in the J.D. McKean Library, Room 102, has three VR setups offering a selection of Steam VR programs to explore and experience. Biology related programs and games include:
To use VR, just stop at the Library Service desk, check out the VR controllers, and then go to the Innovation Station.
- Biology ResearchCheck out the list of new biology books and ebooks!
Suggested Research Outline
Before you start or as you begin your research, it may be helpful and beneficial to meet with a librarian to get help with how to start your research, the best resources to use, important search terms, and more.
Preliminary work:
- ZOTERO - Set up your free account in Zotero to save and manage your articles and citations. (See: Citations)
- EBSCO FOLDER - Create a folder in EBSCO to save and manage EBSCO database/EagleSearch articles and your searches. (See: EBSCO Folder & Google Drive)
- REFERENCE MATERIALS - Check out your topic in reference databases and books. (See: Search Examples: Explore a TOPIC)
- EAGLESEARCH - Search your topic to identify other databases to search. (See: Search Examples: IDENTIFY Databases)
Search, tweak, and search some more:
- SEARCH - Subject databases, web resources, Google Scholar, etc. (See: Search Examples: CREATE Search Expressions)
- Use keywords.
- Use subject headings/thesaurus terms/subjects.
- SAVE citations/articles to EBSCO folder and/or Zotero
- Request articles from interlibrary loan, as needed.
- EDIT SEARCH EXPRESSIONS; SET SEARCH LIMITS (See: Search Examples: SEARCH, EDIT, SEARCH; and LIMIT Results))
- REPEAT STEP 6
- REPEAT STEP 7
It may be helpful and beneficial to meet with a librarian. - BIBLIOGRAPHY - Create the bibliography/reference list.
Featured Reference Books
Keywords for Environmental Studies by
A new vocabulary for Environmental Studies Understandings of "nature" have expanded and changed, but the word has not lost importance at any level of discourse: it continues to hold a key place in conversations surrounding thought, ethics, and aesthetics. Nowhere is this more evident than in the interdisciplinary field of environmental studies. Keywords for Environmental Studies analyzes the central terms and debates currently structuring the most exciting research in and across environmental studies, including the environmental humanities, environmental social sciences, sustainability sciences, and the sciences of nature. Sixty essays from humanists, social scientists, and scientists, each written about a single term, reveal the broad range of quantitative and qualitative approaches critical to the state of the field today. From "ecotourism" to "ecoterrorism," from "genome" to "species," this accessible volume illustrates the ways in which scholars are collaborating across disciplinary boundaries to reach shared understandings of key issues--such as extreme weather events or increasing global environmental inequities--in order to facilitate the pursuit of broad collective goals and actions. This book underscores the crucial realization that every discipline has a stake in the central environmental questions of our time, and that interdisciplinary conversations not only enhance, but are requisite to environmental studies today. Visit keywords. Nyupress.org for online essays, teaching resources, and more.
ISBN: 9781787855441Publication Date: 2016-02-26
A Swift Guide to Butterflies of Mexico and Central America by
A groundbreaking photographic field guide to almost all of Mexico's butterfly species and many of Central America's This is a revised second edition of a groundbreaking photographic field guide to the butterflies of Mexico and Central America. Written by Jeffrey Glassberg, the pioneering authority on the field identification of butterflies, the guide covers more than 2,000 species and features over 3,700 large, gorgeous color photographs, the very best images available, accompanied by authoritative facing-page text. This second edition includes more species, more than 1,500 new photos, and updated text, maps, and species names. And range maps, field marks, and host plants are included for all Mexican butterflies. The result is an ideal field guide that will enable you to identify almost every butterfly you see. A revised second edition of a groundbreaking guide, featuring more species, more than 1,500 new photos, and updated text, maps, and species names The first complete guide to Mexican butterflies Covers almost all of Mexico's more than 1,700 species, plus many Central American species, including more than two-thirds of those in Costa Rica Written by the pioneering authority on the field identification of butterflies Beautifully illustrated with more than 3800 color photographs that show almost all known Mexican species and about 90% of Costa Rican and Panamanian species Range maps, field marks, and host plants for all Mexican species Authoritative facing-page text An invaluable tool for field identification
ISBN: 978178754062Publication Date: 2018-01-30
A Swift Guide to Butterflies of North America by
A thoroughly revised edition of the most comprehensive and authoritative photographic field guide to North American butterflies This is a revised second edition of the most detailed, comprehensive, and user-friendly photographic field guide to the butterflies of North America. Written by Jeffrey Glassberg, the pioneering authority on the field identification of butterflies, the guide covers all known species, beautifully illustrating them with 3,500 large, gorgeous color photographs--the very best images available. This second edition includes more than 500 new photos and updated text, maps, and species names. For most species, there are photographs of topsides and undersides, males and females, and variants. All text is embedded in the photographs, allowing swift access in the field, and arrows point to field marks, showing you exactly what to look for. Detailed, same-page range maps include information about the number of broods in each area and where strays have been recorded. Color text boxes highlight information about habitat, caterpillar food plants, abundance and flight period, and other interesting facts. Also included are a quick visual index and a caterpillar food plant index. The result is an ideal field guide that will enable you to identify almost every butterfly you see. A revised second edition of the most comprehensive photographic field guide to North American butterflies, featuring more than 500 new photos and updated text, maps, and species names Written by the pioneering authority on the field identification of butterflies Beautifully illustrated with 3,500 color photographs that show all known species, including views of topsides and undersides, males and females, and variants for most species Authoritative text embedded in the photographs for swift access Detailed range maps Color text boxes that highlight information about habitat, food plants, abundance and flight period, and other interesting facts An invaluable tool for field identification
ISBN: 9781787854093Publication Date: 2017-05-30
Featured Books/Ebooks
Basic Biology and Clinical Aspects of Inflammation by
"Basic Biology and Clinical Aspects of Inflammation provides information about the critical cells and biochemical mediators involved in the complex process of inflammation. Readers are introduced to the basic scientific background on the subject, after whi"
ISBN: 9781681082288Publication Date: 2016-03-07
Fungi: Experimental Methods in Biology by
Fungi are now at the forefront of research on mechanisms in gene silencing, biological rhythm, mating processes, biogenesis of intracellular organelles, adaptations to hostile habitats, structure of natural populations, and speciation. Because of their small genomes, fungi are being used in "systems biology" to understand the connections between genes, proteins, and metabolic and signaling pathways. The ease with which yeasts and fungi can be cultivated in simple nutritive media has also made these eukaryotic organisms the choice material for basic and applied research. Fungi: Experimental Methods in Biology, Second Edition presents the latest information on fungal biology generated through advances in genetics, molecular biology, and biochemistry. It gives an account of real experiments that have been carried out on the diverse lifestyles of these organisms. Following in the footsteps of its highly-praised predecessor, this book continues to be a comprehensive review of the state of our knowledge about how fungi function. Examining both unicellular and multicellular fungi, this accessible book covers: Special features of fungi Interaction of fungi with other organisms Use of fungi as sources of chemicals for human health and welfare Model fungi in research Gene manipulation Adaptations Natural populations Throughout, the book draws attention to unsolved questions and to the opportunities offered by the diversity of fungi. Written by a prominent mycologist, it provides an excellent introduction and reference for beginning researchers as well as for experienced professionals. What¿s New in This Edition: New chapters on spores¿ dormancy, germin ation, and uses; fungi as scavengers; and fungi as chemical factories All chapters substantially revised, updated, and rewritten, in particular The Hyphal Mode of Life, Fungi as Symbiotic Partners, and Fungi as Plant Pathogens New material on the use of yeast for functional analysis of genomes; the use of Neurospora in cytogenetics and genes controlling conidiation; and the identification of the clock gene A new glossary to reinforce important concepts¿
ISBN: 9781439839034Publication Date: 2011-09-21
Integrated Watershed Management in Rainfed Agriculture by
This book provides a comprehensive presentation of the realization of improved rainfed agriculture yield in semi-arid and dry land areas. The incentive of watershed programs is to increase the return on investment with over 20% for 65% of the projects that are currently underperforming. Besides techniques to improve the livelihood of the many small-scale farmers in developing countries, it includes examples and case studies for further support. The methods discussed have recently shown to be successful and economically remunerative in India and in various African countries. Intended for professionals (investors, policy makers), researchers and (post) graduate students working on dry land and sustainable agriculture and water and natural resources management. Suited for courses in dry land agriculture, soil and water management and watershed development.
ISBN: 980415882774Publication Date: 2011-09-16
