It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use ORU databases to find articles, essays, book reviews, conference papers and more in scholarly journals and magazines. Use geographic terms with other keywords and the subject field to locate relevant articles.
opens new windowCIA World Factbook
Provides "information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities."
Country guides with coverage including culture and society, travel, education, religion, history, holidays, language, music, maps, money including a currency converter, national symbols, flags and more.
"Globethics.net is a worldwide ethics network based in Geneva...Its aim is to ensure that people in all regions of the world are empowered to reflect and act on ethical issues. The founding conviction of Globethics.net was that more equal access to knowledge resources in the field of applied ethics will enable persons and institutions from developing and transition economies to become more visible and audible in the global discourse on ethics." (Taken from Website Nov 1, 2017). There is no cost involved in using the library. Individuals only need to register (free of charge) as participants on the Globethics.net website (www.globethics.net) to get access to all the full text journals, encyclopedias, e-books and other resources in the library.
This database provides a collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, case studies, and legal documents and is a source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. The information centers on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, ethical issues, the environment, federal law, international law, organized crime, medical, labor, and human resource law. More database information about Legal Collection
Full-text of journals, reference books, and conference papers related to contemporary political discourse; subjects include international relations, law and legislation, political theory, non-governmental organizations, humanitarian issues. More database information from EBSCO, including title lists.
Newspapers include Chicago Tribune (1996-present), Los Angeles Times (1996-present), New York Times (1980-present), New York Times Book Review and New York Times Magazine (1997-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present), and Washington Post (1987-present) TIP: Use "quotation marks" to search for exact phrases. For additional searching help, click on "Search tips" above the search box on Advanced Search screen; also notice links for Thesaurus and Field codes specific to this database. (On the Basic Search screen, "Search tips" is located under the search box Enter button). Advanced Search screen: Use for filtering by Company/Organization, looking up NAICS codes, selecting specific Document types, etc.
Full-text journals provided by American Theological Library Association (Atla) in many diverse areas of religion and theology. Coverage from over 30 different countries with content in 16 languages. Content includes sacred texts, world religions, interfaith dialogue, contextual and systematic theology, denominational history, ethics, etc.
This resource deals with the history and global development of Christianity over the past five centuries...including the cultural role of Christianity in its widest sense (e.g. as Christianity interacts with society, politics, economics, philosophy and the arts).
Provides resources to further explore Christian-Muslim-Jewish relations and key concepts in theology across religions. Covers comparative religion, theology, world religion, religion and law, religion and politics, and serves as an important resource for courses and scholarship in Middle Eastern studies, social theory, feminist studies, philosophy, and world history.
Full-text ebooks cross-searchable by subject, author, religion, work. "Researchers can search across hundreds of fully-digitized documents to instantly compare how different theories, denominations, and cultural groups have intersected, differed, and influenced one another."
"A multivolume, cross-searchable online collection that brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to worldwide religious thinkers from the early 1900s until the first decade of the 21st century. This resource represents voices from Christianity, Judaism, and Islam featuring significant thinkers of history."
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present; content includes book and media reviews, international perspective on topics and events, and occasional full-text of selected books. More database information from EBSCO.
More than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, including expanded coverage of American women's history and U.S. government. Primary sources available; maps, charts, images, and videos are included in this database.
A comprehensive archive about the Americas written in Europe before 1750; covers topics such as Native Americans, Jesuits in America, pirates, slave trade, discoveries, commerce. More database information from EBSCO.
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present and includes scholarship in archaeology, anthropology, sociology, world history, military history, women's history. More database information from EBSCO.
Full-text content covering all aspects of humanities including articles, interviews, book reviews, reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, etc. More database information from EBSCO.
Open Access Databases
opens new windowEuropeana
Provides access to millions of cultural materials, including books, music, artwork, jigsaw puzzles, and more.