Environmental and Travel Health
The Handbook of Environmental Health by
Environmental issues, global warming, pollution, and chemical dumping, are ever present in the news. But what about the health problems these issues pose? Frank Spellman and Melissa Stoudt identify the hazardous environmental issues and explain the science behind the dangers to our health. The Handbook of Environmental Health begins with defining the most commonly used terms, clearly explained for any student to learn and understand. Then each chapter tackles a different issue, outlining its scientific concepts and relating it to our health, with case studies or scenarios to bring the concepts to life. Lastly, the chapters conclude with thought-provoking questions. The authors also provide solutions to control the factors that harm our health, making this handbook a valuable resource for any student, library, or one interested in the dangers of environmental health.
ISBN: 9780810886858Publication Date: 2013-02-21
The Praeger Handbook of Environmental Health by
Written by internationally acclaimed experts in the United States and abroad, this comprehensive set of environmental health articles serves to clarify our impending challenges as well as opportunities for health and wellness. * 100 entries organized according to key topic areas in environmental health * Contributions from more than 150 environmental health experts from U.S. and international settings * Figures and graphs support the main points of each article * Dozens of literature citations within each article
ISBN: 9780313386008Publication Date: 2012-04-23
How Everyday Products Make People Sick by
This book reveals the hidden health dangers in many of the seemingly innocent products we encounter every day--a tube of glue in a kitchen drawer, a bottle of bleach in the laundry room, a rayon scarf on a closet shelf, a brass knob on the front door, a wood plank on an outdoor deck. A compelling exposé, written by a physician with extensive experience in public health and illustrated with disturbing case histories, How Everyday Products Make People Sick is a rich and meticulously documented account of injury and illness across different time periods, places, and technologies.
ISBN: 9780520261273Publication Date: 2009-11-02
Disclaimer: This guide's purpose is to provide resources related to general health & wellness. Some resources may contain information that is the opinion of the author and not necessarily that of a physician.Only health professionals can interpret and individualize information for a specific person's condition or health situation. Please consult a health professional for specific medical questions.
The opens new windowNational Institute of Environmental Health Sciences provides information about how chemicals and environmental agents may affect health. They also have brochures and fact sheets, searchable by topic, environmental agent, or disease. They also provide an opens new windowA-Z List of environmental health topics opens new window.
opens new windowPubChem collects information on chemicals and their properties, health, safety, toxicity data, and many other chemical-related topics.
MedlinePlus opens new window topics related to environmental health, safety, and toxicology opens new window
opens new windowEnvironmental Odors can come from many sources, including human activities, animals, nature, vehicles, and industrial activities. This site from the CDC provides answers to common questions on odors and health and information on reporting odors.
opens new windowLactMed, a resource from the National Library of Medicine, is a database of drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant.
Traveling overseas? The opens new windowCDC website provides travel health notices here.