Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Consumer Health Resources: General Health Resources

Personal Health & Wellness information from trusted sources

Consumer Health Guide

Welcome to the consumer health information guide. The purpose of this guide is to provide resources for personal health and wellness topics. Please consult with a qualified physician for diagnosis and answers about any specific health concerns. Information about the Coronavirus Disease 2019 is located in the opens new windowCOVID-19 Resources Guide (opens in new window). opens new window

Disclaimer: This guide's purpose is to provide resources related to general health & wellness. Some resources may contain information that is the opinion of the author and not necessarily that of a physician.Only health professionals can interpret and individualize information for a specific person's condition or health situation. Please consult a health professional for specific medical questions.

opens new window ORU Student Health Services (opens new window) for current students.

opens new windowClear Health A-Z (opens new window) If you or a loved one has received a recent diagnosis, or if you basic information about a disease or condition, this resource provided by the National Institutes of Health is a great place to get started.

opens new windowClinicalTrials.gov (opens new window) provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers. ClinicalTrials.gov supplies information about a trial’s purpose, who may participate, locations, and contact information for more details.

opens new windowGenetics Home Reference (opens new window) provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variation on human health.

opens new windowHealthfinder.gov (opens new window) is a government website where can find information and tools to help you and those you care about stay healthy.

opens new windowHealthReach (opens new window) provides health information in many languages.

opens new windowHealth Information Translations (opens new window) provides educational information in multiple languages for health care professionals and others to use in their communities. Resources are easy-to-read and culturally appropriate.

opens new windowMerck Manual Consumer (opens new window) contains general medical information about diseases and symptoms in all fields of medicine. The consumer version of the manual contains easier to understand information on the same topics as the professional version but is focused on patients, parents, and caregivers.

opens new windowMedlinePlus (opens new window) provides current, reliable health information. Created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine--the world's most extensive medical library--MedlinePlus is the first place to go with consumer health-related questions. MedlinePlus includes a dictionary, encyclopedia, drug database, and current news items about a wide variety of health topics. MedlinePlus publishes a quarterly opens new windowmagazine (opens new window) that is free online or in print. The magazine is also available in opens new window Spanish (opens new window).

opens new windowWhat did my doctor say? (opens new window) The Medical Library Association created this page to help you understand medical terminology that a doctor or nurse might use, common "medspeak" terms.

opens new windowThe Office of Minority Health (opens new window) seeks to improve the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through policies and programs that will help eliminate health disparities.

ORU Databases: