Turabian Style Manuals
"Kate L. Turabian's Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations presents two basic documentation systems: notes-bibliography style (or simply bibliography style) and author-date style (sometimes called reference list style)." The notes-bibliography style (NB) is used by the ORU Graduate School of Theology and Ministry, with the exception of graduate counseling that uses APA style.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (Ninth Edition)
by When Kate L. Turabian first put her famous guidelines to paper, she could hardly have imagined the world in which today's students would be conducting research. Yet while the ways in which we research and compose papers may have changed, the fundamentals remain the same: writers need to have a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations--also known as "Turabian"--remains one of the most popular books for writers because of its timeless focus on achieving these goals. This new edition filters decades of expertise into modern standards. While previous editions incorporated digital forms of research and writing, this edition goes even further to build information literacy, recognizing that most students will be doing their work largely or entirely online and on screens. Chapters include updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and also recognize the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research. Teachers and users of the previous editions will recognize the familiar three-part structure. Part 1 covers every step of the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 offers a comprehensive guide to Chicago's two methods of source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date. Part 3 gets into matters of editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material. A Manual for Writers also covers an issue familiar to writers of all levels: how to conquer the fear of tackling a major writing project. Through eight decades and millions of copies, A Manual for Writers has helped generations shape their ideas into compelling research papers. This new edition will continue to be the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines.Call Number: LB2369 .T8 2018, also available on Reserve - View record. See: Turabian: Citation Quick GuideISBN: 9780226494425Publication Date: 2018-04-16
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (Eighth Edition)
by A little more than seventy-five years ago, Kate L. Turabian drafted a set of guidelines to help students understand how to write, cite, and formally submit research writing. Seven editions and more than nine million copies later, the name Turabian has become synonymous with best practices in research writing and style. Her Manual for Writers continues to be the gold standard for generations of college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines. Now in its eighth edition, A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations has been fully revised to meet the needs of today's writers and researchers. The Manual retains its familiar three-part structure, beginning with an overview of the steps in the research and writing process, including formulating questions, reading critically, building arguments, and revising drafts. Part II provides an overview of citation practices with detailed information on the two main scholarly citation styles (notes-bibliography and author-date), an array of source types with contemporary examples, and detailed guidance on citing online resources. The final section treats all matters of editorial style, with advice on punctuation, capitalization, spelling, abbreviations, table formatting, and the use of quotations. Style and citation recommendations have been revised throughout to reflect the sixteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. With an appendix on paper format and submission that has been vetted by dissertation officials from across the country and a bibliography with the most up-to-date listing of critical resources available, A Manual for Writers remains the essential resource for students and their teachers.Call Number: LB2369.T8 - View record.Publication Date: 2013-04-03
Examples:
opens new windowTurabian Style Guide (Covenant Theological Seminary) - Provides examples for 9th edition.
SBL Style Manual
The Society of Biblical Literature, or SBL, style is used by those who write or publish in the disciplines of ancient Near Eastern studies, Biblical studies, and studies of early Christianity. The SBL Handbook includes extensive abbreviations lists, archeological site names, guidelines for transliterating ancient languages, and examples for citing print and electronic sources. SBL documentation style is recommended for use by the Undergraduate Theology department.
The SBL Handbook of Style (Online)
byCall Number: PN147.S26 - View record. View Table of ContentsISBN: 9781589839649Publication Date: 2014-09-01
opens new windowSBL Handbook of Style: Explanations, Clarifications, and Expansions
opens new windowStudent Supplement for the SBL Handbook of Style, Second Edition PDF
A copy of the Undergraduate Theology Department Style Manual by Dr. Lamp is available at the Library Service desk, LRC 4th floor. Citation examples are provided at the end of the manual. Please inquire at the Library Service desk.
Turabian and SBL Style Information and Examples
Your Guide to Writing Quality Research Papers: For Students of Religion and Theology, [Fourth edition]
by This will be the fourth edition of a time-tested resource for students writing papers in the fields of religion and theology. It provides essential guidance for writing assignments typical in graduate programs in religion and has served as a standard textbook for seminary research courses. The fourth edition is updated to include information on Turabian 9th edition, SBL Handbook 2nd edition, new resource lists, and additional help with online resources and formatting issues. Most importantly, this new edition is revised from the perspective of information abundance rather than information scarcity. Today's research mindset has shifted from "find anything" and "be satisfied with anything" to "choose intentionally" reliable and credible sources. Quality Research Papers will guide students through an overabundance of online and library resources and help them craft excellent essays.Call Number: BL41 .V94, on reserve at the Library Service desk - View record.ISBN: 9780310106661Publication Date: 2020-05-19
Includes information on and examples for Turabian 9th edition and SBL Handbook 2nd edition.
Your Guide to Writing Quality Research Papers: For Students of Religion and Theology [Third edition]
byISBN: 9780310514039Publication Date: 2014-02-11
Restricted to single user.See Chapter 22: "Reference Notes and Bibliographical Entries in Turabian"
ORU Graduate Theology - Research & Writing Manual
View the online Graduate School of Theology and Ministry opens new windowResearch and Writing Manual. See "Footnote and Bibliographic Examples" section (p. 83- in manual) or "Electronic Documents" (p. 91- in manual)
A copy of the Research & Writing Manual is also available on Reserve for check out at the Library Service desk, LRC 4th floor.
Chicago Manual of Style
- Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed. opens new window This link opens in a new window
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by
Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and ebook locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
ISBN: 9780226287058
Chicago Manual of Style: Quickstudy Digital Guide by Publication Date: 2012-05-31When that research paper comes due and you've forgotten your style manual, get the guidance you need quickly with the Chicago Manual of Style QuickStudy® guide. Based on the 16th edition of CMS, this handy, easy-to-carry three-panel guide contains the information you need for writing academic papers to CMS specifications, pared down to the essentials, including common, real-world sample references for both CMS citation formats so that you can be sure you are giving appropriate credit where credit is due.
