Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citing Sources: Cited References

Featured Resource

About

Cited references are the articles (or books) included in a Bibliography, References, Works Cited, or similar. Use the databases below to search an article title then view publications where the article was referenced. Cited References tools help you identify important and significant resources.

Databases with Cited References

Some EBSCO databases have a Cited References link at the top of the database page, which give you the ability to search and browse references. See opens new windowEBSCO: Cited Reference help.

opens new windowPLOS One
Provides a variety of metrics. Click Citations in the article record. On the next page choose one of the cited reference tools, such as SCOPUS, Crossref, Google Scholar, etc.

opens new windowScience Direct
Click Citing articles in the right menu of an article page.

opens new windowScientific Research (Open access; peer-reviewed journals)
Search your topic. In an article record click Citations to view a list of of items that have cited the article.

Web Cited References

opens new windowGoogle Scholar and opens new windowGoogle
Provides options to sort by date and include date limits.
Key in an article title using quotation marks. In the article record, click the Cited by link, if available.
To search an author, use advanced search. Or, key in the title of an author's work and click the author's name link in one of the result.

opens new windowCrossref
Provides number and lists of items that cite your entry; shows number of citations per year.
Key in an article title using quotation marks, an author's name, or other relevant search. Click the doi link. Click Citations.
Example: opens new window"John Korstad"