About
Reference materials, such as handbooks, specialized encyclopedias, subject dictionaries, atlases, etc., provide objective background information, quick facts, statistics, biographies, and more. Search the Library Catalog and limit the results to Reference.
Research TIP: Searching for Reference Books and Reference Ebooks
For Print Reference Books - Search the catalog or browse the shelves.
Go to the library catalog. Key in a search. Under View Entire Collection choose Reference Collection. (Note: The results include print books in the Reference Collection, but do not include reference ebooks.)
Browse the print books on the shelves in the Reference Collection. For call number sections, go to the opens new window Library of Congress Classification Outline and drill down to specific call numbers that match your subject.
For Reference Ebooks - Search the catalog or ebook databases.
Go to the library catalog. Key in a search and add the word reference to your search. Under View Entire Collection choose Ebooks.
Select a reference ebook database listed below, then browse or search ebook titles in the database.
Credo Reference
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Examples:
- Sample entry: opens new windowSvante opens new windowArrhenius
- Credo Mind Map result for opens new window toxicology (shown below)
50 Chemistry Ideas You Really Need to Know. by
50 Chemistry Ideas You Really Need to Know is an engaging guide to the world of chemistry. From the molecules that kick-started life itself to nanotechnology, chemistry offers some fascinating insights into our origins, as well as continuing to revolutionize life as we know it.
ISBN: 9781848666672Publication Date: 2016
Encyclopedia of Chemistry by
Praise for the previous edition: ...a good encyclopedia for high-school and public libraries.--Booklist[This] comprehensive [resource] cover[s] important discoveries and definitions of basic terms and concepts, and offer[s] short biographies of leading scientists.--School Library Journal...[a] top pick for science library holdings...a fine reference to both terminology and basic concepts...--Midwest Book ReviewThe comprehensive Encyclopedia of Chemistry, Revised Edition is the definitive reference to this vast subject area. Hundreds of chemistry-related entries, thought-provoking essays, leading discoveries, and biographies of notable chemists throughout history provide high school and early college students with the most complete information available. Addressing a subject whose understanding is crucial to all mature science students, Encyclopedia of Chemistry, Revised Edition presents an engaging, informative approach to learning.Additional material directs students to further pursue their studies, including links to informative websites and a bibliography. Students and professionals alike will benefit from the extensive coverage and easy-to-use format of this resource.Entries include:Atomic mass unit (amu)Binary fissionBoyle's lawCheletropic reactionEnzyme inductionFahrenheit, Daniel GabrielG-factorHeisenberg Uncertainty PrincipleKrebs cycleNuclear binding energyPheromonePhotosynthesisPolymerizationProton transfer reactionRate of reactionRadiocarbon datingRadonSupercooled liquidsThermonuclear energy.
ISBN: 9781438163161Publication Date: 2016-05-01
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary by
1471 new definitions, 5,236 revised or updated definitions, a new Chemical Abstract Number index, and an update of all trademarks Significant expansion of both chemical and biochemical terms including the addition of biochemical terms in the emerging fields in biology and biological engineering such as synthetic biology, highlighting the merging of the sciences of chemistry and biology Updates and expands the extensive data on chemicals, trade name products, and chemistry-related definitions Adds entries for notable chemists and Nobel Prize winners, equipment and devices, natural forms and minerals, named reactions, and chemical processes Update on toxicological profiles
ISBN: 9781118135150Publication Date: 2016-05-31
Human Emerging and Re-Emerging Infections, 2 Volume Set by
Emerging and re-emerging pathogens pose several challenges to diagnosis, treatment, and public health surveillance, primarily because pathogen identification is a difficult and time-consuming process due to the "novel" nature of the agent. Proper identification requires a wide array of techniques, but the significance of these diagnostics is anticipated to increase with advances in newer molecular and nanobiotechnological interventions and health information technology. Human Emerging and Re-emerging Infections covers the epidemiology, pathogenesis, diagnostics, clinical features, and public health risks posed by new viral and microbial infections. The book includes detailed coverage on the molecular mechanisms of pathogenesis, development of various diagnostic tools, diagnostic assays and their limitations, key research priorities, and new technologies in infection diagnostics. Volume 1 addresses viral and parasitic infections, while volume 2 delves into bacterial and mycotic infections. Human Emerging and Re-emerging Infections is an invaluable resource for researchers in parasitologists, microbiology, Immunology, neurology and virology, as well as clinicians and students interested in understanding the current knowledge and future directions of infectious diseases.
ISBN: 9781118644713Publication Date: 2016-01-26
Gale Ebooks
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search a topic in all Gale Ebooks. Example: opens new windowWildlife Conservation
Or, browse a book.
Chemistry
This is a reference tool, designed to guide the reader through all the aspects of a discipline that is core science and providing a knowledge base for a large number of other disciplines. Showing the myriad of ways in which chemistry plays a role (both seen and unseen) in our daily lives, this work also makes the foundations of chemistry accessible for the lay reader. are also entries providing scientific, commercial and career information. This work not only details the basic underlying scientific principles of the field, but also relates the subject matter to the reader through examples.
ISBN: 9780028657219Publication Date: 2004-02-20
Selected Reference Books
- Catalog This link opens in a new window
The ACS Style Guide by
In the time since the second edition of The ACS Style Guide was published, the rapid growth of electronic communication has dramatically changed the scientific, technical, and medical (STM) publication world. This dynamic mode of dissemination is enabling scientists, engineers, and medicalpractitioners all over the world to obtain and transmit information quickly and easily. An essential constant in this changing environment is the requirement that information remain accurate, clear, unambiguous, and ethically sound.This extensive revision of The ACS Style Guide thoroughly examines electronic tools now available to assist STM writers in preparing manuscripts and communicating with publishers. Valuable updates include discussions of markup languages, citation of electronic sources, online submission ofmanuscripts, and preparation of figures, tables, and structures. In keeping current with the changing environment, this edition also contains references to many resources on the internet.With this wealth of new information, The ACS Style Guide's Third Edition continues its long tradition of providing invaluable insight on ethics in scientific communication, the editorial process, copyright, conventions in chemistry, grammar, punctuation, spelling, and writing style for any STMauthor, reviewer, or editor. The Third Edition is the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts.
Call Number: QD8.5 .A25 - View record.ISBN: 9780841239999Publication Date: 2006-07-20
Dean's Handbook of Organic Chemistry by
GET THE ORGANIC CHEMISTRY ANSWERS YOU NEED -- IN A FLASH!Packed with nearly 50% new content, this revised edition of "Dean's Handbook of Organic Chemistry delivers comprehensive coverage, with practical information, key equations and tables, and a thorough introduction to each topic. Edited by a renowned expert in organic chemistry, this book updates: * Biopolymers * Electronegativity * Nomenclatures for supramolecular compounds * Properties tables for atoms, radicals, and bonds * Line-angle structural drawings * And much, much more! No matter if you're a chemist, a chemical or environmental engineer, or even a student, "Dean's Handbook of Organic Chemistry will add precision, insight, and a host of timesaving tips to your efforts. Complete Coverage of: * Organic compounds * Inorganic compounds * Properties of atoms, radicals, and bonds * Physical properties * Thermodynamic properties * Spectroscopy * Physicochemical relationships *Electrolytes, electromotive force, and chemical equilibrium * Laboratory manipulations * Polymers, rubbers, fats, oils, and waxes
Call Number: QD251.3.G65 View catalog recordISBN: 0071375937Publication Date: 2003-09-01
Encyclopedia of Chemistry by
With a structure that reflects the way chemistry is currently studied, the comprehensive Encyclopedia of Chemistry is the definitive reference to this vast subject area. Hundreds of chemistry-related entries, thought-provoking essays, leading discoveries, and biographies of notable chemists throughout history provide high school through early college students with the most complete information available. Addressing a subject whose understanding is crucial to all mature science students, Encyclopedia of Chemistry presents an engaging, interactive approach to learning. Additional material directs students to further pursue their studies on the Internet, including links to informative websites and summaries of chemistry-related resources. A special section listing all Nobel Prize winners in chemistry, a bibliography, and a references cited section complete this informative encyclopedia. Students and professionals alike will benefit from the extensive coverage and easy-to-use format of this resource. Entries include atomic mass unit (amu), binary fission, Boyle's law, cheletropic reaction, enzyme induction, Daniel Gabriel Fahrenheit, g-factor, Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle, Krebs' cycle, nuclear binding energy, photosynthesis, polymerase chain reaction, radiocarbon dating, suicide inhibition, and thermonuclear energy.
Call Number: QD4 .R57 2005 - View record.ISBN: 0816048940Publication Date: 2005-03-31
Facts on File Dictionary of Chemistry by
The fourth edition of The Facts On File Dictionary of Chemistry. Approximately 280 new entries have been added to reflect new information, and current entries and back matter have been revised as needed. Pronuciation symbols are included, and many photographs have been replaced.
Call Number: QD5 .F33 2005 - View record.ISBN: 0816056501Publication Date: 2005-05-01
Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry by
Fully revised and updated, the sixth edition of this popular dictionary is the ideal reference resource for students of chemistry, either at school or at university. With over 4,700 entires - over 200 new to this edition - it covers all aspects of chemistry, from physical chemistry tobiochemistry. The sixth edition boasts broader coverage in subject areas such as forensics, metallurgy, materials science, and geology, increasing the dictionary's appeal to students in these related fields. There are also biographical entries on key figures, highlighted entries on major topics suchas polymers and crystal defects, and a chronology charting the main discoveries in atomic theory, biochemistry, explosives, and plastics.
Call Number: QD5.D4985 View catalog recordISBN: 9780199204632Publication Date: 2008-04-15
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics - opens new windowCall #QD65 .H3 2007/2008 LRC-R
- Facts on File Dictionary of Inorganic Chemistry -opens new window Call #QD5 .F24 2004 LRC-R
- Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary, 2013- opens new windowCall #QD5 . C5 2002 LRC-R
- Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry, 4 vols. - opens new windowCall #QD4 . M33 LRC-5
- The Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals - opens new windowCall #QV772 M555 2001LRC-R
- Systematic Nomenclature of Organic Chemistry: A Directory to Comprehension and Application of Its Basic Principles - opens new windowCall #QD291 .H3913 2001 LRC-R
Points of View Reference
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Example:
- opens new windowWildlife Conservation