Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
opens new windowEagleSearch is EBSCO's discovery tool that allows a more-or-less comprehensive search of the library's resources, giving a quick overview of the volume and type of material relative to a particular subject area, made available by the ORU Library for current ORU students, faculty, and staff. This next-generation integrated search engine combs through some one-half billion documents/records instantaneously, including the contents of the vast majority of databases to which the Library subscribes, EagleSearch works faster and more thoroughly than opens new window one search, the Library’s previous all-in-one search tool.
- To focus a search in EagleSearch, go to opens new windowAdvanced Search and select one or more disciplines.
- To globalize a search beyond the ORU Library, uncheck the "Available in Library Collection" box.
- To refine results,limit them to one or more source types or facets, such as subjects, publications, and databases in the left menu.
- To extend the search to databases not searchable in EagleSearch, click one of the widgets in the right menu.
Reasons to Use EagleSearch
- You want to use a library search box that functions like Google, only even better.
- You realize the Library has many copyrighted resources for which the Web cannot legally provide the full text.
- You are not sure which database to use for your particular research topic.
- To complete your footnotes, you need to find the full citations of items for which you have only partial information, e.g., part of a title or an author's name.
- You want to get a quick overview of what is available in the Library in a particular discipline.
- You need to quickly find information for an assignment that is due in an hour.
- You are working on a major research project and realize you will eventually need to search the individual databases in your discipline but first you want to jump start your research project by using EagleSearch.
EagleSearch ~ Research Starters Tutorial
EagleSearch ~ Improving Your Results Tutorial