Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PRFT-949 Research Methods ~ PhD in Theology Course Guide: Article Databases

Article Databases

A database is an electronic collection of journal articles, usually for a specific academic discipline. These databases allow you to search for articles across the many journals all in one place and have full text access to PDFs of the articles.  To find an article, follow these steps.

From the home page, find the "Databases" link in the blue links bar below the search box. This will take you to the database list.  You can use the "Subjects" drop down menu to choose "Theology" databases.  However, the most common and most recommended is the ATLA Serials Plus Religion Database. Others could include the APA PsychArticles for counselling and behavioural science topics.There are also other book and reference databases in the Theology list.

Click the image to go to the Database List. opens new window

Database Search Tips

  1. Limit by subject
  2. Limit (or filter) by type or format
  3. Limit by vendor/provider
  4. Limit by a combination of two or more of the above
  5. Key in a term in the search box
  6. Start over by clicking the "clear filters" button.

Kinds of Databases

The databases differ considerably in the kind of information they provide.

  1. Many databases are indexes to periodical literature (journals, magazines, newspapers), of which Academic Search Complete is the prime example. Some of these databases include only opens new window indexes and abstracts, while others include opens new windowfull text.
  2. Other databases are collections of opens new windowreference materials (mostly dictionaries and encyclopedias), of which Gale eBooks and Credo Reference are prime examples.
  3. Some databases are collections o febooks, of which Ebook Central and EBSCOhost are the prime examples.
  4. Some databases are opens new windowmulti-disciplinary, meaning they contain material in a wide variety of disciplines, while others are subject-specific, meaning they are focused on a particular discipline. Academic Search Complete is an example of a multidisciplinary database, while the opens new windowAtlaSerialsPLUSopens new window® and opens new windowBusiness Source Complete are examples of discipline-specific disciplines.
  5. Some databases such as CQ Researcher, Points of View Reference Center, and TOPIC search focus on opens new windowcontemporary or controversial issues, while others focus on opens new windowbiographical information, for example,Gale in Context: Biography. Other databases are composed of primarily opens new windowstatistical information. one example of a statistical database is eStatement Studies. Other types of information found in databases include opens new windowdissertations and theses, the primary example being ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global. Still others contain opens new windowbook reviews and opens new windownews & current events.