Library Guides: BIB-372 Revelation &amp; Writings of John: Books & ebooks

ebook Databases

Cambridge Companions to Religion Collection This link opens in a new window
Each volume in this series of companions to major topics and key figures in theology and religious studies contains specially commissioned essays by international scholars; provides and accessible and stimulating introduction to each subject.
Digital Karl Barth Library This link opens in a new window
A major online collection of Karl Barth's works provided by Princeton Theological Seminary and Theologischer Verlag Zurich; researchers can cross-search among all Barth's works. Results can be viewed, organized, and analyzed at an unprecedented
pace and precision.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Authoritative ebooks in a wide range of subject areas.
TIP: The Bookshelf feature allows you to store ebooks, create notes, highlight text, add Web links, and more. To access or create your personalized bookshelf, click the Bookshelf link in Ebook Central and sign in using your ORU Single Sign-On (SSO). To delete ebook titles, highlights and notes in your bookshelf, use the delete trash icon at the right in your folder.
View Ebook Central how-to videos
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of eBooks including titles in the Christian Librarians collections.
Video tutorial: Downloading EBSCO eBooks
Information from EBSCO concerning Accessibility use of ebooks.
Direct link into the Religion Collection
eBook Religion Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This eBook collection provides titles covering diverse worldwide religions and explores areas of study such as the social, cultural, and historical impacts of religion.
Ministry Matters This link opens in a new window
Full-text research and reference materials, original articles, blogs, book reviews, thematic topics, devotions, prayers, sermon starters all fully searchable.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Religion This link opens in a new window
"...Essays on critical topics and emerging issues in the study of religion, complementing hundreds of essays on Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, Sikhism and cross-cultural thematic studies."
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Christianity This link opens in a new window
Full-text ebooks cross-searchable by subject, author, religion, work. "Researchers can search across hundreds of fully-digitized documents to instantly compare how different theories, denominations, and cultural groups have intersected, differed, and influenced one another."
"A multivolume, cross-searchable online collection that brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to worldwide religious thinkers from the early 1900s until the first decade of the 21st century. This resource represents voices from Christianity, Judaism, and Islam featuring significant thinkers of history."

Books & ebooks

Books: Search the library opens new windowcatalog for ORU holdings. For books held elsewhere, look in WorldCat (opens new windowFirstSearch or open access). Another way to locate books is to browse the opens new windowB Library of Congress class numbers either by doing a call number search for the desired classification in the library catalog or by browsing the B section in the Reference area or in Main (where books that may be checked out are shelved).

opens new windowEbooks To use ebook functions such as annotating and downloading, sign up for a personal account in opens new windowEbook Central and in either the EBSCOhost opens new windoweBook Collection or the EBSCOhost eBook Religion Collection. For more on how to use and download ebooks, see the opens new windowebooks@ORU guide.

Bible Commentaries

The New Interpreter's Bible by Keck, Leander E., ed.
Call Number: BS491.2 .N484 1994 V.1-12 Reference
Also available in Ministry Matters.

Bible Commentaries Plus Research Guide
Find commentaries for every book of the Bible

To identify the more scholarly Bible commentaries, use the Bible commentaries series chart in the Bible Commentaries Plus guide. The chart categorizes the commentaries as devotional, pastoral, or academic, with the academic category generally being the most scholarly and therefore the most desirable for use in college papers.

See also David Bauer's Essential Bible Study Tools for Ministry, especially the "Highly Recommended" sections of his selected lists of commentaries for each book of the Bible. The book is kept at the Library Services Desk on the "Quick Reference" shelf.

Library of Congress Classification - Class Number for Bible

B - Philosophy, Psychology, Religion
- B-BD - Philosophy
- BF - Psychology
- BJ - Ethics
- BL - Religions
- BM - Judaism
- BP - Islam, etc.
- BQ - Buddhism
- BR - Christianity
- BS - The Bible
  - BS2575+ - Matthew
  - BS2585+ - Mark
  - BS2595+ - Luke
  - BS2615+ - John
  - BS2805+ - 1-3 John
  - BS2825+ - Revelation
- BT - Doctrinal Theology
- BV - Practical Theology
- BX - Christian denominations

H - Social Sciences (General)
- HQ -The Family, Marriage, Women
P - Language and Literature
- PA- Greek; Latin
- PJ4543-4937 - Hebrew(Biblical and modern)
- PJ5201-5329.5- Aramaic
- PJ5401-5809-Syriac