This course library research research guide supplements the LIBBI session and provides suggested resource links, search strategies, and research tips to support the course assignments and student research needs. (All links open in a new window.)
Course Description: "Introduces the basic concepts and findings of cognitive psychology, including the topics of perception, attention, learning, memory, language, categorization, imagery, judgment and decision-making, and problem-solving. Cognition is discussed from the perspectives of information processing and cognitive neuroscience."
- PILOTS - Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress
Sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Vetrans Affairs; Provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events. ProQuest
From the American Psychological Association. More than 180,000 full-text, peer-reviewed articles from more than 100 journals covering the science of psychology and behavior.Published by APA and affiliated journals. EBSCO
- Psychology: A SAGE Full Text Collection
Full-text of 53 peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Covers assessment, child development, applied-, clinical-, cognitive-, counseling-, social psychology, and more.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Contains peer-reviewed titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, child & adolescent psychology, counseling, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full-text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO.
From the American Psychological Association. International literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes over 1,800 professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, published internationally. View the APA Thesaurus video (YouTube 2:54 mins.)EBSCO
- Science Direct: Social & Behavioral Sciences Journal Collection
Full text scientific, technical and medical (STM) articles from 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books. Includes the Lancet and Tetrahedron Letters.
Searches multiple databases across formats and media. Use advance search to select disciplines. See: EBSCO's flash Tutorial
- Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary scholarly database; ~9,000 full-text journals; 7,850+ full-text peer-reviewed journals; indexing and abstracts for 12,500+ journals. NEW! ~60,000 videos (with footage from 1930-present) from the Associated Press. EBSCO.
- Google Scholar
Go to Settings, choose Library links in the left menu and key in Oral Roberts University. When you are logged in to "Off Campus Access," the results will provide a link to the article, if it is available full-text in the library.
- Family Studies Abstracts
Bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline; linked full-text when available.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides full-text, abstracts, and indexing of health and medical related scholarly journals; subjects include pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law, etc.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Provides indexing for millions of dissertations, with the full-text available for immediate free download and many available for purchase in print; the official digital dissertation archive for the Library of Congress.
- Social Work Abstracts
Covers 900+ social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Coverage includes: therapy, addictions, child and family welfare, human services, civil and legal rights, and mental health. EBSCO
- SocINDEX with Full Text
A full-text sociology research database indexing journals, books, working papers, dissertations, conference proceedings; subjects cover criminology, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, criminal justice, social development, religion, substance abuse, and much more. EBSCO
- Sociology: A SAGE Full Text Collection
A full-text collection of journals related to contemporary sociology, comparative sociology, ethnic studies, family studies, consumer culture, gender studies, sociology of sport, and many others.