Nursing Students Explore Virtual Reality
Sr. Paper students in Dr. Landrum’s NUR 498 class utilized a class time in the library to engage with resources in the Innovation Station, Faculty AVR Room, and Presentation Studio.
Dr. McCoy’s Advanced Human Physiology (PHS 324) class, shown below, also explored VR and 3D technologies, including Sharecare YOU Anatomy, 3D Organon VR (on Steam), and BioDigital Human, in the J.D. McKean Library Innovation Station and Faculty AVR Room.
Students in Dr. Kimberly Landrum’s Community Health Nursing class used virtual reality (VR) in the library to explore on Google Earth VR the country and surrounding areas of their pre-nursing trip to Africa.
One student commented, “It was incredible. It gave a unique perspective in preparation of our spring medical missions trip to Lomé, Togo, Africa.”
New Books & Ebooks!
When ordering ebooks, the library may have options to purchase single user, multi-user, or unlimited access. A single user license (one user) allows one user at a time access to the book; a multi-user license (three users) allows up to three users access at the same time.
Emergency Medicine, Trauma and Disaster Management by
The number of natural and man-made disasters has risen dramatically over the last decade. Natural disasters, industrial accidents and terrorist attacks represent major incidents, often involving multiple casualties. In such cases, health professionals face multiple challenges because the type of medical care required differs from what is taught and provided in their everyday hospital duties. The aim of this book is to inform and prepare healthcare professionals for the challenges posed by major incidents, so that they can act effectively in medical teams sent on humanitarian missions or into conflict zones. It offers a holistic and horizontal approach covering all stages of the disaster management cycle. The book is divided into 5 sections: section 1: prehospital emergency services; section ii: hospital response; section iii: management of incidents; section iv: after the disaster; and section v: evaluation, ethical issues, education and research. Healthcare providers will find essential information on the special medical considerations in both prehospital and hospital disaster settings, medical management of disaster response, recovery, mitigation and preparedness. The book offers an interdisciplinary and interprofessional approach, and was written by prominent researchers and experienced practitioners.
ISBN: 9783030341152Publication Date: 2021-06-13
One user.
Pediatric Clinical Practice Guidelines and Policies by
Keep current with the latest clinical practice guidelines and policies from the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), covering more than 40 conditions plus every AAP policy statement, clinical report, and technical report though December 2021. KEY FEATURES New clinical practice guideline: Evaluation and Management of Well-Appearing Febrile Infants 8 to 60 Days Old New and revised AAP policy statements, clinical reports, and technical reports Printed text and eBook access, including full text of all AAP clinical practice guidelines and full text of 2021 AAP policy statements, clinical reports, and technical reports More than 600 policy statements, clinical reports, and technical reports Quick Reference Tools, including coding tips, patient education handouts, and more Five-section organization for ease of use
ISBN: 9781610026086Publication Date: 2022-04-11
One user.
The Tracks We Leave by
Now more than ever, ethical management in healthcare requires more than just a commitment to 'doing the right thing.' It requires the ability to analyze highly complex situations in a volatile environment, to address the myriad needs and concerns of patients and other stakeholders, to thoughtfully evaluate diverse courses of action, and ultimately to choose the right path when the moral 'rules' are not always clear. The Tracks We Leave: Ethics and Management Dilemmas in Healthcare, now in its third edition, provides guidance for current and future healthcare managers as they confront the ethical challenges of their day-to-day work. Structured around a series of real-life cases, the book explores the ethical implications of such topics as: Medical errors; Conflicts of interest; Sexual harassment and gender discrimination; Physician impairment; Emergency preparedness; Workforce reductions; End-of-life decisions. Through a host of relevant, timely scenarios and thought-provoking essays, the book examines ethics as a leadership imperative, describes organizational policies and infrastructure components that support an ethical culture, and presents a framework for ethical analysis that is both comprehensive and pragmatic.
ISBN: 9781640551404Publication Date: 2020-01-30
One user.
Pathophysiology Online for Gould's Pathophysiology for the Health Professions (Access Code and Textbook Package) by Call Number: QZ140 V262 View record.ISBN: 9780323792998Publication Date: 2022-04-15
Mosby's 2023 Nursing Drug Reference by
Choose the drug handbook trusted by nurses for more than 35 years! Mosby's 2023 Nursing Drug Reference makes it easy to find the most vital information on the drugs you administer most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled - including 35 new entries for drugs recently approved by the FDA. And no other drug guide places a higher emphasis on patient safety, with Black Box Warnings for dangerous adverse reactions, Safety Alerts for situations requiring special attention, and a focus on both common and life-threatening side effects. From nursing pharmacology expert Linda Skidmore-Roth, this perennial bestseller proves there is a difference in drug guides. More than 5,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug you will administer in practice or in clinicals. Safety Alert icon highlights the most critical drug interactions and side effects. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Coverage of IV drug administration highlights dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Side effects information is organized by body system and identified as common or life threatening, showing signs to watch for during assessments. Alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, and a full-color design highlights important information. Complete pharmacokinetic information includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Overview of drug categories explains the safe administration of common classes of drugs, as well as their common side effects and interactions. Flexible, water-resistant cover provides durability in the clinical setting. NEW! Drug monographs for 35 new FDA-approved medications equip you with the latest drug information including generic names, trade names, pronunciations, do-not-confuse drugs, action, uses, contraindications, precautions, dosages and routes, side effects, pharmacokinetics, interactions (including drug/herb, drug/food and drug/lab test), nursing considerations, treatment of overdose, patient/family teaching, and more. NEW! Updates on drug therapies provide the most current information.
ISBN: 0323930727Publication Date: 2022-06-21
