Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ebooks@ORU: About the Ebook Collections

Overview of the ebooks available in the ORU Library along with tips on how to access, search, navigate, annotate, and download them

About ebooks@ORU

Now that over 45% of the Library's book collection is electronic, it is more important than ever not to overlook these resources. They are amazingly easy and convenient to use. Ebook Central, EBSCO's ebook and eBook Religion Collections, Credo Reference, and Gale eBooks are four of the largest ebook collections. Each has its own interface and special features.

See the Download tab for the steps to getting set up to download the ebooks either on your laptop or mobile device if you need to read them offline.

Please note: annotations made to ebooks while downloaded offline will not be saved, so unless you need to read offline, such as on an airplane, it is preferable to read the ebooks online rather than downloading them.

ebooks v. Paper Books in ORU Library


Comparison of printed books to ebooks

As of January 2, 2019

ebooks Accessible via the Library Catalog

ebooks Accessible via the Library CatalogUpdated January 2, 2019.

The ORU library also provides access to 36,246 ebook titles that are embedded in databases but not searchable in the catalog.

ORU's Ebook Collections

The ORU ebook collections whose titles are searchable in the Library catalog are listed below in descending order of size. These collections are also accessible via the opens new window databasespage. For tips on how to highlight and annotate the Library's ebooks online, see under the tab for each collection. For instructions on how to download the ebooks and read them offline on a laptop or mobile device, see the Download Instructions tab.

opens new windowEbook Central, formerly ebrary, is a collection of 143,142 academic electronic books from a wide variety of scholarly and professional publishers. Concentrations are in the areas of Business & Economics, Computers & Technology, Humanities, the Social Sciences and more. The total includes approximately 577 individually purchased titles.

opens new windoweBook Collection (EBSCOhost) includes13,654 titles, which includes over 1,150 titles in the Christian Librarians collections and over 150 individually selected titles.

opens new windowCredo Reference is a collection of nearly 2,000 online reference titles from various publishers.

opens new windowGale eBooks is a collection of over 200 reference works, several of which are in-depth subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.

opens new windowBooks@Ovid includes 19 full-text ebooks related to nursing and the nursing profession.

opens new windowAudiobook Collection (EBSCOhost) is a collection of 16 downloadable audiobooks.

Other ORU ebooks

Open Access ebooks

The ebooks and ebook collections listed in this LibGuide are restricted to use by current ORU students, faculty, and staff, but the Library also offers a Web page of open access ebooks, which lists a number of open-access ebook collections.