Women in Black History
African American Women Chemists
by Dr. Marie Maynard Daly received her PhD in Chemistry from Columbia University in 1947. Although she was hardly the first of her race and gender to engage in the field, she was the first African American woman to receive a PhD in chemistry in the United States. The book contains sketches of the lives of African America women chemists from the earliest pioneers up until the late 1960's when the Civil Rights Acts were passed.ISBN: 9780199909612Publication Date: 2011-01-01- African American Women
by African American women have struggled since slavery to overcome barriers such as economic deprivation, sexism, and racism. History is replete with black women of remarkable will who have struggled to beat the odds, women like Harriet Tubman, Mary McCleod Berthune, and Rosa Parks.This study focuses on the importance of relationships and life experiences which develop a strong self-will in African American women.Call Number: E 668 .F7ISBN: 0899507301Publication Date: 1992 
Harriet Tubman
byCall Number: E444.T82 C57 2004ISBN: 0316144924Publication Date: 2004-02-02Every schoolchild knows of Harriet Tubman's heroic escape and resistance to slavery. But few readers are aware that Tubman went on to be a scout, a spy, and a nurse for the Union Army, because there has never before been a serious biography for an adult audience of this important woman.This is that long overdue historical work, written by an acclaimed historian of the antebellum era and the Civil War.
Sissieretta Jones
by Matilda Sissieretta Joyner Jones, whose nickname the "Black Patti" likened her to the well-known Spanish-born opera star Adelin a Patti, was a distinguished African American soprano during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. This compelling biography details how Jones was able to overcome substantial obstacles of racial bias to build a twenty-eight-year career performing in hundreds of opera houses and theaters throughout North America and Europe. Serving as a role model for other African American women who came after her, Jones became a successful performer despite the many challenges she faced.Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781611172812Publication Date: 2013
Afro American Encyclopaedia, 1896
- Afro-American Encyclopaedia; Or, the Thoughts, Doings, and Sayings of the Race, Embracing Lectures, Biographical Sketches, Sermons, Poems, Names of Universities, Colleges, Seminaries, Newspapers, Books, and a History of the Denominations, Giving the Numer Nashville, Tenn.: Haley & Florida. In his Afro-American Encyclopaedia (1895), James T. Haley collected a vast assortment of historical and contemporary information pertaining to African Americans at the end of the 19th century. Haley compiled this book in order "to meet the wants of the Negro, who is desirous of knowing more of the history of his race, and the achievements of its great men and women."Publication Date: 1895
The Daniel A.P. Murray collection - Turn of the Century Literary Stars
Daniel A.P. Murray was asked by the Librarian of Congress, Herbert Putnam, to collect a copy of every writing authored by a Negro author, and at his passing in 1925 the collection which provided a snapshot into the lives of African Americans at the turn of the last century, went to the Library of Congress. Part of his collection was displayed as part of an award winning exhibition at the 1900 Paris Exposition. The exhibition was organized by black scholar W.E.B. Du Bois and included works of art, drawings of patented inventions, portraits of Congressional Medal of Honor winners, and photographs of places and lives of black Americans. 1 Dr. Du Bois, who studied at Harvard University and University of Berlin, was the first black American to receive a PhD. from Harvard, founded the Niagara Movement and founded the NAACP. 2
Source: African American Perspectives: Materials Selected for the Rare Book Collection.Library of Congress.
Primary Sources
- Black Freedom Struggle in the US: A Selection of Primary Sources
Featured subjects include:
Slavery and Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860)
Civil War and Reconstruction Era (1861-1877)
Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932)
New Deal and World War II (1933-1945)
Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975)
Contemporary Era (1976-2000s)
Internet Resources
opens new window
The African-American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History & Culturehttps://www.loc.gov/exhibits/african/
opens new window
The Online Reference Guide to African American History opens new windowwww.blackpast.org
opens new window
AAREG: African American Registry opens new windowhttps://aaregistry.org/search-the-registry/
W.E.B. Du Bois
Morals and Manners among Negro Americans
by "Morals and Manners among Negro Americans" is the sequel to W.E.B. Du Bois' "The Negro Church". This sociological study, published in 1914, is based on a national survey of manners, morals, home life and eldercare, church events, child rearing, and amusements for young people. The modern reprint includes content and statistical analysis of the data that was not done at the time.Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781461633839Publication Date: 2010
Prayers for Dark People
by "This beautifully prepared volume contains seventy-one short prayers, homilies and devotions for children and young people. The prayers show the range of Du Bois' concerns including the need for work and dedication to the cause of creating 'a good life for all on earth.'" -- Sage Race Relations AbstractsCall Number: BV 245 .D8 1980ISBN: 9780870233036Publication Date: 1980
The Souls of Black Folk
by Considered to be a seminal work in black-protest literature, Du Bois affirms that it is beneath the dignity of a human being to beg for those rights that belong inherently to all mankind. He also charges that the strategy of accommodation to white supremacy would only serve to perpetuate black oppression.Call Number: E 185.5 .D817 1997ISBN: 9780486280417Publication Date: 1994
Booker T. Washington
- Booker T. Washington Delivers the “Atlanta Compromise” On September 18, 1895, Booker T. Washington delivered his famous “Atlanta Compromise” speech also known as the “Atlanta Exposition Speech” at the opening of the Cotton States and International Exposition in Atlanta, Georgia. Washington, the founder and president of the Tuskegee Normal and Industrial Institute (now Tuskegee University), was the first African-American man ever to address a racially mixed Southern audience. He used the occasion to advocate a moderate approach to race relations in the New South:
Up from Slavery
by Booker T. Washington's classic memoir of enslavement, emancipation, and community advancement in the Reconstruction Era. Born into slavery on a tobacco farm in nineteenth-century Virginia, Booker T. Washington became one of the most powerful intellectuals of the Reconstruction Era. As president of the Tuskegee Institute in Alabama, he advocated for the advancement of African Americans through education and entrepreneurship. In Up from Slavery, Washington speaks frankly and honestly about his enslavement and emancipation, struggle to receive an education, and life's work as an educator. In great detail, Washington describes establishing the Tuskegee Institute, from teaching its first classes in a hen house to building a prominent institution through community organization and a national fundraising campaign. He also addresses major issues of the era, such as the Jim Crow laws, Ku Klux Klan, and "false foundation" of Reconstruction policy. Up From Slavery is based on biographical articles written for the Christian newspaper Outlook and includes the full text of Washington's revolutionary Atlanta Exposition address. First published in 1901, this powerful autobiography remains a landmark of African American literature as well as an important firsthand account of post-Civil War American history. Also available in print, ebook and audiobook format.Call Number: E 185.97 .W3164ISBN: 9781504042437Publication Date: 2016
Black History Overview
Autobiography of a People: three centuries of African American history told by those who lived it
by Autobiography of a People is a stunning accomplishment that brings African American history to life, in all its tragedy and triumph, in a brilliant testament to the black experience in America. The book boasts an astounding roster of important historical and intellectual figures, writers and religious leaders. Linked by editor Herb Boyd's informative narrative bridges, these powerful voices from the past and present combine to create a compelling portrait of how African Americans have survived-- and shaped--some of the most important events in U.S. history.Call Number: E185 .A97 2000ISBN: 0385492782Publication Date: 2000
Freedom Facts and Firsts
byCall Number: EBOOKISBN: 9781578591923Publication Date: 2009Spanning nearly 400 years from the early abolitionists to the present, this book profiles more than 400 people, places, and events that have shaped the history of the black struggle for freedom. This inspiring resource offers an encouraging look at the historic struggles and triumphs of black men and women in politics, arts, music, journalism, law, social work and sports, the authors chart a full and inspiring history of African American activism.
The Wiley Blackwell Anthology of African American Literature, Volume 1
byCall Number: EBookISBN: 9781118604977Publication Date: 2013-12-13The Wiley Blackwell Anthology of African American Literature is a comprehensive collection of poems, short stories, novellas, novels, plays, autobiographies, and essays authored by African Americans from the eighteenth century until the present. Evenly divided into two volumes, it is also the first such anthology to be conceived and published for both classroom and online education in the new millennium.
John Hope Franklin
- John Hope Franklin John Hope Franklin (1915-2009) was born in Rentiesville, Oklahoma and graduated as valedictorian of Tulsa's Booker T. Washington High School. In 1935 he earned a bachelor's degree from Fisk University, and earned MA and PhD degrees in history from Harvard University in 1936 and 1941. After a productive career as an educator, historian and author, he founded the John Hope Franklin Research Center for African and African American History and Culture to support the exploration, understanding and advancement of scholarship of the history and culture of Africa and people of the African Diaspora in the Americas. Among many honors recognizing his contributions, Dr. Franklin was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 1995.
- Racial Equality in America
by In a searing critique of Thomas Jefferson, Franklin shows that this spokesman for democracy did not include African Americans among those "created equal." Franklin chronicles the events of the nineteenth century that solidified inequality in America and shows how emancipation dealt only with slavery, not with inequality.Call Number: E 185 .F72ISBN: 0226260739Publication Date: 1976 
Reconstruction after the Civil War
by Reconstruction after the Civil War explores the role of former slaves during this period in American history. Looking past popular myths and controversial scholarship, John Hope Franklin uses his astute insight and careful research to provide an accurate, comprehensive portrait of the era.Call Number: E 668 .F7ISBN: 9780226923376Publication Date: 2012
Tributes to John Hope Franklin
by John Hope Franklin wrote From Slavery to Freedom in 1947, now in its eighth edition. This collection of testimonials about Franklin’s life captures the man, for future generations. Each of the pieces--by several generations of participants in the twentieth century's journey toward a better America—recalls what a vital role John Hope Franklin has played.ISBN: 0826215041Publication Date: 2003
Henry Ossawa Tanner
- Henry Ossawa Tanner
Henry Ossawa Tanner (1859-1937) was one of the most distinguished artists of the 19th century, and the first African American artist recognized internationally for his work. He became known primarily for his paintings that depicted biblical themes “in their original setting.” Tanner was born in Philadelphia in 1859. His father was a teacher and bishop in the African Methodist Episcopalian Church. His mother was a former slave who escaped to Philadelphia through the Underground Railroad.