Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ORU Press - Book page - Introducing Spirit-Empowered Christianity: About

 

 
 

 

 

Introducing Spirit-Empowered Christianity
The Global Pentecostal and Charismatic Movement in the 21st Century

This study on the global Pentecostal/Charismatic movement informs and equips Christians in both academia and the church, and provides a new demographic assessment of the movement and estimates for Pentecostals, Charismatics, and Independent Charismatics in every country of the world for 1970, 2000, 2015, and 2020. This work also provides a detailed country-by-country list of Pentecostal and Charismatic denominations and networks around the world.

This study on the global Pentecostal/Charismatic movement informs and equips Christians in both academia and the church, and provides a new demographic assessment of the movement and estimates for Pentecostals, Charismatics, and Independent Charismatics in every country of the world for 1970, 2000, 2015, and 2020. This work also provides a detailed country-by-country list of Pentecostal and Charismatic denominations and networks around the world.

Contents

  • Introduction
  • 1. History and Characteristics
  • 2. Pentecostals in Global Christianity
  • 3. Pivotal Trends of the Spirit-Empowered Movement
  • 4. Methodology
  • Bibliography
  • Pentecostals/Charismatics by country, region, continent and globe

 

TODD M. JOHNSON is the Paul E. and Eva B. Toms Distinguished Professor of Mission and Global Christianity and Co-Director of the Center for the Study of Global Christianity at Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary. Johnson is visiting Research Fellow at Boston University’s Institute for Culture, Religion and World Affairs leading a research project on international religious demography. He is co-editor of the Atlas of Global Christianity (Edinburgh University Press) and co-author of the World Christian Encyclopedia (Oxford University Press, 2nd ed.) and World Christian Trends (William Carey Library). He is co-editor of the World Christian Database (Brill) and World Religion Database (Brill).

GINA A. ZURLO is Co-Director of the Center for the Study of Global Christianity and received her Ph.D. from Boston University in 2017. Her research focuses on the intersection between international religious demography, world Christianity, and the history of the social scientific study of religion. She is also a Visiting Research Fellow at Boston University’s Institute on Culture, Religion and World Affairs, where she is co-editor-in-chief of the Journal of Religion and Demography and works on the World Religion Database (Brill).

Now in use as an ORU textbook.
Consumer distribution pending with  follett icon

Barnes & Noble iconAmazon icon

International & translation rights available

Price:
$24.99
ISBN:
9781950971046 (ebook)
Published:
May 31, 2020
2020

© ORU Press, 2019–2021. All Rights Reserved