Want the Library to Acquire a Book?
Do you have a title you'd like the Library to purchase? Send these to Dr. Angela Sample, asample@oru.edu, or complete the ORU Library Acquisition Form.
Featured Resources
Encyclopedia of Educational Philosophy and Theory by Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9789812875884Publication Date: 2017
Special Education - A Reference Book for Policy and Curriculum Development by
A reference work that presents a chronology focusing on special education, its development, and the important issues that both positively and negatively affect the field. Updated through current events, this edition provides an excellent introduction to special education in all of its practical aspects-how it developed, its curriculum, assessment issues, the law, and advocacy.
Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781682179505Publication Date: 2018-09-01
New Additions
Research in Curriculum and Instruction by
This volume is the fourth, and last, volume in the series entitled Educating About Social Issues in the 20th and 21st Centuries: An Annotated Bibliography. Volumes I and Volume 2 focused on (1) the lives and work of notable scholars dedicated to addressing why and how social issues should become an integral component of the public school curriculum, and (2) various topics/approaches vis-a-vis addressing social issues in the classroom. Volume 3 addressed approaches to incorporating social issues into the extant curricula that were not addressed in the first two volumes. This volume, Volume Four, focuses solely on critical pedagogy: both the lives and work of major critical pedagogues and the different strains of critical pedagogy the latter pursued (e.g., critical theory in education, critical feminism in education, critical race theory)."
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781623966300Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Mixed Methods Applications in Action Research by
This first-of-its-kind book provides readers with the information they need to design and conduct a mixed methods action research (MMAR) study in a practical and pragmatic manner. Using a multidisciplinary focus, the author provides a scholarly and applied orientation to meet the varied epistemological and professional needs of scholar practitioners. The book is applicable to broad audiences with different levels of research skills, including students learning how to conduct research in practical settings, practitioners faced with the need to address pertinent issues in their professional practices, community leaders seeking to inform policy changes, and college faculty who teach research methods and conduct funded research in collaboration with practitioner-researchers and community stakeholders. A wide variety of pedagogical features make it appropriate for use as an instructional text aimed at developing skills in designing, conducting, implementing, and reporting an action research study that integrates mixed methods.
Call Number: LB1028.24 .I83 2015ISBN: 9781452220031Publication Date: 2014-10-15
Designing and Conducting Mixed Methods Research by
Combining the latest thinking in the field with practical, step-by-step guidance, the Third EditionofJohn W. Creswell and Vicki L. Plano Clark'sDesigning and Conducting Mixed Methods Researchnow includes seven mixed methods designs with accompanying journal articles illustrating each design. The authors walk readers through the entire research process and present updated examples from published mixed methods studies drawn from multiple disciplines. In addition, this new edition includes information about the dynamic and evolving nature of the field of mixed methods research, four additional methodological approaches, and coverage of new directions in mixed methods.
Call Number: H62 .C6962 2018ISBN: 9781483344379Publication Date: 2017-10-06
The Credential Society by
The Credential Society is a classic on the role of higher education in American society and an essential text for understanding the reproduction of inequality. Controversial at the time, Randall Collins's claim that the expansion of American education has not increased social mobility, but rather created a cycle of credential inflation, has proven remarkably prescient. Collins shows how credential inflation stymies mass education's promises of upward mobility. An unacknowledged spiral of the rising production of credentials and job requirements was brought about by the expansion of high school and then undergraduate education, with consequences including grade inflation, rising educational costs, and misleading job promises dangled by for-profit schools. Collins examines medicine, law, and engineering to show the ways in which credentialing closed these high-status professions to new arrivals. In an era marked by the devaluation of high school diplomas, outcry about the value of expensive undergraduate degrees, and the proliferation of new professional degrees like the MBA, The Credential Society has more than stood the test of time. In a new preface, Collins discusses recent developments, debunks claims that credentialization is driven by technological change, and points to alternative pathways for the future of education.
Call Number: LC189 .C55 2019ISBN: 9780231192347Publication Date: 2019-05-28
Intention by
Inspiring and exploring creativity opens pathways for students to use creative expression to demonstrate content knowledge, critical thinking, and the problem solving that will serve them best no matter what their futures may bring. Intention offers a collection of ideas, activities, and reasons for bringing creativity to every lesson.
Call Number: LB1062 .B87 2017ISBN: 9781945167324Publication Date: 2017-05-30
When Kids Rule the School by
How self-directed democratic schooling builds fulfilling lives and can lead the way back to a civilized society Education is ripe for democratic disruption. Students in most schools are denied fundamental social ideals such as personal freedom, public government, rule of law, and free enterprise. In our increasingly authoritarian post-truth world, self-directed democratic schooling offers a timely alternative: educating children in civilized society and showing that self-motivation outperforms coercion in its power to educate and fulfill. When Kids Rule the School is the first comprehensive guide to democratic schooling, where kids practice life in a self-governed society--empowered as voters, bound by laws, challenged by choice, supported by community, and driven by nature. Through heartwarming stories and hard-headed details, this book covers: Democratic schooling philosophy, theory, and practice School governance by students and staff together Student self-direction and day-to-day life Deep play, cognitive development, and critical thinking Why democratic schooling is morally right and effective Model bylaws and guidance for starting a democratic school. Created for educators, parents, and scholars, When Kids Rule the School will immerse you, heart and mind, in a promising new approach to education, and stretch your thinking about what school can be.
Call Number: LC71 .R58 2019ISBN: 9780865719040Publication Date: 2019-05-21
Steam Concepts for Infants and Toddlers by
STEAM is a development and extension of the original STEM efforts with the goal to support innate creativity and innovation that all children possess. This book serves as a platform for educators to observe and facilitate infants and toddlers natural curiosities around STEAM concepts. The text discusses tangible, rich STEAM learning environments for children from birth through age two and introduces where this learning can go next as children transition into the preschool years.
Call Number: LB1139.5.S35 B39 2018ISBN: 9781605545547Publication Date: 2018-08-07
Storymaking by
Learning® Magazine 2020 Teachers' Choice℠ Award for Preschool winner! 2019 Midwest Book Award Winner in the Education category! After studying the current research on literacy learning for young children, delving into the beliefs and schools of Reggio Emilia, and discovering the Maker Movement, the authors created StoryMaking. With great success, they implemented it in their diverse and large public school district. StoryMaking shares the processes, first steps, next steps, uses for materials, and lessons learned so teachers can implement their own versions in their classrooms. The book shares practical suggestions, student samples, photographs, anchor charts, and other forms of documentation.
Call Number: LB1139.5.R43 C65 2018ISBN: 9781605546032Publication Date: 2018-08-14
Inquiry-Based Early Learning Environments by
What does it mean to inquire? Grownups would say it means to question, to search for information, or to find out about a topic of interest. For children in an early childhood classroom, the definition is no different. From the time of their birth, children want to know how the world works and actively seek out information. How educators respond to their questions is what this book is all about. Inquiry-Based Early Learning Environments takes an in-depth look at children's inquiry. What does inquiry look like in early childhood settings? How does the environment affect children's inquiries and teachers' thought processes? Inquiry-Based Early Learning Environments examines inquiry in all its facets, including environments that support relationships, that create a culture of risk-taking in our thinking, that support teachers as well as children, that include families, that use documentation as a way of thinking about our work, and of course, the physical environment and all the objects and spaces within it. Throughout, stories about environments and approaches to inquiry from around the world are included as examples.
Call Number: LB1139.23 .S727 2019ISBN: 9781605545813Publication Date: 2018-09-18
Hot Skills by
Winner of Learning magazine 2019 Teachers' Choice Award for the Classroom. Young learners are capable of a great deal of higher-order thinking yet too many teaching and learning activities require students to use only lower-order thinking. HOT Skills breaks down theory into practice so you won't miss an opportunity to help young learners develop logical, critical, and creative thinking skills. Dr. Saifer provides numerous strategies for infusing play-based activities and interactions that promote higher-order thinking across all content areas and throughout the day. Just as establishing good nutritionhabits early sets the foundation for a healthier life, developing basic-level HOT skills sets the foundation for a more productive and purposeful life.
Call Number: LB1590.3 .S245 2018ISBN: 9781605545561Publication Date: 2018-06-05
On Christian Teaching by
The latest from an internationally recognised thinker at the intersection of faith and pedagogy. Christian teachers have long been thinking about whatcontentto teach, but little scholarship has been devoted to how faith forms the actualprocessof teaching. Is there a way to go beyond Christian perspectives on the subject matter and think about the teachingitselfas Christian? In this book David Smith argues that faith has a critical role in shaping pedagogy and the learn-ing experience. Smith's scholarly exploration of education combines both theory and practice. With clever and sometimes funny examples, he shows how teachers of every subject and age group can be attentive to how their students are experiencing and interpreting learning. From desk arrangement to discussion questions, there are myriad opportunities to design classes that are deeply rooted in Christian practices.On Christian Teachingprovides fresh insight into Christian education that expresses faith and community.
Call Number: BV4596.T43 S64 2018ISBN: 9780802873606Publication Date: 2018-05-01
OPTE Study Guide 6-12 by
OPTE Study Guide 6-12: Test Prep and Practice Test Questions for the Oklahoma Professional Teaching Examin ation 076 will provide you with a detailed overview of the OPTE 6-12 Exam, so you know exactly what to expect on test day. We'll take you through all the concepts covered on the test and give you the opportunity to test your knowledge with practice questions. Even if it's been a while since you last took a major test, don't worry; we'll make sure you're more than ready Cirrus Test Prep's OPTE Study Guide 6-12: Test Prep and Practice Test Questions for the Oklahoma Professional Teaching Examin ation 076 includes: A comprehensive REVIEW of: Students as Learners Student Development and the Learning Process Students as Diverse Learners Student Motivation and Learning Environment Terms The Instructional Process Planning Instruction Instructional Strategies Questioning Techniques Communication Techniques Terms Assessment Assessment and Evaluation Strategies National, State, and District Standardized Assessments Terms Professional Development, Leadership, and Community Professional Development Practices and Resources Implications of Research, Views, Ideas, and Debates Reflective Practices The Teacher's Role in the Community The Teacher as Collaborator Implications of Legislation and Court Decisions Terms ... As well as TWO FULL OPTE Study Guide 6-12: Test Prep and Practice Test Questions for the Oklahoma Professional Teaching Examin ation 076 practice tests. About Cirrus Test Prep Developed by experienced current and former educators, Cirrus Test Prep's study materials help future educators gain the skills and knowledge needed to successfully pass their state-level teacher certification exams and enter the classroom. Each Cirrus Test Prep study guide includes: a detailed summary of the test's format, content, and scoring; an overview of the content knowledge required to pass the exam; worked-through sample questions with answers and explanations; full-length practice tests including answer explanations; and unique test-taking strategies with highlighted key concepts. Cirrus Test Prep's study materials ensure that new educators feel prepared on test day and beyond.
Call Number: LINDBERG RESERVEISBN: 9781635300222Publication Date: 2016-08-11
OPTE Study Guide PK-8 by
OPTE Study Guide PK-8: Test Prep and Practice Test Questions for the Oklahoma Professional Teaching Examin ation 075 will provide you with a detailed overview of the OPTE PK-8 Exam, so you know exactly what to expect on test day. We'll take you through all the concepts covered on the test and give you the opportunity to test your knowledge with practice questions. Even if it's been a while since you last took a major test, don't worry; we'll make sure you're more than ready Cirrus Test Prep's OPTE Study Guide PK-8: Test Prep and Practice Test Questions for the Oklahoma Professional Teaching Examin ation 075 includes: A comprehensive REVIEW of: Students as Learners Student Development and the Learning Process Students as Diverse Learners Student Motivation and Learning Environment Terms The Instructional Process Planning Instruction Instructional Strategies Questioning Techniques Communication Techniques Terms Assessment Assessment and Evaluation Strategies National, State, and District Standardized Assessments Terms Professional Development, Leadership, and Community Professional Development Practices and Resources Implications of Research, Views, Ideas, and Debates Reflective Practices The Teacher's Role in the Community The Teacher as Collaborator Implications of Legislation and Court Decisions Terms ... As well as TWO FULL OPTE Study Guide PK-8: Test Prep and Practice Test Questions for the Oklahoma Professional Teaching Examin ation 075 practice tests. About Cirrus Test Prep Developed by experienced current and former educators, Cirrus Test Prep's study materials help future educators gain the skills and knowledge needed to successfully pass their state-level teacher certification exams and enter the classroom. Each Cirrus Test Prep study guide includes: a detailed summary of the test's format, content, and scoring; an overview of the content knowledge required to pass the exam; worked-through sample questions with answers and explanations; full-length practice tests including answer explanations; and unique test-taking strategies with highlighted key concepts. Cirrus Test Prep's study materials ensure that new educators feel prepared on test day and beyond.
Call Number: LINDBERG RESERVEISBN: 9781635300215Publication Date: 2016-08-11
The Wrong Direction for Today's Schools by
The Wrong Direction for Today's Schools: The Impact of Common Core on American Education is an in-depth analysis of the newest national American education fad, intended to replace the 2002 incarnation of the ESEA, No Child Left Behind. Zarra delves into the "seeds" that produced the Common Core Standards, as well as the groups involved in the political and corporate pressure to completely revamp America's K-16 education system. The author lays out a strong case for political motives involving the advancement for nationalized education, such as those found in select European and Asian nations. Zarra also follows the funding and provides solid documentation and analysis of international and national assessments, and how the funding and assessments proved pivotal in the overhaul of American education. After an analysis of the underpinnings of the Common Core Standards, Zarra critiques the myths and facts of the Common Core, and balances these with the emerging realities impacting average Americans and their families. Zarra's book is a must-read and will prove to be extremely useful to all who are concerned about public, private, and homeschool education in America.
Call Number: LB3060.83 .Z37 2015ISBN: 9781475814279Publication Date: 2015-07-27
The Research Journey: introduction to inquiry by
Designed to foster "inquiry-mindedness," this book prepares graduate students to develop a conceptual framework and conduct inquiry projects that are linked to ongoing conversations in a field. The authors examine different ways of knowing and show how to identify a research question; build arguments and support them with evidence; make informed design decisions; engage in reflective, ethical practices; and produce a written proposal or report. Each chapter opens with a set of critical questions, followed by a dialogue among five fictional graduate students exploring questions and concerns about their own inquiry projects; these issues are revisited throughout the chapter. Other useful features include end-of-chapter learning activities for individual or group use. Useful pedagogical features include: *Framing questions for exploration and reflection. *Chapter-opening dialogues that bring in perspectives from multiple disciplines. *Example boxes with detailed cases and questions for the reader. *End-of-chapter activities and experiential exercises that guide readers to develop their own inquiry projects. *Suggestions for further reading.
Call Number: LB2369 .R35 2012ISBN: 9781462505128Publication Date: 2012-03-29
