Selected Books
Advanced Energetic Materials
by Advanced energetic materials "explosive fill and propellants "are a critical technology for national security. While several new promising concepts and formulations have emerged in recent years, the Department of Defense is concerned about the nation (TM)s ability to maintain and improve the knowledge base in this area. To assist in addressing these concerns, two offices within DOD asked the NRC to investigate and assess the scope and health of the U.S. R&D efforts in energetic materials. This report provides that assessment. It presents several findings about the current R&D effort and recommendations aimed at improving U.S. capabilities in developing new energetic materials technology. This study reviewed U.S. research and development in advanced energetics being conducted by DoD, the DoE national laboratories, industries, and academia, from a list provided by the sponsors. It also: (a) reviewed papers and technology assessments of non-U.S. work in advanced energetics, assessed important parameters, such as validity, viability, and the likelihood that each of these materials can be produced in quantity; (b) identified barriers to scale-up and production, and suggested technical approaches for addressing potential problems; and (c) suggested specific opportunities, strategies, and priorities for government sponsorship of technologies and manufacturing process development.Call Number: Ebook Central e-book (Unlimited users)ISBN: 0309091608Publication Date: 2004-03-01
Agendas for Twenty-First Century Engineers
by This book is for engineers of different disciplines, such as chemical, electrical, petroleum, mechanical and civil engineering, and will appeal both to the experienced professional engineer and to undergraduate or postgraduate engineering students. This singular volume presents selected articles on themes that arise at the interface between engineering and the different societies in which it is practised. Themes of current interest include ethics, gender balance, education, workplace preparation, communication, competencies, and the future of engineering. Original and thought-provoking articles on these themes are presented by authors who have achieved international recognition for their work in engineering research, practice and education, and who work in different capacities in industry or higher education around the world. Recognizing the pluralism that is characteristic of such themes, each chapter presents two articles reflecting distinct perspectives and contexts. This volume therefore provides ideal opportunities for readers who wish to develop their critical thinking capacities by contrasting and evaluating the different viewpoints. It also provides readers with writing that complements the technical discourse predominant in engineering workplaces and institutes. This book, therefore, while promoting professional literacy and thinking skills development, concurrently serves to cultivate the well-rounded and forward-looking engineers required by the international community to meet the multifaceted challenges of 21st century engineering.Call Number: Ebook Central e-book (Unlimited users)ISBN: 1443847763Publication Date: 2013-06-01
Modeling the Effect of Damage in Composite Structures
by Comprehensively covers new and existing methods for the design and analysis of composites structures with damage present Provides efficient and accurate approaches for analysing structures with holes and impact damage Introduces a new methodology for fatigue analysis of composites Provides design guidelines, and step by step descriptions of how to apply the methods, along with evaluation of their accuracy and applicability Includes problems and exercises Accompanied by a website hosting lecture slides and solutionsCall Number: Ebook Central e-book Unlimited uersISBN: 9781119013235Publication Date: 2015
The Electrical Engineering Handbook
by The Electrical Engineer's Handbook is an invaluable reference source for all practicing electrical engineers and students. Encompassing 79 chapters, this book is intended to enlighten and refresh knowledge of the practicing engineer or to help educate engineering students. This text will most likely be the engineer's first choice in looking for a solution; extensive, complete references to other sources are provided throughout. No other book has the breadth and depth of coverage available here. This is a must-have for all practitioners and students! The Electrical Engineer's Handbook provides the most up-to-date information in: Circuits and Networks, Electric Power Systems, Electronics, Computer-Aided Design and Optimization, VLSI Systems, Signal Processing, Digital Systems and Computer Engineering, Digital Communication and Communication Networks, Electromagnetics and Control and Systems. About the Editor-in-Chief... Wai-Kai Chen is Professor and Head Emeritus of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the University of Illinois at Chicago. He has extensive experience in education and industry and is very active professionally in the fields of circuits and systems. He was Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems, Series I and II, President of the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society and is the Founding Editor and Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Circuits, Systems and Computers. He is the recipient of the Golden Jubilee Medal, the Education Award, and the Meritorious Service Award from the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society, and the Third Millennium Medal from the IEEE. Professor Chen is a fellow of the IEEE and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.Call Number: Ebook Central e-book Unlimited UsersISBN: 0121709604Publication Date: 2004-11-16
Databases and more
- Physical Sciences Journal Collection (ScienceDirect) This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
Professional Organizations:
- IEEE world's largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity. It is a professional organization supporting engineering, computer science, and technology information around the globe.
Style Guide and Citing Sources
- Citing Sources: IEEE ORU Library Guide on citing sources
Patents & Standards
- Google Advanced Patent Search Use Google's custom search to find patents.
- U.S. Patents and Patent Applications -- Full-Text Images (1790 to date) Search the United States Patent and Trademark Office site.
- European Patent Office -- espacenet.com The EPO provides users with high-quality online patent data from more than 80 different countries. Monitors the three main patent data streams (bibliographic, facsimile images and full text) at key stages in their life cycles to ensure that they are complete, consistent, accurate and up to date.
- Free Patents Online Find patents, and articles, blogs, and more about patents.
Print Reference Sources
CRC Handbook of Engineering Tables
by The most important tables from every engineering discipline in one volume collected from the best, most authoritative references in the business--it's now more than wishful thinking. The CRC Handbook of Engineering Tables makes it a reality. The most frequently consulted tables and figures from CRC's acclaimed engineering handbooks are gathered together to provide a one-stop resource for the data that engineers around the world rely upon. Organized by engineering specialty and extensively indexed, this handbook is designed for fast, convenient access and is one reference you'll want to keep close at hand throughout your career.Call Number: TA151 .C76 2004 (REF)ISBN: 0849315875Publication Date: 2004
Dictionary of Engineering
by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Derived from the world-renownedMcGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, Sixth Edition,[roman] this vital reference offers a wealth of essential information in a portable, convenient, quick-find format. Whether you're a professional, a student, a writer, or a general reader with an interest in science, there is no better or more authoritative way to stay up-to-speed with the current language of the various branches of engineering or gain an understanding of their key ideas and concepts. Written in clear, simple language understandable to the general reader, yet in-depth enough for scientists, educators, and advanced students, The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering, Second Edition: * Has been extensively revised, with 17,500 entries encompassing the language of engineering * Includes synonyms, acronyms, and abbreviations * Provides pronunciations for all terms * Covers such topics as building construction, chemical engineering, civil engineering, control systems, design engineering, engineering acoustics, industrial engineering, information technology and computing, mechanical engineering, systems engineering, telecommunications, and thermodynamics * Includes an appendix containing tables of useful data and information * Is based on the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms - for more than a quarter-of-a-century THE standard international reference Carefully reviewed for clarity, completeness, and accuracy, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering, Second Edition, offers a standard of excellence unmatched by any similar publication.Call Number: TA9 .M35 2003 (REF)ISBN: 0071410503Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology
byCall Number: Q123 .E497 1987 (REF)ISBN: 0122269012Publication Date: 1987
Eshbach's Handbook of Engineering Fundamentals
by The standard reference work in engineering for over fifty years. Now updated and revised Eshbach's Handbook of Engineering Fundamentals Fourth Edition The Fourth Edition of Eshbach's Handbook of Engineering Fundamentals provides comprehensive coverage of major engineering subdivisions, including electronics, controls, fluids, and more, with special emphasis on mechanical engineering. Chapters have been rewritten and revised to combine solid coverage of engineering fundamentals with up-to-date developments in the field since the publication of the previous edition. The Handbook reflects the computer's growing role in engineering design, practice, and research: * provides new material on electromagnetics, circuit theory, and electronic applications * includes new material on computer electronics with orientation toward nonelectrical engineers * provides expanded coverage of computers and controls * treats the field of aerospace engineering with separate chapters on aeronautics and astronauts Revisions acknowledge the universal use of the hand-held calculator: * omits traditional mathematical tables such as sines, cosines * includes up-to-date material on units, standards, and measurements The book also treats the increased importance of control technology with an expanded chapter on the theory and application of control methodology. Eshbach's Handbook of Engineering Fundamentals provides engineers and students with a single source guide to engineering fundamentals and cutting edge engineering technology.Call Number: TA151 .E8 1990 (REF)ISBN: 0471890847Publication Date: 1990
