Global and International Data and Statistics
- Index of Economic Freedom
"The Index is an excellent objective tool for analyzing 186 economies throughout the world and each country page is a resource for in-depth analysis of a country’s political and economic developments. The 12 economic freedoms and accompanying historical data also provide a comprehensive set of principles and facts for those who wish to understand the fundamentals of economic growth and prosperity." (from the web site) - World Bank World Development Indicators
the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates. (from web site) - Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
The OECD is at the heart of international co-operation. Our Member countries work with other countries, organisations and stakeholders worldwide to address the pressing policy challenges of our time. - globalEDGE Global Insights
Global Insights provides international business and trade information on over 200 countries, the 50 U.S. states, as well as nearly two dozen industry sectors, and many of the world’s trade blocs. - eurostat
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its mission is to provide high quality statistics for Europe.
Country Profiles in Library Databases
opens new window
AtoZ World Business provides comprehensive business guides covering business culture, business formation, investment climate, import process, export process, media outlets, advertising and marketing, language, currency, seaports, taxation, security, and much more.
opens new window
Global Road Warrior™ provides comprehensive business guides covering business culture, business formation, investment climate, import process, export process, media outlets, advertising and marketing, language, currency, seaports, taxation, security, and much more.
opens new window
Business Source Complete Country Profiles include Marketline Country Profiles with key information and PESTLE analysis of countries, country risk reports from Business Monitor International, and country updates from IHS Markit, CountryWatch and other publishers.
opens new window
The Country Insight tab provides access to two country reports:
Mergent Country Profiles describe the economy, industry, security trade information for the country, as well as information on the geography, history, demographics, culture, government, communication, and more.
DnB Country Risk Profiles provide country and regional supply & market outlooks, economic outlook, the regulatory environment, political/security risk, an overview of the economy, politics, and commercial culture.
Cultural Information
- Hofstede Insights Country Comparison
Explore differences in culture across countries according to Hofstede's Cultural Dimensions Theory. This tool compares countries based on six cultural dimensions: Power distance, Individualism, Masculinity, Uncertainty avoidance, Long term orientation, and Indulgence. - Top 10 Global Consumer Trends 2022
Radical lifestyle shifts motivated consumers to make intentional, mindful and ambitious decisions in 2021. Now, consumers are putting their plans into motion, taking chances and seizing the moment.
Country Profiles on the Web
- International Trade Commission Country Commecial Guides
Market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs for over 125 countries prepared by trade and industry experts at U.S. embassies worldwide. - Investment Climate Statements - U.S. Department of State
The U.S. Department of State’s Investment Climate Statements provide country-specific information on the business climates of more than 170 countries and economies. They are prepared by economic officers stationed in embassies and posts around the world and analyze a variety of economies that are or could be markets for U.S. businesses of all sizes. - IMF Country Information
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 189 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world. - CIA World Factbook"The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities." (from the web site)
- BBC Country Profiles
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. Also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
International Trade: Import/Export Data
- USA Trade OnlineProvided by the U.S. Census Bureau, USA Trade® Online is a dynamic data tool that gives users access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data. With multiple data sets and capabilities, USA Trade® Online can assist different types of customers from a wide range of industries and fields.
This powerful software allows users to create customized reports and colorful charts detailing international trade data at different levels. All data are updated each month with the release of the latest U.S. International Trade in Goods and Services Report.
- International Trade Administration Research CenterDiscover the world of trade data and analysis from ITA's team of trade specialists and partners around the world. Explore data by industry, country or subject.
- World Trade Organization Trade and Tariff DataThe WTO provides quantitative information in relation to economic and trade policy issues. Its data-bases and publications provide access to data on trade flows, tariffs, non-tariff measures (NTMs) and trade in value added.
A central and user-friendly data portal to access a wide range of WTO statistical indicators on international trade, tariffs, non-tariff measures and other indicators.