Biographical books and book entries can be found using the ORU Library Catalog and reference or ebook databases.
Ebook titles are included in the library catalog with links to the ebook, but you may prefer to search an ebook database instead of using the library catalog. Two key academic ebook databases are listed below.
Search the Library Catalog
opens new window Library Catalog
In the library catalog, key in your person's name and/or biography. Click Go to view the list of results.
- In the Advanced Keyword Search, select Subject as the field to search and key in biography. On the next line, key in the person's name.
- Browse Subjects - Select the Subject field to search, then key in biography. View opens new window Biography subject heading.
FeaturedEbooks
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Collection (EBSCO) database
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Full-text ebooks in all disciplines. Free downloads. Restricts full text viewing to 1-5 simultaneous readers for some ebooks. See opens new windowEBSCO eBooks User Guide
Black Lives: Essays in African American Biography
by The chapters in this text comprise biographical sketches of previously unknown (or lesser known) African-Americans, among them General Daniel Chappie James Jr; William Levi Dawson (composer); Vinnette Carroll (director and playwright); and Elizabeth Ross Haynes (political speaker and activist).Publication Date: 2015-05-20
The Concise Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling
by The Concise Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling is a condensed version of the Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling, first published in 1990, with new and updated articles. This book provides classic and key articles that explain current theories, trends, and practices in the field of Pastoral Care and Counseling. Contents include: Definitions; History and Biography; Issues of Power and Difference; Interfaith Issues and Methods; Clinical Method; and Pastoral Theological Method.ISBN: 9781426702310Publication Date: 2010-10-01
Dictionary of Scientists
by From Archimedes and Copernicus to Stephen Hawking and Stephen Jay Gould, this is the most authoritative and up-to-date biography dictionary of scientists currently available.compact yet comprehensive, it will be invaluable reference for scientists, students, and anyone with a generalinterest in science.Over 1,300 entries, spanning over 2,500 yearsInternational range covers all areas of science, from physics and astronomy to medicine and ecology, including key figures in the fields of mathematics and technologyClear explanations of the science itself and its historical significance. Includes all Nobel Laureates in physics, chemistry, physiology, and medicineComprehensive index of topics, and extensive network of cross-references to related entriesPublication Date: 1999-06-24The Mind of Pope Francis
by A commonly held impression is that Pope Francis is a compassionate shepherd and determined leader but that he lacks the intellectual depth of his recent predecessors. Massimo Borghesi's The Mind of Pope Francis: Jorge Mario Bergoglio's Intellectual Journeydismantles that image. Borghesi recounts and analyzes, for the first time, Bergoglio's intellectual formation, exploring the philosophical, theological, and spiritual principles that support the profound vision at the heart of this pope's teaching and ministry. Central to that vision is the church as a coincidentia oppositorum, holding together what might seem to be opposing and irreconcilable realities. Among his guiding lights have been the Jesuit saints, Ignatius and Peter Faber; philosophers Gaston Fessard, Romano Guardini, and Alberto Methol Ferrer; and theologians Henri de Lubac and Hans Urs von Balthas ar. Recognizing how these various strands have come together to shape the mind and heart of Jorge Mario Bergoglio offers essential insights into who he is and the way he is leading the church. Notably, this groundbreaking book is informed by four interviews provided to the author, via audio recordings, by the pope himself on his own intellectual formation, major portions of which are published here for the first time.Publication Date: 2018-10-15Scientists, Mathematicians, and Inventors
byISBN: 9780585067377Publication Date: 1999-01-01Limited to 1 user.
Ebook Central database
opens new windowEbook Central
Includes more than 150,000 academic ebooks from scholarly and professional publishers, along with hundreds of encyclopedias and dictionaries. Create a user bookshelf to store and annotate your selected books. View opens new windowProQuest Ebook Central Bookshelf video (YouTube, 2:28 mins.)
Abraham Lincoln and Robert Burns
by Today the images of Robert Burns and Abraham Lincoln are recognized worldwide, yet few are aware of the connection between the two. In Abraham Lincoln and Robert Burns: Connected Lives and Legends, author Ferenc Morton Szasz reveals how famed Scots poet Robert Burns--and Scotland in general--influenced the life and thought of one of the most beloved and important U.S. presidents and how the legends of the two men became intertwined after their deaths. This is the first extensive work to link the influence, philosophy, and artistry of these two larger-than-life figures. Lacking a major national poet of their own in the early nineteenth century, Americans in the fledgling frontier country ardently adopted the poignant verses and songs of Scotland's Robert Burns. Lincoln, too, was fascinated by Scotland's favorite son and enthusiastically quoted the Scottish bard from his teenage years to the end of his life. Szasz explores the ways in which Burns's portrayal of the foibles of human nature, his scorn for religious hypocrisy, his plea for nonjudgmental tolerance, and his commitment to social equality helped shape Lincoln's own philosophy of life. The volume also traces how Burns's lyrics helped Lincoln develop his own powerful sense of oratorical rhythm, from his casual anecdotal stories to his major state addresses. Abraham Lincoln and Robert Burns connects the poor-farm-boy upbringings, the quasi-deistic religious views, the shared senses of destiny, the extraordinary gifts for words, and the quests for social equality of two respected and beloved world figures. This book is enhanced by twelve illustrations and two appendixes, which include Burns poems Lincoln particularly admired and Lincoln writings especially admired in Scotland.Publication Date: 2008-09-01
Analyst of the Imagination
by Charles Rycroft's lucid jargon-free approach to psychoanalysis inspired a whole generation. Taking inspiration from many fields outside psychoanalysis, including history, literature, linguistics and ethology, he established the important link between mental health and the imagin ation, creating a broader perspective and encouraging free thinking. This solitary and creative "rebel" rarely received the recognition he deserved, but this collection of articles and papers by people who felt the benefit of his ever-curious, expanding wealth of knowledge, goes some way to acknowledging the debt owed to him, and introducing a new generation to this innovative analyst.Publication Date: 2004-05-11
Lives in Play:Autobiography and Biography on the Feminist Stage
by Lives in Play explores the centrality of life narratives to women's drama and performance from the 1970s to the present moment. In the early days of second-wave feminism, the slogan was "The personal is the political." These autobiographical and biographical "true stories" have the political impact of the real and have also helped a range of feminists tease out the more complicated aspects of gender, sex, and sexuality in a Western culture that now imagines itself to be "postfeminist." The book covers a broad range of texts and performances, from performance artists like Karen Finley, Holly Hughes, and Bobby Baker to playwrights like Suzan-Lori Parks, Maria Irene Fornes, and Sarah Kane. The book examines biography and autobiography together to link their narrative tactics and theatrical approaches and show the persistent and important uses of life writing strategies for theater artists committed to advancing women's rights and remaking women's representations. Lives in Play argues that these writers and artists have not only responded to the vibrant conversations in feminist theory but also have anticipated and advanced these ideas, theorizing gender onstage for specific ends. Ryan Claycomb demonstrates how these performances work through tensions between performative identity and the essentialized body, between the truth value of life stories and the constructed nature of gender and narrative alike, and between writing and performing as modes of feminist representation. The book will appeal to scholars in performance studies, women's studies, and literature, including those in the growing field of auto/biography studies.Publication Date: 2012-08-08
Sample Reference Book Titles
General biographical resources are shelved in the CT call number section.
Subject and specialized sources are shelved among related topical works. For example, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians is shelved in the ML, or music section. While generally defining terms and concepts, some sources may give biographical information for persons important in their particular field.
- Baker Encyclopedia of Psychology & Counseling, BF31.B25 LRC-R
- Biographical Dictionary of Psychology, BF109. A1B56 LRC-R
- The Book of Women's Firsts: Breakthrough Achievements... , CT3260.R428 LRC-R
- The Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia, CT103. C4
- The Cambridge Dictionary of American Biography, CT213. C36 LRC-R
- Dictionary of Pastoral Care & Counseling, BV4011.D43 LRC-R
- Dictionary of Pentecostal and Charismatic Movements, BR1644.D53 LRC-R
Many significant religious leaders are described in this book. - opens new windowEncyclopedia Judaica, also available in print, DS102.8.E496 LRC-R
- International Who's Who, CT120. I5 LRC-R
Brief resumes of prominent people throughout the world. - McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Biography, CT103. M27 LRC-R
One to two page descriptions of influential figures from the history of the world. A short bibliography ends each article. - opens new window Oral Roberts: An American Life, ebook
- opens new windowOxford Dictionary of Saints, ebook
- opens new windowScientists, Mathematicians, and Inventors...People Who Changed the World, ebook
- Who's Who in America, E663.W56 LRC-R
Brief resumes of prominent people in the U.S. - Who's Who…An Annual Biographical Dictionary, DA28.W6 LRC-R
Brief resumes of prominent people in Great Britain.