Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This research guide provides subject and discipline-related databases, resource links, search strategies, and research tips for locating biographical information.
To locate biographical resources, use a variety of searches, formats and databases.
- Search the library catalog, ebook databases and reference databases.
- Use strategic search expressions and thesauri or indexes in subject and multidisciplinary databases.
- Search biographical publications and websites.
American Political Leaders by Praise for the previous edition:... Accessible...this book is an excellent addition to collections serving general readers, high schools, and undergraduates.--American Reference Books AnnualThis readable volume is recommended for high-school, public, and undergraduate libraries...--Booklist...[an] outstanding reference tool...Biographical dictionaries abound, in political science as in other fields...[but] Wilson's work is more accessible, benefitting from his straightforward approach and simpler organization...Highly recommended.--ChoiceRecommended.--Library Media Connection... An authoritative and readable guide...serves as a helpful resource for high school, college, and public libraries...--Christian Library JournalAmerican Political Leaders, Second Edition contains more than 250 biographical profiles of men and women in the United States who have demonstrated their political leadership primarily by being elected, nomin ated, or appointed to significant political offices in the United States or by having attained some special prominence associated with political leadership. This reference work provides students and general readers with a concise, readable guide to present and past leaders in U.S. politics. Included in this book are presidents, vice presidents, major party candidates for president, significant third-party candidates, important Supreme Court justices, Speakers of the U.S. House of Representatives, senators, representatives, cabinet officers, significant agency heads, and diplomats. Since much of U.S. political leadership involves the representation of successive waves of new groups within the U.S. political system, special care has been taken to include the contributions of women, Native Americans, African Americans, Hispanic Americans, Asian Americans, and Americans who represented earlier waves of immigrants to the United States.Profiles include:John Adams: president, vice president, diplomat, Revolutionary leader, authorMadeleine Korbell Albright: secretary of state, ambassador to the United NationsAaron Burr: vice president, senatorHenry Cisneros: secretary of housing and urban developmentJefferson Davis: secretary of war, senator, representative, president of the Confederate States of AmericaJames A. Farley: postmaster general, national party chairmanGeraldine Ferraro: candidate for vice president, representative, authorDaniel Ken Inouye: senatorHenry Cabot Lodge, Jr.: candidate for vice president, diplomat, senator, authorSandra Day O'Connor: associate justice of the Supreme CourtAdam Clayton Powell: representative.
Publication Date: 2017-09-01
"In 1950 the United Feature Syndicate of New York proposed publication of a new comic strip, which Schulz wished to call '"Li'l Folks' but which was named 'Peanuts' by the company." (Encyclopedia of World Biography)
opens new windowView entry for Charles M. Schulz in Gale in Context: Biography.