 Snip of 1 Corinthians 12:24-13:11 in Vaticanus |
 Snip of the Gospel of John, a Bodmer Papyrus |
Biblical Manuscripts on the Web
- opens new windowCodex Sinaiticus
- mss written on parchment in the middle of the fourth century and now held in the British library
- believed to have been transcribed by three scribes in Caesarea
- discovered by Constantinvon Tischendorf at the monastery of St. Catherine at Mt. Sinai in 1844 and 1859
- Includes the Septuagint (the Jewish translation of the Old Testament into Greek) and the New Testament in koine
- also includes 2 Esdras, Tobit, Judith, 1 & 4 Maccabees, Wisdom, Sirach, the Epistle of Barnabas, and 'The Shepherd' of Hermas
- opens new windowCodex Vaticanus
- The Vatican digitized version of opens new windowVaticanus
- a fourth-century, largely majuscule mss with the section after Hebrews 9:13 written in miniscule
- originally contained the entire Bible in Greek
- missing most of Genesis, several psalms (106/107-138/139), the end of Hebrews beginning with 9.14, the pastoral epistles, Philemon, and the book of Revelation.
- Codex Alexandrinus
- located the British Museum, Royal MS 1 D V–VIII; siglum A or 02
- an early fifth-century ss. originally containing the entire Bible
- missing Matthew 1:1–25:6, John 6.50–8.22 and 2 Corinthians 4.13–12.6.
- another opens new windowAlexandrinus site
- Codex Ephraemi Rescriptus
- opens new windowBodmer Papyri
- most are located in the Bodmer Library in Cologny, Switzerland
- collection includes a copy of the Gospel of John dated from the late second or very early third century
- opens new windowChester Beatty Biblical Papyri
- located in Dublin, Ireland
- Qumran Dead Sea Scrolls (opens new windowabout)
To find other New Testament mss, try the Center for the Study of New Testament Manuscripts opens new windowsearch box.
For an overview of biblical texts, see "opens new windowBible (Texts)" by P.W. Skehan andJ. M. Reese.
For an introduction to the Dead Sea scrolls, see the Library of Congress opens new windowScrolls from the Dead Sea exhibition home.
Dead Sea Scrolls
Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls by
This landmark reference work is the first of its kind. Featuring 450 articles by an international community of scholars it is the definitive account of what we know about the Dead Sea Scrolls--their history, relevance, meaning, and the controversies that surround them. Discovered in 1947 by a Bedouin shepherd, the collection of 800 manuscripts is older than any other collection of manuscripts of the Hebrew Scriptures by almost one thousand years. What do the scrolls tell us about the people who wrote them? What do they tell us about early Christianity andSecond Temple Judaism? How do they confirm or contradict what we thought we knew about the Bible? With contributions from 100 distinguished scholars representing diverse traditions and fields of learning, this volume offers the most comprehensive critical synthesis of current knowledge about the Dead Sea Scrolls--and their historical, archaeological, linguistic, and religious contexts.Written in non-technical language this reference work provides authoritative answers and information for all readers.
Call Number: BM487 .E53 2000 V.1-2 Reference
The Dead Sea Scrolls Study Edition by
This study edition is a practical reference tool to facilitate access to the Qumran collection of the Dead Sea Scrolls. It contains newly edited Hebrew and Aramaic transcriptions and English translations of the non-biblical scrolls on facing pages, arranged by serial number from Cave 1 to Cave 11. In addition, it offers a summary of the contents of the biblical scrolls from Qumran. Each Q-number is provided with a heading which contains the essential information on the text and selected bibliographical references. Although unidentified and unclassified fragments have been omitted, and no snippets of manuscripts have been reproduced, this edition aims to be complete for the non-biblical scrolls. The work is primarily intended for classroom use and for use by specia lists from other disciplines who need a reliable compendium to all the materials found. It will also be useful as a companion for those studying the original manuscripts using the microfiche or CD-ROM editions of the scrolls. A considerable part of the materials was already accessible in translation in The Dead Sea Scrolls Translated (Wilfred G.E. Watson, Translator). This translation has served as the base-text of the translations presented in this edition, but has been thoroughly checked and corrected by the authors.
Call Number: Ebook CentralPublication Date: 2000
The Dead Sea Scrolls Translated by
One of the world's foremost experts on the Dead Sea Scrolls and the Qumran community that produced them provides an authoritative new English translation of the two hundred longest and most important nonbiblical Dead Sea Scrolls found at Qumran, along with an introduction to the history of the discovery and publication of each manuscript and the background necessary for placing each manuscript in its actual historical context.
Call Number: BM487 .A3 1996
