Biblical Research Subject Guide: Contents
This subject research guide provides subject and discipline-related resource links, search strategies, and research tips to support course assignments and student success.
- The Bible in Ancient Languages
- Guide Contents
- Bible in Greek, Hebrew & Latin
- Interlinears
- Translations & Paraphrases
- Bible Paraphrases
- English Translations -- Versions
- Which Version? -- How to Choose
- Online Versions
- Bibliographies & Introductions
- Bibliographies of Old & New Testament Commentaries & Critical Tools
- Bibliographies of General Bible Study Tools, Commentaries & Reference Works
- Bible Introductions
- Background & Geography
- Chronology
- Bible Web Sites
- Background
- Maps
- Harmonies & Concordances
- Harmonies, Parallels & Synopses
- Concordances
- Concordances on the Web
- Companions & Handbooks
- Bible
- Old Testament
- New Testament
- Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Online Version of the NIDNTTE
- Dictionaries
- Encyclopedias
- Lexica & Word Studies
- Hebrew & Aramaic Dictionaries
- Greek Dictionaries
- Word Studies
- Criticism & Interpretation
- Critical Methods -- General & Specific
- Selected Books on Bible Criticism & Interpretation
- Dictionaries of Interpretation & Hermeneutics
- Exegesis
- Hermeneutics & Interpretation
- Spirit Hermeneutics
- Dictionaries of Hermeneutics & Interpretation
- Early Church & Medieval Bible Interpretation
- Textual Criticism
- Codices & Papyri
- Biblical Manuscripts on the Web
- Dead Sea Scrolls
- Biblical Theology
- Biblical Theology
- Old Testament Theology
- New Testament Theology
- Biblical Themes
- Manuals/Tutorials
- Style Manuals
- Online Style Guides
- Paper Style Guides
- ORU Theology Style Manual
- Citation Tools
- ATLA Religion Database Tutorials
- Formatting Graduate Theology Papers
- Style Manuals
- Research Tools
The Bible in Greek, Hebrew & Latin
The Greek New Testament, 5th ed. by Call Number: BS1965 2014 Ref
The JPS Hebrew-English Tanakh by
Features the oldest-known complete Hebrew version of the Holy Scriptures, side by side with JPS's renowned English translation. Its well-designed format allows for ease of reading and features clear type, an engaging and efficient two-column format that enables readers to move quickly from one language to another, and an organization that contemporary readers will find familiar. The Hebrew text of this TANAKH is based on the famed Leningrad Codex, the Masoretic text traceable to Aaron ben Moses ben Asher, ca. 930 CE. Ben-Asher researched all available texts to compile an authoritative Bible manuscript. In 1010 CE his work was revised by Samuel ben Jacob, a scribe in Egypt. Lost for centuries, the manuscript was eventually discovered in the mid-nineteenth century and became known as the Leningrad Codex. This edition adapts the latest BHS edition of the Leningrad text by correcting errors and providing modern paragraphing. The English text in this TANAKH is a slightly updated version of the acclaimed 1985 JPS translation. Wherever possible, the results of modern study of the languages and culture of the ancient Near East have been brought to bear on the biblical text, which allows for an English style reflective of the biblical spirit and language rather than of the era of the translation. This edition also includes an informative preface that discusses the history of Bible translation, focusing on the latest JPS English translation of the Holy Scriptures. It is the result of a 30-year interdenominational collaboration of eminent Jewish Bible scholars. Readers are sure to appreciate one of the most intensive projects in the history of The Jewish Publication Society.
Call Number: BS895 .J4 2000 Ref
Septuaginta: id est Vetus Testamentum graece iuxta LXX interpretes by Call Number: BS741 .R3 2006Greek text, with prefaces and introd. in German, English and Latin. Two volumes in one.
The Vulgate Bible: Douay-Rheims Translation by Call Number: BS180 2010 V.1-6English and Latin text on facing pages.
Interlinears
The Apostolic Bible Polyglot by Call Number: BS65 2013
The Interlinear Bible: Hebrew-Greek-English by
The only complete interlinear Bible available in English--and it's keyed to "Strong's Exhaustive Concordance" Thousands of pastors, students, and laypeople have found "The Interlinear Bible" to be a time-saving tool for researching the subtle nuances and layers of meaning within the original biblical languages. Featuring the complete Hebrew and Greek texts with a direct English rendering below each word, it also includes "The Literal Translation of the Bible" in the outside column. But what truly sets this resource apart are the Strong's numbers printed directly above the Hebrew and Greek words. Strong's numbers enable even those with no prior knowledge of Greek or Hebrew to easily access a wealth of language reference works keyed to Strong's--Greek/Hebrew dictionaries, analytical lexicons, concordances, word studies, and more. The Hebrew is based on the Masoretic Text and the Greek is from the Textus Receptus. The sources of the texts are documented in the preface, and are essentially the same (with some minor variations) to the Hebrew and Greek texts used by the KJV translators. Only a small minority of Bible students ever achieve the ability to read the original biblical languages. This resource offers a non-threatening tool for those lacking language training to begin exploring the languages of Scripture. - Conveniently includes the entire Hebrew and Greek text of the Bible in one place - Offering a concise, literal translation of each Greek and Hebrew word, it's a great jumping off point for in-depth Bible study and text analysis. FAQ - How large is the type? --7-point
Call Number: BS1 1976 V.1-4
The Hebrew-English Interlinear Bible, 2nd ed. by Call Number: BS3.5 1985 V.1-3
Interlinear for the Rest of Us by
Most interlinear Bibles are superb resources for Greek students. But what about the rest of us who don't know Greek? Here is the answer. While other interlinear Bibles assume that you know Greek. Interlinear for the Rest of Us assumes that you don't, or that you've forgotten much of what you once knew. Designed for busy pastors, Sunday school teachers, and anyone who wants a practical tool for studying the Scriptures, this interlinear makes reading easy by flip-flopping the usual order of appearance. It uses the English text as the main text rather than the Greek, so there is absolutely no confusion about the meaning of what you're reading. Discover the Greek words behind the English translation. Conduct your own word studies using Greek word study books---without knowing Greek. Interlinear for the Rest of Us offers these features: Interlinear passages appear in a 'staff' with four interrelated lines (see excerpt). From top to bottom, the lines are: English text in New International Version Corresponding Greek words Parsing information Goodrick-Kohlenberger numbers Greek text in normal Greek order at the bottom of the page, underneath the interlinear section Mounce's Greek-English Dictionary at the back of this volume, keyed to both Goodrick-Kohlenberger and Strong's numbering systems Ideal for use with Greek for the Rest of Us and other Greek study tools
Call Number: BS1965.5 2005 Reference
The Interlinear NASB-NIV Parallel New Testament in Greek and English by
The Interlinear NASB - NIV Parallel New Testament does three things for you. It sets the New American Standard Bible with its "literal correspondence" approach side by side with the New International Version and its "dynamic equivalency" approach, allowing you to easily compare the two translations. It directly relates Greek words in the Nestle's Greek text to their corresponding translations in the NASB and NIV texts. And it allows easier reading of the Greek New Testament. These advantages offer you a better understanding of the Bible. This proven study tool uses Alfred Marshall's interlinear English text -- the standard, widely used literal translation of the Nestle's Greek text, 21st edition. A generation of students, pastors, and scholars has relied on Marshall's renowned contribution to biblical study. The Interlinear NASB - NIV Parallel New Testament brings it to you in a parallel format that will bring new depth, perspective, and insight to your Bible studies.
Call Number: BS1965.5 1993b Reference
- Interlinear Bible: Greek, Hebrew, Strong'sWeb resource