Purpose of BIB 362 Course Guide
To help students start researching for the biblical exegesis research paper assigned in the BIB-362 Jesus & the Gospels course.
Research Tools
...Find a book, ebook, or other media in the ORU Library? Use the opens new window Library Catalog.
...Find the full text of a journal in the ORU Library? Use the opens new windowJournal Finder+.
... Identify journal articles for a research paper? Use one or more relevant databases on the opens new window Database List.
...Jump start a research project or find information for a class assignment when you are not sure which database to use? Try opens new windowEagleSearch.
...Borrow a book the ORU Library does not own? Search opens new windowWorldCat.
Basic Search Strategies
To find commentaries or other works related to a particular book of the Bible, try one of these strategies by pasting them into a Library Catalog search box:
- opens new windowBible Matthew commentaries
- opens new windowBible Mark criticism
- opens new windowBible Luke theology
- (opens new windowd:(Bible Gospels)) and (comment*)
To find Bible dictionaries or encyclopedias, try:
- opens new windowBible AND (dictionaries OR encyclopedias)
- opens new window"Bible New Testament" AND (dictionaries OR encyclopedias)
To find works on specific sections of the Bible, try:
To find works on specific parts of one or more of the gospels, try a subject search for:
- opens new windowBeatitudes
- opens new windowSermon on the Mount
- opens new windowJesus Christ Parables
- opens new windowGreat Commission (Bible)
- opens new windowProdigal son (Parable)
To find works on Jesus, try a subject search for:
Bibliographies
opens new windowEssential Bible Study Tools for Ministry (Bauer, 2014); BS511.2 .B38 2014 Reference
- See lists of "highly recommended" and "recommended" commentaries for each book of the Bible.
opens new windowCommentary and Reference Survey: A Comprehensive Guide to Biblical and Theological Resources
(Glynn, 2007); BS511.3.G59 2007 Reference