The ORU Library helps form Whole Leaders for the Whole World by connecting learners to the knowledge they seek by acquiring the resources that fit our curriculum and faculty research and teaching users how to search for and evaluate them to find the best, research successfully with them, and use them in academic discourse effectively and ethically.

Why You Need the Library to Succeed Academically: Faculty Insights

opens new windowDr. William Ranahan

Dr. William Ranahan, cancer researcher and chair of the ORU Biology and Chemistry Department, shares his advice to students about research in the library.

opens new windowDr. Angela Watson

Dr. Angela Watson, associate professor in the ORU Behavioral Sciences Department, encourages students to use library resources for their coursework.

Research shows that students who use the library more frequently earn better grades.

Anderson, L. L., & García, S. A. V. (2020). Library usage, instruction, and student success across disciplines: A multilevel model approach. College & Research Libraries, 81(3), 459-491. https://doi.org/10.5860/crl.81.3.459

Library Collection Snapshot

ORU Library collection snapshot as of May 1, 2021. 228,824 print titles, 232,621 ebook titles. Just over half of the books in the library collection are ebooks. ebooks: 50.4% print books: 49.6%. 237 million dissertations. 74,629 streaming videos. 5,591 digital showcase items. Physical titles: 4,515 journal titles, 228,824 book titles, 36,530 audiovisuals and microforms. Physical volumes: 42,078 journal volumes, 264,772 book volumes, 68163 audiovisuals and microforms. Over 52% of journal holdings are peer-reviewed. 188 library databases. Library services: ask-a-librarian by phone, email, chat, text, Zoom, in person. Library instruction in person, on Zoom, interactive tutorials, research guides. Interlibrary Loan, Course reserves, collection development. visit the ORU library at www.oru.edu/library

Library Search Tools

quick search box

opens new windowEagleSearch

Search for books, articles, and more... EagleSearch searches most ORU Library content at once and includes results from both print and electronic resources. For search tips, view this opens new windowvideo tutorial.

opens new window Library Catalog

Search for books, ebooks, periodicals, DVDs, audiobooks and other media housed in the library.

For search tips, view this video tutorial.

opens new windowJournal Finder+

Find periodicals (including journals, magazines and newspapers) available in print or online through the ORU Library. Search by periodical title. For search tips, view this opens new windowvideo tutorial.

Library Databases

The library licenses nearly 200 databases and provides links to many open source databases. These databases provide current students, faculty, and staff with 24/7 access to online resources including

  • periodicals, including magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals
  • ebooks
  • streaming videos
  • special reports, data, and statistics
  • downloadable audiobooks

Library Services

Research Assistance

Librarians are available for help and advice on research and access to library resources and services during all hours the library is open. Service is available in person, by phone, text, chat, video conference, or email. Librarians are also available by appointment for research consultations.

Borrowing student borrowing book

Current students, faculty, and staff of ORU can check out circulating books and media from the library. Lending periods vary.

Course Reserves and Library Reserves

The Reserve collection consists of books, audiovisuals, tests, short articles, and other items placed on reserve for student use in conjunction with courses offered at ORU.

Library Instruction library instruction lab

Interlibrary Loan

Students and faculty may request books and articles not owned by the ORU library.

Library Impact

ORU Library total library impact: 1,366,117 points of contact May 2020 to April 2021. 16,547 borrowing transactions. 238,036 ebook uses. 495,137 online articles viewed. 22,058 business records viewed. 5,953 academic videos streamed. 178,533 digital showcase downloads and media streams. 209 countries impacted. 5,699 ask-a-librarian questions. 334,320 library website visits. 75,340 database list visits. 11,334 social media followers. 3,315 library instruction attendees. 1,903 interlibrary loan transactions. visit the library website at www.oru.edu/library

Library Guides and Tutorials

Learn more about using library tools such as the library catalog and databases by viewing library tutorials.

Find recommended sources, search strategy suggestions, tips on citing sources and more by viewing these library subject and course guides.