Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

THE-217 Seminar in Theological Research, Undergraduate, Course Guide

A guide for students in the undergraduate Seminar in Theological Research - THE 217.

Print & Media Collections

Main Collection

Main Collection

  • Theology Collection - mostly shelved in the BL-BX section on the 4th floor of the LRC
  • New Books - on the wall beside a sitting area on the west side of the stairwell of LRC-4 across from the One-Stop Library Services Desk 

One-Stop Library Services Desk

Course Reserves

  • Located at the One-Stop Library Services Desk (LRC-4)
  • May be checked out for a limited number of hours or days as specified by the instructor
  • May be limited to in-library use only
  • Note: Fines are charged for overdue Reserve items

Image of DVDs

Audiovisual Collection

  • Audiobooks - near the Circulation Desk (LRC-4)
  • DVDs - near the Circulation Desk (LRC-4)

Periodicals Collection

Periodicals Collection

  • Scholarly journals - in area adjoining LINC close to GC-4 doors
    • Current loose issues 
    • Bound volumes
    • Microform 
  • Newspapers - shelved in the large wooden "Ark" near the seating n the middle of Periodicals
  • Popular magazines - on the wall  to the left of the One-Stop Desk 

Reference Desk

Reference Collection

  • Mostly dictionaries, encyclopedias, Bible commentaries, maps and atlases, handbooks, and directories
  • Located inside the Library Information Commons (LINC) inside the glass doors 
  • Reference works are marked with yellow spine labels

Holy Spirit Research Center

Special Theological Collections

  • Holy Spirit Research Center (LRC-5)
    • Materials may be transferred to the Reference desk for easier access
  • Also housed in the Holy Spirit Research Center are:
    • Brad Young Collection
    • Howard Ervin Collection
    • William Sanford LaSor Collection 
    • Elmar Camillo Dos Santos Collection 
    • Jewish Theological Seminary Collection

Image of child reading

Other Special Collections

  • Curriculum Media Center - LRC-5 - primarily for use by Education majors
  • HLSS Research Library - Health, Leisure and Sport Sciences Department, Aerobics Center
  • Music Listening Room - Timko-Barton Hall

Snapshot of Everything Theological in the Library

Which Research Tool Should I Use to....

...Find a book, ebook, or other media in the ORU Library? Use the opens new window Library Catalog.

... Identify journal articles for a research paper? Use one or more databases on the opens new window Database List.

...Jump start a research project or find information for a class assignment when you are not sure which database to use? Try opens new windowEagleSearch.

...Find the full text of a journal in the ORU Library? Use the opens new windowJournal Finder+.

...Borrow a book the ORU Library does not own? Search opens new windowWorldCat.

...Find guidance on how to do research in a specific subject area or type of information? Use the opens new windowResearch Guides.

... Access digitized materials from the Holy Spirit Research Center or from one of the University colleges? Use the Digital Showcase.