Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library News - COSE - Spring 2020: NEW ELECTRONIC RESOURCES

News of new books and ebooks

*** IMPORTANT NEW RESOURCES ***

WE HAVE JUST RECENTLY SUBSCRIBED to PROQUEST'S ALEXANDER STREET ACADEMIC VIDEO ONLINE ("AVON").

Streaming videos are now available for your to use in your classroom, assign for students to view, or embed into D2L. Please use them and give us feedback on their usefulness. Instructions as to opens new windowhow to embed clips or entire videos into class content is available on the PQopens new window support page.

** IF anyone is interested in a brief training on how to get the most out of this resource, please join us in a ProQuest webex on Wednesday, March 18, 2020 at 10 a.m. You can watch from your own computer; contact me (mwalker@oru.edu) for meeting details if interested.

  • There is a channel for "opens new windowScience and Engineering" housing around 2,400 streaming videos in this content.
  • You can easily filter for channels covering "Science", or "Scientific research", or "Computer Software",  or "Sports", etc.
  • You may also filter by "Content Type": Documentary; Instructional material; Interview; Counseling session, etc.

STREAMING VIDEO IS HERE!!! ACADEMIC VIDEO ONLINE ("AVON") by PROQUEST

 

Academic Video Online (AVON), a ProQuestresource on the Alexander Street platform, provides the first three volumes of Counseling and Therapy in Video.



Volumes IV and V of Counseling and Therapy in Video are housed on the same platform but separate from the main AVON collection:

** NEW: ENCYCLOPEDIA OF SOCIAL WORK (ONLINE) / OXFORD ENCYCLOPEDIAS

"Now a consistently-updated resource from the NASW Press and Oxford University Press, Encyclopedia of Social Work provides students, scholars, and practitioners with a digital guide for a lifetime of social service. With revised and new articles added each month, users can be assured that they are accessing the most up-to-date content on a wide array of topics, from international issues to ethical dilemmas." This resource is linked from both our opens new window Database List as well as found in the opens new window Library catalog.

opens new windowonline resource

** HEINONLINE DATABASES **

opens new windowHeinOnline is a legal database that contains statutes, academic articles, law reviews, case histories, legislative debates, international treaties and more over a wide variety of disciplines. Large body of results were found for "pollution", "cancer research", "nanotechnology", "mathematics and elections", "landfills", child welfare". There is a wealth of material available for all subject matter and associated legal documents.


Online resource

opens new windowBusiness and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment (BLASE) contains federal and state documents, court decisions, articles and bibliographies covering antitrust and labor law, athlete representation, contracts, gender and race discrimination, injuries and violence, health and safety issues, publicity rights and more! There is an entire section for "Athlete Agents Act (NCCUSL)" and for "Nation Sports Law Institute"