NEW BOOKS
An Applied Guide to Research Designs by
This book covers the most practical and common research designs currently used in educational and the social and behavioural sciences. It will improve readers' ability to conceptualize, construct, test, problem solve and acquire knowledge, all of which are characteristics of scientific inquiry and the creative process required when conducting research.
Call Number: H 62 .E327 2017ISBN: 9781483317274Publication Date: 2017
A Dictionary of Social Work and Social Care, 2nd ed. by
Covers social work theories, methods, policies, organizations, and statutes, as well as key terms from interdisciplinary topics overlapping with health and education, this is the most up-to-date dictionary of its kind available. Provides extended entries on children and families, domestic violence, and residential care, and has been extensively updated to include new legislation.
Call Number: HV 12 .H37 2018 (Reference)ISBN: 9780198796688Publication Date: 2018
Evolving Out of Eden by
Science-savvy theologians offer their various frank assessment of evolution's significance for Christian belief.
Call Number: BT 712 .P74 2013ISBN: 9780985136246Publication Date: 2013
The Genealogical Adam and Eve by
Evolutionary science teaches that humans arose as a population, sharing common ancestors with other animals. Building on well-established but overlooked science, the author explains how it's possible for Adam and Eve to be rightly identified as the ancestors of everyone, and untangles several misunderstandings about the words human and ancestry. In this bold exploration, he charts a new way forward for peace between mainstream science and the Christian faith.
Call Number: BT 701.3 .S93 2019ISBN: 9780830852635Publication Date: 2019
The Mathematics of Voting and Elections by
An inquiry-based approach to the mathematics of politics and social choice. Readers should improve their critical thinking and problem solving skills, as well as broaden their views of what mathematics really is and how it can be used in unexpected ways.
Call Number: JF 1001 .H63 2018ISBN: 9781470442873Publication Date: 2018
Nanobiomaterial Engineering by
This book comprehensively documents the application of Nanobiomaterials in the field of bio-medicine and diagnostics technologies by involving classical concepts/examples.
Call Number: (Still being processed; # available soon)ISBN: 9789813298392Publication Date: 2020
Plasma Simulations by Example by
The study of plasmas is crucial in improving our understanding of the universe, and they are being increasingly utilized in key technologies such as spacecraft thrusters, plasma medicine, and fusion energy. Provides an easy-to-follow set of examples clearly illustrating how simulation codes are written.
Call Number: QB 462.7 .B75 2019ISBN: 9781138342323Publication Date: 2019
NEW EBOOKS
Critical Issues in Child Welfare by
Reorganized for more effective classroom use, the second edition of this text begins with an updated, thorough overview of the challenges currently facing at-risk children and families. Explores protective services, family preservation, foster care and residential care, adoption, services for adolescents, and training and retention of staff.
Call Number: eBook CentralISBN: 9780231539272Publication Date: 2015
Evangelicals and Science by
Portrays the relationship between evangelical Christians and science, covering Creationism, Young Earth Creationism, Intelligent Design, Environment, and Bioethics.
Call Number: eBook CentralISBN: 9780313014642Publication Date: 2008
Nanoanalytics by
This ebook gives an overview of the analytical techniques used to study nanoobjects and nanoparticles as well as the application of nanomaterials themselves in the development of new methods of analysis.
Call Number: eBook Central (unlimited users)ISBN: 9783110540062Publication Date: 2018
Plastics Technology Handbook, Fifth Edition by
Covers fundamentals, production methods, properties, and applications of plastics and polymer-based materials, tooling for plastics fabrication processes, thermoplastics, thermosetting plastics, foamed plastics, reinforced plastics, plastisols, and new developments in mold design. Provides an overview of new developments as well.
Call Number: eBook Central (unlimited users)ISBN: 9781498786218Publication Date: 2018
Understanding Philosophy of Science by
Few can imagine a world without telephones or televisions; many depend on computers and the Internet as part of daily life. Without scientific theory, these developments would not have been possible. In this exceptionally clear and engaging introduction to philosophy of science, James Ladyman explores the philosophical questions that arise when we reflect on the nature of the scientific method and the knowledge it produces.
Call Number: eBook CentralISBN: 9781134597918Publication Date: 2002
New Challenges of Biomedical Engineering by
The authors explore the principles and practices that are applied to the ever-expanding array of such new areas as gene-therapy delivery, biosensor design, and the development of improved therapeutic compounds, imaging agents, and drug delivery vehicles. Filled with illustrative case studies, this important resource examines such important work as methods of growing human cells and tissues outside the body in order to repair or replace damaged tissues. In addition, the text covers a range of topics including the challenges faced with developing artificial lungs, kidneys, and livers; advances in 3D cell culture systems; and chemical reaction methodologies for biomedical imagining analysis. This vital resource: Covers interdisciplinary research at the interface between chemical engineering, biology, and chemistry Provides a series of valuable case studies describing current themes in biomedical engineering Explores chemical engineering principles such as mass transfer, bioreactor technologies as applied to problems such as cell culture, tissue engineering, and biomedical imaging Written from the point of view of chemical engineers, this authoritative guide offers a broad-ranging but concise overview of research at the interface of chemical engineering and biology.
Call Number: eBook Central (unlimited users)ISBN: 9781119296041Publication Date: 2018- New Challenges of Biomedical Engineering by
Principles and practices that are applied to the ever-expanding array of new areas: gene-therapy delivery, biosensor design, and the development of improved therapeutic compounds, imaging agents, and drug delivery vehicles.
Call Number: eBook Central (unlimited users)ISBN: 9781119296041Publication Date: 2018
BOOK REQUESTS
Please send all book or ebook requests that you have, whether for upcoming classes, for your current research, or for extra reading that appears on your syllabus.
While we may not be able to get all titles purchased, they remain on our list until we can get them. Therefore, it helps us greatly for you to prioritize your needs, especially noting if the book is needed for a specific semester. When money does become available, it is helpful to have our lists ready to order so please continue to send requests whenever you run across a title, not merely waiting until the beginning of the semester.
** Also remember that you can put personal copies of books and textbooks onto your Faculty Reserve for students to use in the library.
We also just added select titles that tend to get heavily used and put them on " Library Reserve" so that students will always have a copy available.
Examples of these: MCAT practice tests; Concise rules of APA style; Sharkk VR Goggles (Be looking for the opening of ouropens new window Digital Sandbox!--4th Floor LRC)
opens new window
opens new window
opens new window
opens new window
opens new window
opens new window
Send requests to libacq@oru.edu or directly to me (deller@oru.edu); you can submit lists from WorldCat or Amazon or fill out our opens new window online form.