Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Who Is the Holy Spirit?
Who is the Holy Spirit?
Here are some recommended books that look at who is the Holy Spirit. Some are more theological than others, but any of these (and many more) are good for this part of your assignment. Again, there are many others that are available in the BT section in both the Main collection and the Holy Spirit Research Center.
A Shorter Guide to the Holy Spirit by Anthony Thiselton's scholarly book The Holy Spirit -- In Biblical Teaching, through the Centuries, and Today was published to wide acclaim in 2013 and received a 2014 Christianity Today Book Award. This shorter volume makes Thiselton's vast biblical-theological knowledge and brilliant insight more accessible to more readers.
Call Number: EBOOK
Publication Date: 2016-05-14
The Holy Spirit by
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2020-06-01
This book studies the Holy Spirit through the lens of both biblical and systematic theology. It provides a comprehensive look at the third person of the Trinity as revealed by Scripture, focusing on eight central themes and assumptions.
The Holy Spirit in Biblical Teaching, Through the Centuries, and Today by This learned book by eminent scholar Anthony Thiselton is a detailed biblical, historical, and contemporary study of the Holy Spirit. Thiselton presents an up-to-date account of biblical teaching on the topic, including exposition of passages and hermeneutics; offers a comprehensive historical survey from the Apostolic Fathers to Jonathan Edwards; and engages a host of modern theologians. In the last part of his book Thiselton discusses a remarkably wide range of writings on the Holy Spirit from the nineteenth century to the present day. He interacts explicitly with Pentecostals and the Renewal Movement in a sympathetic, positive, yet critical manner. The book as a whole is at once scholarly and readable, comprehensive and practical. The Holy Spirit -- in Biblical Teaching, through the Centuries, and Today offers scholarly work on specific themes such as prophecy, tongues, the miraculous, the range and nature of the Spirit's gifts, and the Holy Spirit in relation to the Trinity, along with practical consequences for worship and life.
Call Number: BT121.3 .T45 2013 HSRC & Main
Publication Date: 2013-06-01
Who Is the Holy Spirit? by Christians talk about the Holy Spirit, but rarely know how to recognize the Spirit's presence and activity in the world. Luke is the most illumin ating gospel writer on the topic of the Holy Spirit. Luke writes about Jesus as the messiah anointed by the Holy Spirit, and about the church as the Spirit-empowered fellowship in the Mediterranean world of the first century. These meditations on Luke-Acts attempt to discern how the winds of the Spirit have blown in the lives of Jesus, his disciples, and the earliest Christians so that we can track and participate in the works of the Holy Spirit in the global village of the 21st century.
Call Number: BS2589.6.H62 Y66 2011 HSRC & Main
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
The Holy Spirit by Theologian Ivan Satyavrata believes that while there is much to celebrate in the more recent focus on the Holy Spirit and his workings after several centuries of relative neglect, there is a pressing need to relate our present experience of the Spirit to the teaching of God's Word. This is a task to which this book is devoted.
Call Number: BT121.3 .S38 2009 - HS Reserve & Main
Publication Date: 2009-04-16
A Biblical Theology of the Holy Spirit (4 Volumes) by "There are four volumes in this series on the Holy Spirit: The first three volumes contain the results of my personal studies. The fourth volume consists of a valuable collection of my writings by international Pentecostal scholars on current issues about the Holy Spirit. These articles deal with both doctrinal and practical issues that are often encountered in the church today. The titles of the four volumes in this set are as follows: 1. A biblical theology of the Holy Spirit: Old Testament. -- 2. A biblical theology of the Holy Spirit: Luke and Acts. -- 3. A biblical theology of the Holy spirit: John and Paul and 4. A biblical theology of the Holy Spirit--Contemporary issues in pneumatology."--George M. Flattery in his general introduction on p. xi.
Call Number: BT121.2 .F54 2009 - HSRC and HS Reserve
Publication Date: 2009-12-01
The Action of the Holy Spirit by The Holy Spirit has been at work in the world since the beginning of time, and continues to act in our own lives. Who is this often-neglected Third Person of the Trinity, and why is his presence so important to us? In this new edition, noted Catholic apologist Frank J. Sheed sheds light on these questions and more with the keen insight, clarity, and wit for which he is famous. Among the topics he considers: What is the Holy Spirit's relationship to the Father and the Son?, How did the Holy Spirit work in Old Testament times, during Jesus' life, and in the early years of the church?, What is the role of the Holy Spirit in our own lives, and how can we live a "life in the Spirit"? Book jacket.
Call Number: BT121.3 .S54 2006 - HSRC & Main
Publication Date: 2006-04-01
Discovering the Holy Spirit in the New Testament by In an age when the New Testament had not been written, the presence and role of the Spirit in the development of the early Church was crucial. But to many first century believers unacquainted with the Old Testament, he was unknown. So the writers of the New Testament regularly explained his mission in the lives of believers. Most Christians have a vague awarenes of the Holy Spirit--the comfort he offers, the gifts he imparts--but few could articulate his crucial role in the life of every believer. Readers will gain an appreciation of the Spirit as a complex, wise, creative, powerful and personal member of the Godhead who is sent to equip, empower, affirm, inspire, gift, and ultimately transform the people of God. Each chapter concludes with helpful study questions and a useful biography.
Call Number: BS2545.H62 W37 2005 - HSRC & Main
Publication Date: 2005-08-01
What the Bible Says about the Holy Spirit by Goes through the Bible book by book to provide a complete look at what the Bible teaches about the Holy Spirit and His work. Includes subject and Scripture indexes.
Call Number: BT121.2 .H66 2005 - Main & HSRC
Publication Date: 1976-01-01
The Holy Spirit in You by Derek Prince clearly explains the ways of the Holy Spirit and how He works in the lives of Christians.
Call Number: BT121.3 .P75 2003 - HSRC & Main
Publication Date: 2003-10-01
The Holy Spirit by "In this encyclopedic volume Donald Bloesch brings breadth of learning and careful analysis to the works and gifts of the Holy Spirit. From within a biblical framework, he explores issues such as baptism, conversion, assurance, spiritual gifts, sanctification, Christian experience and the gender of the Holy Spirit. His survey of approaches to the Holy Spirit taken throughout church history, in recent religious movements, and within Pentecostal, Reformed, Roman Catholic and Eastern Orthodox traditions is marked with charity and insight."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Call Number: HOLY SPIRIT RESERVE
Publication Date: 2000-12-14
Encounter the Holy Spirit by This is book is written particularly with new and young Christians in mind. The author, a member of the Soul Survivor team, has come to see that some very basic but engaging teaching, laced with good stories, is a vital component in their formation. The function of this book is to provide the reader with simple steps of how to receive, use and develop gifts of the Holy Spirit. It is in a simple, easy to follow format that encourages readers to engage with the Holy Spirit for themselves through prayers and exercises. After an initial explanation about the person and nature of the Spirit, Jeannie covers the gifts of tongues, words of knowledge, prophecy, miracles and healing, before concluding with an introduction to prayer ministry.
Call Number: EBOOK
Publication Date: 2012-01-18
What Jesus Said about the Holy Spirit by In the Gospel of John, Jesus introduces us to the Paraclete the Spirit who is personal, intimate, and life-giving. The Paraclete Jesus describes is a Spirit we ache to know. In fact, we do know him. This Spirit is no stranger to us. He is the Spirit of Jesus. How do we grow a relationship with this Spirit? How do we allow the Spirit to do transforming work in our lives? You'll find more in these pages than theory and principle. You will discover practices for walking in the Spirit and making relationship with him a daily privilege.
Call Number: EBOOK
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Knowing the Holy Spirit Through the Old Testament by We tend to think of the Holy Spirit as the straggler of the Trinity, a latecomer in God's interaction with the world. But our first introduction to the Holy Spirit is not the drama of Pentecost in the second chapter of Acts. We first meet the Holy Spirit in the second verse of the Bible, hovering there, speaking the world into existence. Christopher Wright begins here and traces the Holy Spirit through the pages of the Old Testament. We see the Third Person of the Trinity in the decrees of prophets and psalmists, in the actions of judges and craftspeople, in the anointing of kings and the promise of a new creation.Knowable and discernable in the Old Testament, the Holy Spirit is thus eminently knowable to us. The witness of the whole of Scripture, from its first pages to its last, directs us to a Holy Spirit empowering the people of God, and sustaining and renewing the face of the earth.
Call Number: EBOOK
Publication Date: 2006-10-05
A Person In History
The HS in the Life of a Person in History
This part of the assignment is more complicated. There is no single book to help you if you do not already have a person in mind. Because of this, the best approach is to already have someone from history in mind and search the Library catalog to find resources on that person. If you don't know who you want to pick, below are a couple resources that could be of help to you. They will be displayed in the HSRC for you to use.
A great way to search the catalog would be to enter into the Keyword search box "biography AND spirit". A number of biographies will come up that you could choose from. Remember, there will be some people who did not write about the work of the Holy Spirit in their life. So it may take some searching of our catalog to find out.
Another great source for short biographies of significant figures in the Spirit-empowered movement is Healing and Revival website. While this would not be a good source to use for your paper citations, it has a wonderful list of individuals from which you could select someone you would like to study.
The New International Dictionary of Pentecostal and Charismatic Movements by Contains many entries on significant people in the Pentecostal and Charismatic tradition. This can help you pick a person that you can also search for other materials that will help you discover the work of the Holy Spirit in their lives.
Call Number: BR1644 .D53 2002 - HSRC & Main Reference
Publication Date: 2002-05-27
People of the Spirit by Who were the men and women who laid the foundation of The General Council of the Assemblies of God? They were ordinary people, many with little or no ministry experience or formal training, yet they were the raw material God used in the modern Pentecostal movement. Shaped by the Holy Spirit, they became His instruments of vision and revival--from generation to generation. Their journey is a foundation we can build on. Ideal for classroom use or personal reading, this updated version includes updated bios; new material covering the timeframe since the original writing of the book in 2000; and fresh design for easy reading.Pick up where this book ends and your faith will be strengthened as you live the history that has changed the world.
Call Number: BX8765.5.A4 M34 2014 - HSRC & Main
Publication Date: 2014-07-29
Voices of Pentecost by Vinson Synan, Ph.D. is the author of numerous books. This book contains testimonies of lives touched by the Holy Spirit.
Call Number: BR1644 .S967 2003 -
Publication Date: 2003-05-01
Portraits of a Generation by A spirit of religious revival blazed across the United States just after 1900. With a focus on Holy Spirit power, early adherents stirred an enthusiastic response, first at a Bible school in Topeka and then in a small mission on Asuza Street in Los Angeles. Almost immediately, the movement spread to Houston, Chicago, and then northeastern urban centers. By the early 1910s the fervor had reached most parts of the United States, Canada, and northern Mexico, and eventually the converts called themselves pentecostals. Today there are pentecostals all over the world. From the beginning the movement was unusually diverse: women and African Americans were active in many of the early fellowships, and although some groups were segregated, some were interracial. Everytwhere, ordinary people passionately devoted themselves to salvation, Holy Ghost baptism evidenced by speaking in tongues, divine healing, and anticipation of the Lord's imminent return. This movement saw itself as leaderless, depending on individual conversion and a radical equality of souls -- or, as early devotees would say, on the Holy Spirit. But a closer look reveals a host of forceful, clear-eyed leaders. This volume offers twenty biographical portraits of the first-generation pioneers who wove the different strands of Holy Spirit revivalism into a coherent and dramatically successful movement.
Call Number: BX8762.Z8 A33 2002 - HSRC & Main
Publication Date: 2002-07-01
Limited Liberty by This book shares the stories of four women - Florence Crawford, Mary Magdalena Lewis Tate, Aimee Semple McPherson, and Ida Robinson - who, despite their gender, pursued their freedom to preach and defend the Christian gospel. The author hopes clergywomen will find guidance and solutions in the stories of these courageous women.
Call Number: BX8762.Z8 A12 2008 - HSRC & Main
Publication Date: 2008-03-01
Global Witnesses to Pentecost by Testimonies from around the world that bear witness to the Holy Spirit's gift of 'other tongues'.
Call Number: BT122.5 .M39 2013 - HSRC
Publication Date: 2013-01-08
Servants of the Spirit by Stories of some of the founders of the Pentecostal movement and denominations.
Call Number: BX8762.A4 S47 2010 - HSRC & Main
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
Revivalists by The Generals Who Shook Nations Roberts Liardon chronicles compelling spiritual biographies of some of the most powerful preachers ever to ignite the fires of revival. Follow the faith journeys and lives of the great generals of God, including: George Whitefield, whose dramatic flair and passionate preaching needed no modern conveniences like microphones to reach crowds of more than sixty thousand people. Charles Finney, the skeptical lawyer-turned-evangelist whose ministry was marked by deep prayer and divine healing. William and Catherine Booth, who gave food to the hungry, fought to free those trapped in sex trafficking, and founded the Salvation Army, now the largest charitable organization in the world. Billy Graham, counselor and confidant of eleven U.S. presidents, who preached God's unconditional love and saving grace to millions. Liardon goes beyond history, drawing crucial life application and inspiration from the lives of these mighty warriors so that you can learn how to: Fulfill God's call on your life Discern the voice of God to follow His guidance Be led by the Spirit of God Let these reviva lists inspire your life and revitalize your ministry!
Call Number: BV3780 .L46 2008 - HSRC & Main
Publication Date: 2008-05-23