It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Global data on Christianity is an essential part of do your research in Global Contextual Theology. The ORU Library has provided a number of different resources that provide data, profiles and articles on the state of global Christianity. See the links below for some of the best sources. In these you will find the following:
Profiles of various regions
Articles on the state of global Christianity and the Spirit-empowered Movement.
The World Christian Encyclopedia, now in its 3rd edition, documents the changing status of World Christianity over the past 120 years from historical and social scientific perspectives. It records the continued shift of Christianity to the Global South and contains estimates for religious and nonreligious affiliation in every country of the world, including detail on Christianity to the denominational level. This reference work features comprehensive descriptions of all Christian traditions, including current information on the uniqueness of Christian experiences around the world.
This in the online version of the 3rd edition of the World Christian Encyclopedia, which documents the changing status of World Christianity over the past 120 years from historical and social scientific perspectives. It records the continued shift of Christianity to the Global South and contains estimates for religious and nonreligious affiliation in every country of the world, including detail on Christianity to the denominational level. This reference work features comprehensive descriptions of all Christian traditions, including current information on the uniqueness of Christian experiences around the world.
Atlas of Pentecostalism is a dynamic online database, which visually maps the stupendous growth of global Pentecostalism as a diverse and networked religion. The database uses global crowdsourcing, big data, cinematography, interviews and academic collaborations to provide an independent perspective on Pentecostalism as it evolves. The database expands with time and can also be ordered as an eBook or print-on-demand book, which freezes the dynamic data at that moment.
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
Features ethnographic collections organized by regions and cultures. Contains collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. Online Video User Guide
Research on Pentecostal and Charismatic Christianity has increased dramatically in recent decades, and a diverse array of disciplines have begun to address a range of elements of these movements. Yet, there exists very little understanding of Pentecostal theology, and it is not uncommon to encounter stereotypes and misperceptions. Addressing this gap in current research, The Routledge Handbook of Pentecostal Theology is an exceptional reference source to the key topics, challenges, and debates in this growing field of study and is the first collection of its kind to offer a comprehensive presentation and critical discussion of this subject. Comprising over forty chapters written by a team of international contributors, the Handbook is divided into five parts: Contextualizing Pentecostal Theology Sources Theological Method Doctrines and Practices Conversations and Challenges. These sections take the reader through a comprehensive introduction to what Pentecostals believe and how they practice their faith. Looking at issues such as the core teachings of Pentecostalism concerning Spirit baptism, divine healing, or eschatology; unique practices, such as spiritual warfare and worship; and less discussed issues, such as social justice and gender, each chapter builds towards a nuanced and global picture of the theology of the Pentecostal movement. The Routledge Handbook of Pentecostal Theology is essential reading for students and researchers in Pentecostal Studies, World Christianity, and Theology as well as scholars working in contemporary Religious Studies.
Handbook of Pentecostal Christianity is an easy-to-read guide designed for those interested in learning about one of the fastest growing religious traditions in the world. Adam Stewart's unique collection presents concise, yet comprehensive explanations of some of the most important terms and concepts needed to understand the origins and development, as well as the beliefs and practices, of Pentecostalism worldwide. Twenty-four scholars from five continents provide entries, which are written from disciplinary perspectives as diverse as anthropology, biblical studies, black church studies, history, religious studies, sociology, and theology. The fifty entries shed light on such aspects as The Azusa Street Mission and Revival, Baptism of the Holy Spirit, exorcism, Godly Love, prophecy, snake handling, and the Word of Faith movement. Each entry also includes a brief list of references and suggestions for further reading. These brief, engaging explanations on aspects of Pentecostalism can be read on their own, or alphabetically from start to finish. In its entirety, Stewart's text provides the reader with an introduction to the history, theology, practices, and contemporary forms of Pentecostalism as it stands at the outset of the twenty-first century. Stewart's handbook is an appealing introduction to Pentecostalism suitable for both students of religion and the curious general reader.
Pentecostalism is one of the fastest-growing religious movements in the world. Groups in the United States dominated early Pentecostal histories, but recent global manifestations have expanded and complicated the definition of Pentecostalism. This volume provides a nuanced overview of Pentecostalism's various manifestations and explores what it means to be Pentecostal from the perspectives of both insiders and outsiders. Leading scholars in the field use a multidisciplinary approach to analyze the historical, economic, political, anthropological, sociological and theological aspects of the movement. They address controversies, such as the Oneness-Trinity controversy; introduce new theories; and chart trajectories for future research. The Cambridge Companion to Pentecostalism will enable beginners to familiarize themselves with the important issues and debates surrounding the global movement, while also offering experienced scholars a valuable handbook for reference.
This volume is the first in a series of volumes surveying the important names, movements, and institutions that have been significant in forging black renewal movements in various contexts worldwide. In this volume the entries cover the more than 150 identifiable Holiness, Pentecostal, Charismatic, Neo-Pentecostal, and quasi-Pentecostal bodies within the United States and Canada. In addition, the dictionary contains entries on the important people, places, events, and theological and secular issues that shaped these groups over their histories, some of which go back more than a century. This and subsequent volumes will be invaluable tools for students and scholars of the history of Pentecostalism.
The Definitive History of the Spirit-Filled Church Encyclopedic coverage of: Activities of the Spirit over 2,000 years of church history in 60 countries and regions Outpourings at Topeka, Mukti Mission (India), Azusa Street, Duquesne University, and many other 20th-century locations Current movements among today's 500 million-plus Pentecostal and charismatic Christians worldwide The New International Dictionary of Pentecostal and Charismatic Movements sets modern, Spirit-filled Christianity in a context that spans two millennia and the entire Christian world. Like no other resource, this volume reveals in detail the full, sweeping legacy of Spirit-empowered movements that have touched hearts and lives both in modern America and across the centuries and continents: in medieval Europe, Finland in the 1700s, South India in the 1800s, Azusa Street at the turn of the 20th century--and much more, including ongoing moves of the Holy Spirit throughout the world today. One thousand entries provide the most extensive information available on Pentecostal, charismatic, and neocharismatic movements. The diverse topics covered include, as a small sample, glossolalia, black and Hispanic Pentecostalism, prophecy, the role of women, faith healing, music, sociology, missions, church growth, and different historic and contemporary revivals. With its unique international and historical perspective, this completely revised and expanded second edition of the acclaimed Dictionary of Pentecostal and Charismatic Movements offers features that no other reference of its kind approaches. Its extraordinary scope and detailed, up-to-date coverage make this the definitive resource on Pentecostal and charismatic denominations and movements both in North America and worldwide. Includes: Exhaustive coverage of Pentecostal and charismatic movements in 60 countries and regions--individual histories, cultural and theological aspects, and key figures and institutions. Statistical section with a wealth of current information on the growth of classical Pentecostalism as well as charismatic and neocharismatic movements. 1,000 articles. Over 500 photos and illustrations, maps, and timeline. Cross references, bibliographies, and indexes to people, places, and topics.
The Atlas of Global Christianity is a thorough visual reference of the changing status of global Christianity over the 100 years since the epoch-making 'Edinburgh 1910' World Missionary Conference. It is the first scholarly atlas to depict the twentieth-century shift of Christianity to the Global South. It is also the first to map Christian affiliation at the provincial level. The atlas is divided into five major parts:Part I covers the whole world with thematic maps on world issues and world religions comparing the global context of 1910 and 2010. It also contains maps on religious freedom and religious diversity.Part II focuses in on the Christian context with thematic maps on major Christian traditions including Anglicans, Independents, Marginals, Orthodox, Protestants and Roman Catholics as well as Evangelicals and Pentecostals.Part III depicts Christianity by the 21 United Nations regions (Eastern Africa, Western Africa, Southern Africa, etc). Each region is described in four pages including an historical essay, maps, graphs, tables and charts. In addition, an essay and maps are included for each of the six United Nations continental areas (Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America, Northern America, and Oceania). Part IV views the world through languages, peoples and cities, a new area of scholarly analysis of Christianity and its resources.Part V focuses on Christian mission by analysing data on missionaries, finance, Bible translation, media broadcasting, and other forms of evangelisation.In the back sleeve, a CD with an interactive presentation assistant is included. It contains presentation-ready maps, charts, graphs and tables for classroom use.Key Features* First scholarly atlas to document the shift of Christianity to the Global South* Contextual maps of world issues and major religious traditions* Global coverage of religious freedom and religious diversity* First atlas to map Christian affiliation at the provincial level* Ecumenical
The Handbook of Contemporary Christianity: Movements, Institutions & Allegiance traces how the largest religion in the world continues to be expressed in energetic global dynamic forms. In contemporary times Christianity is increasingly exposed to divisions, not only through its traditional channels - Roman Catholic, Protestant and the Orthodoxy - nor conservative and liberal streams, but numerous nuanced articulations. This is reflected in the roles of clergy and lay people, in organisational dynamics, sources of allegiance and articulations of the faith, movements of renewal and revivalism, syncretic modes, and broader relationships with wider cultural trajectories and changing social circumstances. Collectively the contributors to this volume offer a comprehensive exploration of these themes. The volume is a companion to the Handbook of Global Contemporary Christianity.
There are an estimated 600 million Evangelicals in the world today, crossing cultures, histories, languages, politics, and nationalities. Evangelicals Around the World: A Global Handbook for the 21st Century introduces the fastest-growing segment of the global Christian church to the world and to each other. Bringing together a team of multi-disciplined scholars, writers, activists, and leaders from around the world, this handbook provides a compelling look at the diverse group we call Evangelicals. In this guide, written by those who know the movement the best, the issues that divide and the beliefs that unite this global Christian movement are presented in a journalistic fashion. Evangelicals Around the World describes the past and the present, the unique characters, and the powerful ministries of Evangelicals. With a large trim size and colorful page design, this beautiful book is the perfect choice for laypeople and scholars alike. Features include: Essays written by senior leaders of the movement and newer voices with fresh perspectives Articles written by journalists convey diverse and creative perspectives on ministry Essays provide the demographic details of Evangelicals in regions around the world Maps, graphs, photographs, quotes, and mini-profiles of evangelical heroes throughout time
This handbook discusses the global expansion of Christianity and the challenges it faced along the way. It is a resource for Christians and for the wider audience wanting to think more comprehensively about how Christianity was born in Asia, lost and gained ground, grew and changed across this vast of continent, and now faces many possible futures. It maps the history and current state of Christianity in Asia, providing insight into how Asian culture and its diverse religious traditions have significantly transformed Christianity to adapt to Asian life and expectations.
"...Essays on critical topics and emerging issues in the study of religion, complementing hundreds of essays on Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, Sikhism and cross-cultural thematic studies."
Christianity has transformed many times in its 2,000-year history, from its roots in the Middle East to its presence around the world today. From the mid-twentieth century onward the presence of Christianity has increased dramatically in Asia, Africa, and Latin America, and the majority of the world's Christians are now nonwhite and non-Western. The Encyclopedia of Christianity in the Global South traces both the historical evolution and contemporary themes in Christianity in more than 150 countries and regions. The volumes include maps, images, and a detailed timeline of key events. The phrases "Global Christianity" and "World Christianity" are inadequate to convey the complexity of the countries and regions involved--this encyclopedia, with its more than 500 entries, aims to offer rich perspectives on the varieties of Christianity where it is growing, how the spread of Christianity shapes the faith in various regions, and how the faith is changing worldwide.
This comprehensive reference volume covers every country in South and Central Asia, offering reliable demographic information and original interpretative essays by indigenous scholars and practitioners. It maps patterns of growth and decline, assesses major traditions and movements, analyses key themes and examines current trends.
History of Global Christianity deals with the history of Christianity and its global development over the past five centuries. Going above and beyond the subject of church history, it deals with the cultural role of Christianity in its widest sense: from the many interactions of Christianity within society, politics, economics, philosophy and the arts, to the myriad of ventures that form civilizations, nations, and communities. How did Christianity involve itself in these overarching structures of human life?
Features & Benefits of the electronic version: Full-text searchable
This resource deals with the history and global development of Christianity over the past five centuries...including the cultural role of Christianity in its widest sense (e.g. as Christianity interacts with society, politics, economics, philosophy and the arts).
Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
General reference resources with both in-depth articles on specialized subjects and short-entries for fact-checking with continuously updated and exclusive online-only content. Optional: personal profile log-in feature available for organizing and saving research; citation exporting; social bookmarking; excellent search tools and filtering options.
The U.S. Religion Census was originally conducted by the U.S. government in five special reports from 1890 through 1936. In 1952, the National Council of Churches organized its own religion census, which was repeated in 1971 and 1980 with strong support from Glenmary Research Center.
Since 1990, this decadal census has been conducted by the Association of Statisticians of American Religious Bodies. Coverage now includes many non-Christian groups as well as special counts for religious traditions that do not have central data collection points, such as non-denominational churches or Muslim and Jewish communities.
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Some topics covered include: Elections; National Security and Veterans Affairs; Science and Technology; Banking, Finance, and Insurance; Labor Force, Employment, and Earnings; Births, Deaths, Marriages, and Divorces, and many others. More database information from ProQuest.
Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers. Data included in the ARDA are submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world.
PRRI (Public Religion Research Institute) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to conducting independent research at the intersection of religion, culture, and public policy.
PRRI’s research explores and illuminates America’s changing cultural, religious, and political landscape. PRRI’s mission is to help journalists, scholars, pundits, thought leaders, clergy, and the general public better understand debates on public policy issues, and the important cultural and religious dynamics shaping American society and politics.