Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Books: Books are shelved on the 4th and 5th floors of the LRC (Learning Resources Center). They are classified, for the most part, according to the opens new window Library of Congress Classification System (LCCS).
- DVDs: DVDs are shelved on LRC-4 close to the One-Stop Library Services Desk. They are available for 3-day check-out. You may browse an alphabetical list of the over 360 DVDs online.
- Audiobooks: Audiobooks (LRC-AV) are shelved on LRC-4 close to the One-Stop Library Services Desk. They are available for two-week check-out. You may browse this alphabetical list of over 325 audiobooks. (See also a small EBSCOhost collection of downloadable audiobooks available online.)
- The leisure reading (LRC-L) area is located on LRC-5 next to the west elevator.
- The new books area is located on LRC-4 next to the west elevator. New books may also be browsed online here.
- The print Reference Collection (LRC-R) is shelved in LINC (LRC-4) close to Group Study Rooms A and B in the partitioned area away from the One-Stop Library Services Desk.
- To search within the Reference Collection, start at the Advanced Search page of the library catalog (the Books+ tab), and limit the search to "Reference Collection." Select one or two words that refer to the subject area of interest plus one of the reference types listed below. See, for example, this search for Bible dictionaries.
- For e-reference works, search the catalog (the Books+ tab) and limit to ebooks.
- For e-reference collections, go to the Database list and limit the database type to dictionaries and encyclopedias . Gale eBooks (GVRL) is the ORU Library's largest collection of e-reference works, but see also opens new windowCredo Reference and opens new window Oxford Reference Online.
- Almanacs, Directories & Yearbooks
- Atlases, Gazetteers, Maps & Guidebooks
- Dictionaries, Glossaries & Thesauri (synonyms & antonyms)
- Encyclopedias (general and subject specific)
- Sacred Texts and associated Concordances, Commentaries, Introductions, Harmonies, & Criticism, interpretation, etc.
- Style Manuals
- Librarians are available to help select appropriate Reference works. To Ask-a-Librarian, visit the One-Stop Library Services Desk in person, or click EagleChat icon in the lower right of the page to text your question. Alternatively, you may click the opens new windowContact Us! link on the upper right to call, email, or schedule an appointment.
- Reference books may be identified by the LRC-R at the end of the call number and by the yellow sticker that covers the spine label.
- The Periodical and Microfilm collections are located, for the most part, in LINC (LRC-4)just inside the doors to the Graduate Center.
- Unbound issues of current academic journals are shelved alongside the popular current magazines, which are located in a casual reading area behind the One-Stop desk.
- Pre-1979 bound periodicals (except for those in the B's) are shelved on LRC-5 immediately following the Main collection.
- online periodicals (e.g., journals, magazines, newsletters) may be searched by title, subject, or ISSN in opens new windowJournal Finder+. In the search results, the Journal Finder+ will bring up both online periodicals as well as those in paper and microform formats. To search for journal articles, use opens new windowEagleSearch, limiting the results to "Academic Journals" (see the left menu).
- Microforms, whether fiche and film, are stored by call number in yellow cabinets along the north wall of the Periodicals area. To scan a copy, ask for help at the One-Stop desk.
- Current issues of newspapers are housed in what is affectionately called the Ark, which is a large wooden piece of furniture in the center of the Periodicals area. Over 1,770 newspapers are searchable via the Journal Finder+. Limit search results to "newspaper."
- Periodical indexes are shelved by call number in the Main collection. They are mostly in the Zs on LRC-5.
- The Curriculum Media Center (CMC), located on the 5th floor of the LRC, contains the audiovisual collection of slides, tapes, and cassettes, as well as children's literature, media for grades K-12, and other materials teachers and student teachers use to develop curriculum. In addition, there is a computer lab for education majors.
- The Music Listening Room (TBM) is a listening lab (TB-2) located in the Timko Barton Music Building. It contains a circulating collection of scores and a non-circulating collection of records, tapes, and compact discs. Music majors are given priority for use of these materials.
- The Theology Collection is shelved in Main (LRC-4), primarily within the BL-BX classification range.
- The Holy Spirit Research Center collection and the other special theology collections (listed below) are located on LRC-5:
- The William Sanford LaSor Collection
- The Elmar Camillo Dos Santos Collection
- The Jewish Theological seminary Collection
- The Howard Ervin Collection
- The Brad Young Collection
- For more information on the Holy Spirit Research Center, see the separate tab.
- The University Archives are located on the 1st floor of the GC. They are the repository for the records of Oral Roberts University. The area also houses collections of transcripts, video, manuscripts, and personal effects of Oral Roberts, the personal papers of former University Regent Lee Braxton, the lifework of historian Dr. Harold Paul, and materials of significance to the Pentecostal and Charismatic revival.
Purpose of This Guide
The purpose of this guide is to orient PRFT-949 students to what the Library has to offer in support of their research for their PhD program in Theology.
eTheology & Ministry Snapshot