Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Guides to Style Manuals
Scroll through this list of style manuals for the University, APA, Chicago/Turabian, and SBL.
University Style Manuals
- The College of Theology & Ministry's opens new windowResearch & Writing Manual is available online. Especially helpful is the section that provides footnote and bibliographic citation examples (beginning on p. 83).
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioural sciences. It provides invaluable guidance on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias in language. Well-known for its authoritative and easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, and tone that will result in strong, simple, and elegant scientific communication. The sixth edition offers new and expanded instruction on publication ethics, statistics, journal article reporting standards, electronic reference formats, and the construction of tables and figures. The sixth edition has been revised and updated to include: new ethics guidance on such topics as determining authorship and terms of collaboration, duplicate publication, plagiarism and self-plagiarism, disguising of participants, validity of instrumentation, and making data available to others for verification; new journal article reporting standards to help readers report empirical research with clarity and precision; simplified APA heading style to make it more conducive to electronic publication; updated guidelines for reducing bias in language to reflect current practices and preferences, including a new section on presenting historical language that is in appropriate by present standards; new guidelines for reporting inferential statistics and a significantly revised table of statistical abbreviations; and, new instruction on using supplemental files containing lengthy data sets and other media. This book includes significantly expanded content on the electronic presentation of data to help readers understand the purpose of each kind of display and choose the best match for communicating the results of the investigation, with new examples for a variety of data displays, including electro physiological and biological data. It offers consolidated information on all aspects of reference citations, with an expanded discussion of electronic sources emphasising the role of the digital object identifier (DOI) as a reliable way to locate information. It features expanded discussion of the publication process, including the function and process of peer review. It contains a discussion of ethical, legal, and policy requirements in publication; and guidelines on working with the publisher while the article is in press. Key to this edition of the Publication Manual is an updated and expanded Web presence. Look up additional supplemental material keyed to this book. This book lets you test your knowledge of APA Style with a free tutorial on style basics. It lets you learn about the changes in the sixth edition with a free tutorial reviewing key revisions. Sign up for an on-line course to enrich and enhance your understanding of APA Style. Read the APA Style blog and share your comments on writing and referencing. Consult frequently asked questions to sharpen your understanding of APA Style. This title lets you examine additional resources on such topics as ethics, statistics, and writing. It lets you familiarise yourself with submission standards for APA books and journals.
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2010 Reference & Reserve
Publication Date: 2009
APA Style Simplified by This is a compact but comprehensive guide to writing clearly and effectively in APA style. Demonstrates how to write objective scientific research papers using interesting prose Incorporates guidelines from the 6th edition of the APA publication manual Explores how to develop ideas, connect them to what others have written, and express them clearly Discusses the differences between written, oral, and poster presentations and offers instructions for applying APA style to each
Call Number: Ebook Central
Publication Date: 2012
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by A little more than seventy-five years ago, Kate L. Turabian drafted a set of guidelines to help students understand how to write, cite, and formally submit research writing. Seven editions and more than nine million copies later, the name Turabian has become synonymous with best practices in research writing and style. Her Manual for Writers continues to be the gold standard for generations of college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines. Now in its eighth edition, A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations has been fully revised to meet the needs of today's writers and researchers. The Manual retains its familiar three-part structure, beginning with an overview of the steps in the research and writing process, including formulating questions, reading critically, building arguments, and revising drafts. Part II provides an overview of citation practices with detailed information on the two main scholarly citation styles (notes-bibliography and author-date), an array of source types with contemporary examples, and detailed guidance on citing online resources. The final section treats all matters of editorial style, with advice on punctuation, capitalization, spelling, abbreviations, table formatting, and the use of quotations. Style and citation recommendations have been revised throughout to reflect the sixteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. With an appendix on paper format and submission that has been vetted by dissertation officials from across the country and a bibliography with the most up-to-date listing of critical resources available, A Manual for Writers remains the essential resource for students and their teachers.
Call Number: LB2369 .T8 2013 Reference & Reserve
Publication Date: 2013
Create your own personal EBSCOhost account by clicking "Sign in" from any EBSCO database and then "Create your own account." Save the user name and password you select. Whenever you want to access what you've saved to your personal folder or add to it, sign in from any EBSCOhost database or from EagleSearch. To save items to your EBSCOhost folder, click the title of the item and then the folder icon on that record.
My EBSCOhost Folder Tutorial
When on campus, go to Ebook Central and the "sign-in" link in the upper right menu, and sign in using your ORU Network user name and password to set up and access your personal Ebook Central bookshelf. If you are off campus and use ORU's single sign-on when you access Ebook Central, you will be signed into your account automatically.
In the upper, right-hand corner of the ProQuest dissertation database, click the icon of a person and "Sign into My Research." First-time users may create an account here. Thereafter, sign in as an existing user.
To add a citation of an item in a database to the bibliography of your research project, click the "cite" link or icon provided, select the desired citation style, and copy and paste the citation into the document. Please note: all machine-generated citations must be carefully proofread and corrected to conform to style manual guidelines.
To organize downloaded journal and book chapter PDFs, give it a file name that includes the author's last name and the first few words of the article or chapter title, then save to one of a set of folders in the cloud and/or on your hard drive that is arranged by the section of the research paper or assignment to which it relates.
Zotero: Free Citation Management Tool