Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BIB-372 Revelation & Writings of John: Course Guide

Purpose of BIB 372 Course Guide

To help students start researching for the biblical exegesis research paper assigned in the BIB 372 Revelation and Writings of John course.

Research Tools

...Find a book, ebook, or other media in the ORU Library? Use the opens new window Library Catalog.

...Find the full text of a journal in the ORU Library? Use the opens new windowJournal Finder+.

... Identify journal articles for a research paper? Use one or more relevant databases on the opens new window Database List.

...Jump start a research project or find information for a class assignment when you are not sure which database to use? Try opens new windowEagleSearch.

...Borrow a book the ORU Library does not own? Search opens new windowWorldCat.

Helpful Bibliographies

Essential Bible Study Tools

opens new windowEssential Bible Study Tools for Ministry (Bauer, 2014); also in print: BS511.2 .B38 2014 Reference

  • See lists of "highly recommended" and "recommended" commentaries for each book of the Bible.

Johannine Writings and Apocalyptic book jacketopens new windowJohannine Writings and Apocalyptic: An Annotated Bibliography (Porter & Gabriel, 2013)

Basic Search Strategies

To find commentaries or other works related to a particular book of the Bible, try one of these strategies by pasting them into a Library Catalog search box:

To find Bible dictionaries or encyclopedias, try these search strategies:

  • Bible AND (dictionaries OR encyclopedias)
  • "Bible Old Testament" AND (dictionaries OR encyclopedias)
  • "Bible New Testament" AND (dictionaries OR encyclopedias)

To find works on specific sections of the Bible, try these search strategies: