Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

State of the Library 2020

Spirit-empowerment Publishing

  • In 2019, the Library collaborated with the College of Theology & Ministry to launch the ORU Press.

opens new windowORU Press logo

  • The ORU Press's inaugural book, Human Sexuality and the Holy Spirit: Spirit-empowered Perspectives, was released in November 2019, and will soon be available in ebook format.

Book cover image of Human Sexuality & the Holy Spirit

  • Earlier versions of several of the essays were presented at the Scholars' Consultation of theEmpowered21Asia Global Congress in Singapore in 2017.
  • The essays, which center around such themes as Creation, Fall, Redemption, and Restoration, "explore God's intention for our sexuality, ways we misuse and abuse this gift, and ways Spirit-empowered communities help heal brokenness and restore the divine image" (back cover).
  • Among contributors are ORU administrators, faculty, and staff including editors, Wonsuk Ma, Dean of the College of Theology and Ministry, and Kathaleen Reid-Martinez, Provost; William Wilson, President; faculty members Mark Hall and Julie Ma; and associate editor, Annamarie Hamilton.
  • Dean Mark Roberts, Dr. Daniel Isgrigg, and Dr. Sally Shelton continue to work with Dean Wonsuk Ma and Dr. Jeff Lamp in the COTM to publish Spiritus ORU Journal of Theology twice a year.

opens new windowFront cover of Spiritus healing issue

Other Editorial Work

Image of the Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning for Christians in Higher EducationBoth Jane Malcolm and Dr. Angela Sample serve on the editorial staff of the opens new windowJournal of the Scholarship of Teaching & Learning for Christians in Higher Education. Professor Malcolm is the Book Review Editor and Dr. Sample is Managing Editor II and Web Coordinator.

Library Scholarship

 

Angela Sample presenting at a conference

The Library is proud to announce that Dr. Angela Sample, Head of Access Services, has published two articles in peer-reviewed library journals.

  • Sample, A. (2020). Historical development of definitions of information literacy: A literature review of selected resources. The Journal of Academic Librarianship. doi:https://doi.org/10.1016/j.acalib.2020.102116.

See atopens new window Digital Showcase or opens new windowPublisher's site

  • Sample, A. (2020, March). Using augmented and virtual reality in information literacy instruction to reduce library anxiety in non-traditional and international students. information Technology and Libraries, 39 (1). https://doi.org/10.6017/ital.v39i1.11723

See atopens new window Digital Showcase or opens new windowPublisher's site (#LITAreads)

Spirit-Empowered Scholarship

Presentations

  • Dr. Daniel Isgrigg presented at the Empowered21 Scholars’ Consultation in Bogota, Colombia in May 2019: “‘I Tried Poverty’: Exploring the Psychological Impact of Poverty and Prosperity in the Life of Oral Roberts.’”
  • Dr. Sally Shelton gave the presentation, “‘Let It Be to Me According to Your Word’: Entering into Spirit-Empowered Womanhood by Saying Yes to God,” at the ORU Women’s History Month Reception: Celebrating Remarkable Women at ORU, on April 1, 2019.
  • See also Dr. Angela Sample's presentation mentioned above.

Encyclopedia Articles

  • Dr. Isgrigg has written two articles, "Allen, A. A." and "Luce, Alice E.," which have been published in Brill’s Encyclopedia of Global Pentecostalism (BEGP) as well as an article entitled “Althouse, Peter,” to be published in Voices of the Spirit: A Primer to Contemporary Pentecostal and Charismatic Theology edited by David Bradnick (Eugene, OR: Wipf & Stock), forthcoming.
  • Dr. Sally Shelton has written "Branham, William Marrion," which has been published in Brill’s Encyclopedia of Global Pentecostalism (BEGP).

​Journal Articles

  • Dr. Isgrigg wrote "Healing for All Races: Oral Roberts’ Legacy of Racial Reconciliation in a Divided City,"Spiritus: ORU Journal of Theology4, no. 2 (Fall 2019).
  • Dr. Isgrigg also wrote,“The Latter Rain Revisited: Exploring the Origins of the Central Eschatological Metaphor in Pentecostalism,” to be published in Pneuma (forthcoming).

Books Reviews

  • Thad Horner wrote a review of The Letter to the Hebrews: A Centre for Pentecostal Theology Bible Study by Jeffrey S. Lamp (Cleveland, TN: CTP, 2018) that was published in Spiritus: ORU Journal of Theology 4, no. 2 (Fall 2019).
  • Dr.Sally Shelton wrote a review of Open to the Spirit: God in Us, God with Us, God Transforming Us by Scot McKnight (New York: WaterBrook, 2018), which was published in Spiritus: ORU Journal of Theology 4, no. 1 (Spring 2019).

Bibliographies

  • opens new windowAVR+AI in Higher Education- Myra Bloom compiled this bibliography on augmented and virtual reality and artificial intelligence in higher education.
  • opens new windowJohn Chau-Librarians Thad Horner, Daniel Isgrigg, Angela Sample, Jane Malcolm, Sally Shelton, and Roger Rydin collaborated to create a bibliography of primary sources, general news sources, and commentary concerning John Allen Chau, ORU alumnus and missionary who was martyred by a member of the Sentinelese people, a remote tribe on India’s Andaman and Nicobar Islands. The bibliography and the sources cited in it are posted in the Digital Showcase, and a tribute to John Chau is posted in a library guide.
  • opens new windowResources for Spirit-empowered Leadership- Daniel Isgrigg compiled this bibliography for the Spirit-empowered Leadership Taskforce.

Library Contributions toward ATS Accreditation of the PhD in Theology and ATS Reaccreditation

  • From 2017 to 2019, the Library has significantly enhanced the contextual theology collection and the theology collection in general, having expended near $150,000 for books (print and electronic), databases, journal subscriptions, and other costs directly related to the PhD program.
  • Over $57,000 was spent on 1,080 printed books, $40,000 for 12 new databases (representing 9,740 electronic book titles), and $4,100 for 12 new journal subscriptions.
  • The Library also added 800 gift books, numerous open-access journal titles, and three open-access databases including Globethics.Net.
  • The Library is well prepared to support the research of the students of ORU’s new PhD program.
  • Dr. Sally Shelton and Dr. Daniel Isgrigg met with the Association of Theological Schools (ATS) reaccreditation site team in March 2019, to respond to questions about the Library’s ability to support all of the CoTM’s graduate academic programs.

Conference Attendance in 2018-2019

  • Myra Bloom attended “Shaping the Future of Libraries with Instructional Design,” a mini online conference, as well as the third annual “Teaching with Technology Conference” hosted by Oklahoma State University.
  • Dana Higeons attended the annual IUG (Innovative User’s Group) conference, in Phoenix, AZ, May 6-9, 2019.
  • Dean Mark Roberts attended the CCCU Commission on Technology Conference at Wheaton College in June 4–6, 2019.
  • Dean Mark Roberts and Jane Malcolm participated in the CCCU's annual Snezek Library Leadership Institute held at Dallas Baptist University. Roberts has since been invited by the Snezek Executive Committee to help plan the next Institute.
  • Mary Ann Walker attended the annual Association of Christian Librarians conference, “Rooted in Faith, Grounded in Truth,” Indiana Wesleyan University, Marion, IN, in June 2019.

Continuing Education

  • Dean Mark Roberts completed Harvard’s week-long Leadership Institute for Academic Librarians (July 28-August 2, 2019).
  • Daniel Eller is pursuing an MLIS and a PhD in Information Studies at the University of Oklahoma.
  • Thad Horner completed the course, “Introduction to Digital Humanities,” from Harvard EDX, June-August 2019.
  • Dr. Daniel Isgrigg successfully defended his PhD dissertation at the Centre for Pentecostal Theology at Bangor University (Wales, UK), graduating in May, 2019. He also completed online courses in “Introduction to Archives” through the Library Juice Academy (July-August 2019).