SENIOR PAPER LIBBIS

Learn how to optimize research and information in your subject area. Consider research from a global perspective using both ORU databases and reliable, authoritative Web resources. Senior paper LIBBIs are specific to a discipline and may cover any of the following, as appropriate for the subject and/or course:

  • Find relevant statistics using databases and/or the Web.
  • Find primary sources, including research studies and reports.
  • Identify ways to find quality journals and search the contents.
  • Learn about Interlibrary Loan, a library resource sharing service; qualify for the ILL fee waiver.
  • Use RefWorks to manage information and create citations lists.
  • Find the full text for an article or book when you have a citation.


Note: Upon completion of a sr. paper LIBBI, the Library will waive the $2.00 per Interlibrary Loan (ILL) item request fee. After you attend a senior paper/prep LIBBI session your name will be sent to the Interlibrary Loan department and added to a sr. paper ILL Fee Waiver list.

For students who come to the library with their senior paper class: 
If your professor brings your senior paper or senior paper prep class to a LIBBI session, Interlibrary Loan information will be covered during that session and, if you were in attendance, your name will be added to the ILL fee waiver list.

Select Your Course

LIBBI-372BIO
Introduction to Biological Research

Identify the best research sources and explore types of scientific literature.  Review interlibrary loan options and EBSCO folder functions. Create targeted searches for your senior paper topic. Students receive free senior paper interlibrary loans after completion of the LIBBI session.

LIBBI-498ENG
Senior Research Paper, English

Identify the best research sources for research. Get an introduction to the new MLA citation style. Review interlibrary loan options and EBSCO folder functions. Create targeted searches for your senior paper topic. Students receive free senior paper interlibrary loans after completion of the LIBBI session.

LIBBI-499HLSS - Parts 1, 2 and 3
Senior Paper/Project Research (Jost)
Scheduled during class time; no sign up required.

Part 1 -- Date announced in the class
Part 2 -- Date announced in the class
Part 3 -- Date announced in the class

A series of three progressive research workshops that compliment the senior paper process as outlined by Professor Jost. The LIBBIs focus on  student research topics, locating full-text of primary source documents, and finding relevant statistics. The LIBBIs are scheduled during the class time; no sign-up in Vision is required. Attendance is required.

Objectives
After completing the LIBBI, you should be able to:

  • Use subject databases relevant for your topic.
  • Find primary sources, including research studies and reports.
  • Effectively search the Web and databases to locate relevant statistics and data.
  • Get the article full text using interlibrary loan.
  • Manage information to create citation lists.

LIBBI-340PSY- Parts 1 and 2
Research Design & Analysis
Scheduled during class time; no need to sign up.

Identify relevant psychology databases, explore useful research tools, and examine limiters and the thesaurus in PsycINFO. Learn how to search for qualitative articles. Review citations, interlibrary loan options, and EBSCO folder functions. Construct targeted searches for your sr. paper topic. Students receive free sr. paper interlibrary loans after completion of the LIBBI session. 

LIBBI-499SWK - Parts 1 and 2
Senior Research Paper, Social Work

Part 1 -- not currently scheduled
Part 2 -- not currently scheduled

Identify key social work databases, explore the 200,000+ term sociology thesaurus, and examine database limiters. Learn how to create an effective search expression. Review citations, interlibrary loan options, and EBSCO folder functions. Create targeted searches for your senior paper topic. Students receive free senior paper interlibrary loans after completion of the LIBBI session.

Loading ...