CAVEAT: The Library is still working out the kinks of using the ebrary app.

ebrary App Requirements for Mobile Devices

• Apple iOS 4.3 or higher devices such as including iPhones, iPod Touch, and iPads
• android devices such as Eclair 2.1, Froyo 2.2, Gingerbread 2.3.x, Honeycomb 3.x, or Ice Cream Sandwich 4.x.

Install ebrary App

• Locate the ebrary app by searching for "ebrary" in the App Store on your mobile device, or by going to opens new windowGoogle Play, or by viewing it in opens new windowiTunes.
• Working from your mobile device, download the app.
• once it's downloaded, tap the icon to open it.
• The first time you sign in to the app, you will be prompted for your Adobe ID and password.
• Then enter your personal ebrary account username and password or log on via Facebook.
• once you have downloaded your ebrary app, you will need to sign into ebrary at least once every 90 days to keep the app validated.
• Caveat: Some people experience problems using the ebrary App.

Screen Shots of ebrary App

Download page

Search page

Read page

opens new window

Bluefire Reader is the preferred app for downloading and reading ebrary ebooks on iPads and other mobile devices. It also works for EBSCO eBooks.

ebook formats that may be read in Bluefire Reader

• Adobe Digital Editions
• ePUB
• PDF
• This includes both ebrary and EBSCO eBooks as well as PDF of chapters and page ranges from these and other ebooks available in the ORU Library.

install Bluefire Reader on your mobile device

• Both ebrary and EBSCO eBooks may be downloaded to Bluefire Reader.
• Follow the steps in the "Initial Setup" box under the "Getting Started Downloading ebooks" tab, including obtaining an Adobe ID and setting up a personal account in both ebrary and EBSCOhost.
• Go to the App Store on your iPad and download Bluefire Reader.
• Authorize the app with your Adobe ID.

Download ebooks to Bluefire Reader

• Go to either the opens new windowebrary or eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) via the library opens new window Database Listusing the Safari browser on your iPad.
• Insert your ORU Networkusername and password when prompted.
• Select an ebrary or EBSCOhost ebook to download.
• Click the Download button in ebrary or "Download This Book (Offline)" in EBSCOhost.
• Select "Download the entire document for xx days in Adobe Digital Editions format."
• Tap "OK", then tap "Open in..." and then "Open in Bluefire Reader."
• Begin reading.
• At any time you can go to the library icon on the Bluefire Reader app to read an ebook, delete it, or return it.
• You can download up to 10 ebooks on the Bluefire Reader app at any one time.

Install the EBSCOhost app

• Go to any EBSCOhost database, e.g. Academic Search Complete, via the Database List, and scroll to the bottom of the page. Click the link that says, "EBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications."
• Enter your email address in the box and click the "Send" button to email yourself instructions, key and link to download the app.
• Download the app from the App Store on your mobile device.
• Open the email sent from EBSCOhost on your mobile device and tap the authentication key.
• Note: the key will expire in 24 hours.

Select Settings in the EBSCOhost App

• once you have downloaded the EBSCOhost app, tap "Settings."
• Select the databases that you want to search.
• History, humanities, and government databases include:
  • America, History and Life with Full Text
  • Bibliography of Native North America
  • Historical Abstracts with Full Text
  • Humanities International Complete
  • Military & Government Collection
  • Political Science Complete
• Indicate other desired search options:
  • Check "full text" to limit results to only articles that have full text available.
  • Check "peer reviewed" to limit results to only articles from journals that are peer reviewed.
  • Check "auto complete: to enable the auto complete feature to suggest search terms as you type.
  • Enter a publication title to return only results from that publication.
  • Tap to enter a date range to return only results within the specified time period.
  • Limit results to 10, 20 or 30 to view that number of results at a time in the results list.

Screen Shots from the EBSCOhost App

Search page

Results page

Save page