Off Campus AccessLibrary Guides
This is the "Databases by Name (A-Z)" page of the "Database List" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Database List   Tags: databases  

Access the library databases that help researchers identify and access journal articles, e-books, and other electronic resources.
Last Updated: Jul 20, 2015 URL: http://oru.libguides.com/databases Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases by Name (A-Z) Print Page
  Search: 
 

Browse Databases by Subject

Click one of the subject areas to go to the page that lists the library databases and other e-resources in that category.

Browse Databases by Type

Click one of the content or format types listed below to find the databases and other e-resources listed under that category.

Browse Databases by Name - A

A   B   C   D   E   F  G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   R   S  T  V  W

Unless labeled open access, these databases are restricted to use by current Oral Roberts University students, faculty, and staff. For more information, click the small blue "i" icon beside the title. To learn how to use a database, click the "Tutorials" tab above and scan the list for a related tutorial or help page. 

B

A   B   C   D   E   F  G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   R   S  T  V  W

C

A   B   C   D   E   F  G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   R   S  T  V  W

  • Cambridge Journals Online  
      
    Subject: Multidiscipinary
    Format: Full text journal articles
    Provider: Cambridge University Press
  • Catholic Periodical and Literature Index  
      
    Subject: Theology & Ministry
    Format: Citations of journal articles and reviews; linked full text only
    Provider: EBSCOhost
    Alternate title: ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
  • Chemistry Central  
      
    Subject: Sciences
    Format: Original research articles
    Open Access
    Tip: To use the advanced search feature, save searches, and set up alerts, you will need to create a free account. Or, if you have already registered with BioMed Central, you may log in using the BioMed Central username and password.
  • Christian Periodical Index  
      
    Subject: Theology
    Format: Citations to journal articles
    Provider: EBSCOhost
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text  
      
    Subject: Nursing, Health, Leisure & Sport Sciences
    Format: Citations and full text of journal articles; full text books
    Provider: EBSCOhost
  • ClasePeriodica  
      
    Subject: Multidisciplinary
    Format: Citations to journal articles
    Provider: FirstSearch
  • Communication Source  
      
    Subject: Communication Arts
    Format: Full text, citations, abstracts, and cited references for journal articles
    Provider: EBSCOhost
  • Communication Studies: A SAGE Full Text Collection  
      
    Subject: Communication Arts
    Format: Full text journal articles
    Provider: SAGE
  • Consumer Health Complete  
      
    Subject: Nursing, Health, Leisure & Sport Sciences
    Format: Full text health reference books
    Provider: EBSCOhost
  • CountryWatch  
      
    Subject: General Reference
    Format: Country-specific intelligence and data
    Provider: CountryWatch
  • CQ Reseacher  
      
    Subject: Reference; Research Starting Point
    Format: Analytical reports on contemporary controversial issues
    Provider: SAGE
  • Credo Reference  
      
    Subject: General and Subject-specific Reference
    Format: Full text reference e-books
    Provider: Credo

D

A   B   C   D   E   F  G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   R   S  T  V  W

E

A   B   C   D   E   F  G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   R   S  T  V  W

F

A   B   C   D   E   F  G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   R   S  T  V  W

  • Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text  
      
    Subject: Communication Arts
    Format: Citations and full text of journal articles; full text e-books
    Provider: EBSCOhost
  • First Research  
      
    Subject: Business
    Format: Industry profiles
    Provider: Mergent
    Tip: To access the First Research search page, click the link provided above, then on the three successive pages, click "Continue," then "Continue" again, and finally "Submit."
  • FirstSearch Databases (All)  
      
    Subject: Multidisciplinary
    Format: Citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations, theses, and research projects
    Provider: FirstSearch
  • Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia  
      
    Subject: Reference
    Format: Full text encyclopedia articles
    Provider: EBSCOhost

G

A   B   C   D   E   F  G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   R   S  T  V  W

H

A   B   C   D   E   F  G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   R   S  T  V  W

I

A   B   C   D   E   F  G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   R   S  T  V  W

J

A   B   C   D   E   F  G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   R   S  T  V  W

  • Journals@Ovid  
      
    Subject: Nursing, Health, Leisure & Sport Sciences
    Format: Full text journal articles
    Provider: Ovid
    Alternate title: Ovid Essential Nursing Collection
  • Journals for Free  
      
    Subject: Multidisciplinary
    Format: Full text journals
    Provider: Open Access
    Tip: Some require individual registration; all are free.

K

A   B   C   D   E   F  G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   R   S  T  V  W

  • Kids Search  
      
    Subject: Education
    Format: Search interface designed for K-8
    Provider: EBSCOhost

L

A   B   C   D   E   F  G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   R   S  T  V  W

  • LibGuides  
      
    Subject: Library & Research
    Format: Library help pages developed by ORU librarians using Springshare's LibGuides platform
    Provider: Springshare
    See also the Research & Resource Guides index page.
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)  
      
    Subject: Library
    Formats: Citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, reports and proceedings.
    Provider: EBSCOhost (open access)
  • Literary Encyclopedia  
      
    Subject: English & Modern Languages
    Format: Profiles of authors and works; includes chronologies and timelines
    Provider: Literary Dictionary Company
  • Literary Index  
      
    Subject: English & Modern Languages
    Format: Citations to the Gale literary series; no full text
    Provider: Gale
  • Literary Reference Center  
      
    Subject: English & Modern Languages
    Format: Full text plot summaries, articles/essays, biographies, book reviews, poems, short stories, and author interviews.
    Provider: EBSCOhost

M

A   B   C   D   E   F  G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   R   S  T  V  W

N

A   B   C   D   E   F  G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   R   S  T  V  W

  • National Newspapers Core  
      
    Subject: Multidisciplinary
    Format: Newspapers including New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present), Washington Post (1987-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), and Christian Science Monitor (1988-present)
    Provider: ProQuest
  • New Pauly: Encyclopedia of the Classical World  
      
    Subject: Humanities/Theology
    Format: Encyclopedia
    Provider: Brill
  • New Testament Abstracts  
      
    Subject: Theology
    Format: Abstracts of journal articles, books, reviews, and software; no full text
    Provider: EBSCOhost
  • Newspaper Source Plus  
      
    Subject: Newspapers
    Format: Full text newspapers
    Provider: EBSCOhost
  • Newswires  
      
    Subject: Multidisciplinary
    Format: Full text wire feed content
    Provider: EBSCOhost

O

A   B   C   D   E   F  G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   R   S  T  V  W

  • OAIster  
      
    Subject: Multidisciplinary
    Formats: Bibliographic records of digital open archives
    Provider: FirstSearch
  • Old Testament Abstracts  
      
    Subject: Theology
    Format: Abstracts of journal articles, books, multi-author works, and software; linked full text only
    Provider: EBSCOhost
  • Ovid Essential Nursing Collection
  • Oxford English Dictionary Online  
      
    Type: Reference
    Format: Dictionary entries
    Provider: Oxford
  • Oxford Music Online  
      
    Subject: Music
    Format: Articles in Oxford reference works
    Provider: Oxford
    Formerly titled Grove Music Online

P

A   B   C   D   E   F  G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   R   S  T  V  W

R

A   B   C   D   E   F  G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   R   S  T  V  W

S

A   B   C   D   E   F  G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   R   S  T  V  W

T

A   B   C   D   E   F  G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   R   S  T  V  W

  • Teacher Reference Center  
      
    Subject: Education
    Formats: Citations and abstracts of journal articles
    Provider: EBSCOhost
  • TeachingBooks.net  
      
    Subject: Education
    Format: Videos, audio-clips, and other multimedia resources
    Provider: TeachingBooks.net
  • Theological Journals Search  
      
    Subject: Theology & Ministry
    Format: Full text journal and magazine articles
    Open Access
  • Theological Research Exchange Network (TREN)  
      
    Subject: Dissertations / Theology
    Format: PDF (e-docs), paper, microfiche, and CD-ROM
    Purchase required; a few titles are free
  • TOPICsearch  
      
    Subject: General Reference
    Format: Full text articles from newspapers, periodicals, public opinion polls, book reviews, and government documents
    Provider: EBSCOhost

V

A   B   C   D   E   F  G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   R   S  T  V  W

  • Value Line Pro Elite  
      
    Subject: Business
    Format: Investment information
    Provider: Value Line
    Note: maximum of 8 simultaneous users

W

A   B   C   D   E   F  G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   R   S  T  V  W

  • Wall Street Journal  
      
    Format: Newspaper
    Subject: Business
    Provider: ProQuest
  • Web News  
      
    Subject: Business and general news
    Format: News feeds
    Provider: EBSCOhost
  • WorldCat (FirstSearch)  
      
    Subject: Multidisciplinary
    Format: Bibliographic records of library holdings
    Provider: FirstSearch
  • WorldCat.org  
      
    Subject: Multidisciplinary
    Format: Bibliographic records of library holdings
    Open Access
  • WorldCatDissertations  
      
    Subject: Dissertations / Multidisciplinary
    Format: Citations of dissertations, theses and research projects
    Provider: FirstSearch

Browse All ORU Library Databases

A   B   C   D   E   F  G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   R   S  T  V  W

Unless labeled open access, these databases are restricted to use by current Oral Roberts University students, faculty, and staff only.

EagleSearch

EDS Button

EagleSearch--EBSCO's discovery tool--gives a quick overview of the Library's resources relevant to each search. A next-generation integrated search engine that combs through one-half billion documents/records instantaneously, EagleSearch works faster and more comprehensively than OneSearch, the Library’s previous all-in-one search tool.

To focus a search, go to advanced search and select one or more disciplines. To globalize it--that is, extend it beyond the ORU Library--uncheck the "Available in Library Collection" box.

To further refine the results, limit them to one or more source types or facets such as subjects, publications, and databases in the left menu. To continue the search in databases not searchable in EagleSearch, click one of the widgets in the right menu.

      

    Trial Databases

    The Library has an extended free trial (ending June 30, 2015) to RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (RILM) and RILM Retrospective Abstracts of Music Literature (RILM Retro). To access these databases, select EBSCOhost Databases (all) from the Database List on the Library homepage, then "EBSCOhost Research Databases" and then "R".

    For more information about RILM, see here.

        
       

      Contact Information

      Please send comments or questions to sshelton@oru.edu.

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip